We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but be prepared to walk”
Review of Sea Stars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea Stars Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Hai Phong
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel was reasonably clean and has a lot of amenities. A gymnasium, rooftop restaurant, pool, sauna, spa, breakfast, etc. Thats why its around $70 a night so if you want all that its OK value. The room was large and quiet (we were at the back on the 8th floor). The shower did leak everywhere but other than that it was decent. The food was reasonably nice but the drinks are a little pricey. Although the pool is small its quite nicely presented, designed kind of like a pond in the forest. The staff were helpful and looked after our every request. Because its on the highway to the airport there's not much nearby except for night restaurants that open up on the street. The food is amazing but you will struggle to find anyone who speaks English so look for places with pictures of food or live food if you can - makes the sign language easier! Watch out for the horse meat restaurant down the road.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back away from the main road. You can always check out the 360 degree views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

The ''Seastars'' hotel was booked for me and me Crew in July 2010 and we stay there for about four and half weeks.
Our experience was that the ''Seastars'' hotel was a nice clean hotel with a very friendly
hotel Management and crew,they were all very helpful and wellwilling.
And we all like the kitchen food.

Captain A.Veltman.

The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ale V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel with good design. The staff were really nice and helped us with any enquiry. The swimming pool was a little small and indoors however the rest of the hotel experience made up for it. Generally for the cost it was fine for sleeping. The hotel was a few miles from a nice shopping plaza. The airport is only a few miles away so an ideal stop over point when needing to get away from the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pleazzni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Seastars Hotel was so bad it was comical. Even from the sixth floor the highway immediately outside our window was so loud that we asked to be moved to a different room. While the new location was quieter, all of the other problems were identical in both rooms. Both showers wouldn't drain, both mattresses were painfully hard, both rooms hadn't been painted or redecorated since the hotel was built sometime in the early 80's, and the TV barely worked in either one.

All of these problems could have been forgiven if the hotel were priced accordingly, but at $70 a night this was one of the most expensive hotels I encountered in Vietnam (got this rate through Expedia; in the lobby the rooms were posted at an insulting $110). To be fair, the front desk was helpful with my room switch, and the breakfast buffet was decent. Otherwise, do yourself a favor and do not stay in this hotel unless you have no other choice.

Room Tip: Highway outside is very noisy, so ask for a room in one of the upper levels towards the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neall007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank giseleanthime2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyenngochuy, Tổng giám đốc at Sea Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Η καλύτερη επιλογή είναι το standard room , τα άλλα είναι φρουφρου και αρώματα.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mafiozos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyenngochuy, Tổng giám đốc at Sea Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Kabchi_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nguyenngochuy, Tổng giám đốc at Sea Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hai Phong hotels
1.8 mi away
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
#4 of 37 in Hai Phong
87 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pearl River Hotel
Pearl River Hotel
#3 of 37 in Hai Phong
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Camela Hotel & Resort
Camela Hotel & Resort
#17 of 37 in Hai Phong
13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Draco Thang Long Hotel
Draco Thang Long Hotel
#11 of 37 in Hai Phong
22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nam Cuong Hotel
Nam Cuong Hotel
#5 of 37 in Hai Phong
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Stars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Stars Hotel

Address: 1/3a Le Hong Phong Str. | Ngo Quyen Dist, Hai Phong 35000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Hai Phong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Hai Phong
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Stars Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most beautiful main road of Haiphong city, the SEA STARS hotel. Very close to Big C supermarket and the complex offices & buildings. Just only 4 km to Catbi International Airport, we are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us. With 91 luxurious rooms and suites; interconnected restaurant; bar; conference & meeting room; fully health club services such as: gym; swimming pool; beauty salon; sauna; jacuzzi; foot and body massage… equipped by modern equipment, incomparable facilities and all above is the professional services of the well-trained staff are always friendly show the traditional hospitality of Vietnamese, the SEA STARS hotel will satisfy all your needs, surely. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Stars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing