We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Hau Giang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hau Giang Hotel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

For the price this hotel is excellent value. The staff was extremely helpful and provided us with a generous late checkout at no charge because of a late flight to Hanoi we had to wait for. The room was fine, the bathroom a little of the funky side but it worked. We had to miss breakfast because of an early departure to see the floating markets. They were nice enough to pack us a breakfast to take with us. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philly1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    109
    39
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
101
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent 1 night here with a friend. The rooms are nice and big. But when we arrived quite a few things were missing from the room which obviously the cleaning crew hadn't noticed. No tea or coffee, no information booklet, the shower gel was broken and leaking...
However, once we called, the staff promptly brought everything we asked for.
The shower is strange as it stands on bricks but works well enough. Sooner or later mould will be a problem though... as the water from showering goes right behind the bath tub.
Breakfast is on the 6th floor on a rooftop terrace which is very nice. Good variety of dishes to choose from, both Western and Asian, as well as fresh fruit.
It's only a very short walk from the hotel to the promenade. So very good location.
There is a computer in the lobby guests can use. But it is standing only. Wireless access in all the rooms but don't know how good reception is as I didn't use it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1holidaygirl15_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great new hotel! Very well located, by the river. Very nice and comfortable room, beds and shower. Excellent breakfast with large variety of dishes and fruit is being served on the roof balcony of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed at Hau Giang hotel for one night of a 3 day Mekong Delta tour from Saigon.

When we arrived at 8pm with a bus load of around 20 tourists, the two
desk staff were somewhat overwhelmed and not the friendliest. Vietnam
law requires that tourists leave their passports with the hotel while
they are checked in and some of our group obviously didn’t realise this and colourful conversations with much hand waving ensued. On the
ground floor opposite reception is a dining room which had 2 cars parked among the tables, however they were moved in the morning to allow space for breakfast. At least there was a lift/elevator in this
hotel for the 6 floors and saved us carrying our luggage up to our 5th floor room.

Our street frontage twin room was clean, tidy and basic. Thankfully the street noise was nothing like HCMC and was quiet by late evening.
The room was made up of 2 x single beds, bar fridge (not stocked), satellite tv, 2 chairs and table by the window. Small bathroom with shower that hangs from the wall and sprays into the room making the entire bathroom wet. A tricky step up from the bedroom to bathroom saw a couple of toes stubbed. Cooling was by way of a floor standing fan. Air conditioning is in the room and an extra US$5 for the key to
the power switch for it.

Although our tour was paid as part of a 3 week package we guessed this one star hotel was in the under US$10 per night category. The 3 day Mekong Delta tour which we were included on, we were told by other passengers they had paid US$28 each (or for one lady that had single supplement and air conditioned rooms - US$35) seemed a bargain
for 3 days including travel, tours and hotels.

Breakfast is included in the room rate, which like the other hotels so far, had a limited menu of eggs or omelette, bread roll and one drink included, either coffee, tea or juice.

If as we think the rooms here at Hau Giang are around US$10 per night, I would say it’s good value for somewhere to lay your head.

  • Liked — A cheap hotel with elevator!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SouthAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 46 in Can Tho
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 46 in Can Tho
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimtho Hotel
Kimtho Hotel
#11 of 46 in Can Tho
28 reviews
0.4 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
0.7 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hau Giang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hau Giang Hotel

Property: Hau Giang Hotel
Address: 34 Nam Ky Khoi Nghia Street, Can Tho 92000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hau Giang Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a total of 52 rooms feature pleasing Western-inspired decor with elegant furnished, luxury style but still retain features of Asian culture. The system of bedrooms are designed with elegant style, including the inlaid wood, card systems, satellite TV channels, mini bar, Free high speed Wi-Fi access and conference rooms with a capacity of 120 seats. Explore a diversity of culinary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hau Giang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing