We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Only in Vietnam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monaco Hotel

Monaco Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Monaco Hotel
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Hai Phong
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Only in Vietnam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great hotel room at budget price, it can only happen in Vietnam. The room I had in Monaco Hotel is a luxury, very spacious, clean and comes withefficient housekeeping services. The room comes with a coffee table and cushioned chairs, a writing table, complementary bottled water, the usual toiletries, bath tub, flat screen television, fridge, bed side lamps and light switches. Good wifi connection in the rooms. The complementary breakfast is good and filling with coffee, tea, fresh fruits and choices of noodles, bread and fried eggs or jam and butter. The restaurant is on the 6th floor with a view of the surrounding.

The pillows are a bit hard, but nevertheless, still offers a good night sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Not so bad for its price 25 usd. Big TV with NGC, Discovery ch., etc. But the next morning we found one corner of the room was full of ants! I guess they were chasing the apple crumbles bought from the French deli!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vionajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelling...
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Our room on second floor smelled of cigarettes, you may to check out your room first. Also got a bit of noise from the lobby, but no street noise.

The room was clean, a nice surprise for an inexpensive Vietnamese hotel. Our shower did block up, but they promptly came and fixed that up.

Most staff speak good English. Working free wifi, and Discovery channel, CNN etc on tv. Free simple breakfast.

All round fair deal.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardcoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Last minute booking picked from the Lonely Planet. Strange entrance but great hotel, fabulous rooms and simple typical vietnamese breakfast included. Was very happy with our stay and would definitely stay here again and recommend others to as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTravelTipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

I'm not too sure what happened to prompt the negative reviews below, but I sure found the hotel to be great value for money. I stayed during the Vietnamese New Year (Tet), so the entire hotel was practically empty.

I paid USD$25 for a double room, and $45 for a Suite. Boy, was the suite a luxury! It has a single and double bed, an entire living room with sofas and huge plasma TV with cable, and a jacuzzi bathtub. It was really great value for $45, after having been to Hanoi and Cuc Phuong National Park.

Room was clean, quiet, service was prompt (thanks to a receptionist named Kim Anhk). However, breakfast comes at 40,000 Dong.

There is supposedly Wifi (but I didn't try it), and a single computer for net surfing.

It is 10 minutes walk away from the Ben Binh Harbour for those catching a hydrofoil to Cat ba Island.

Good value from my experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Delakroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audtralia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed just one night in the Manaco Hotel, The room had not been cleaned properly, the bed had obviously been slept in by someone else without the sheets being washed - as they were gritty, the bed itself was also incredibly hard, it was like sleeping on a dirty concrete slab. We also found used condom wrappers in our wardrobe. I'd recommend staying somewhere else. The lobby also smelled bad.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hai Phong hotels

london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

A spending a few weeks traveling around Vietnam staying in cheap guest houses we decided to stay in the Monaco Hotel in Haiphong, a three star hotel.

The entrance is impressive and we looking forward to some luxury and a good night sleep, only to be woken up by RATS in the room. We had no food in the room.

When we when to reception to complain from their attitude it was clear this was not news to them. They changed our room but we could not get to sleep, kept thinking of the RATS.

They only offered a 10% discount after a big hastle, stay some where else in Haiphong, worse Hotel we stayed at in Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hai Phong hotels
0.5 mi away
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
Lac Long Hotel Hai Phong
#4 of 35 in Hai Phong
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Draco Thang Long Hotel
Draco Thang Long Hotel
#7 of 35 in Hai Phong
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
0.5 mi away
AVANI Hai Phong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
LEVEL Hotel
LEVEL Hotel
#12 of 35 in Hai Phong
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dong Duong Hotel
Dong Duong Hotel
#24 of 35 in Hai Phong
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nam Cuong Hotel
Nam Cuong Hotel
#6 of 35 in Hai Phong
4.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaco Hotel

Property: Monaco Hotel
Address: 103 Pho Dien Bien Phu, Hai Phong 35000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hai Phong
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Hai Phong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monaco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing