We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this one if you have the coice” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ninh Kieu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ninh Kieu Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Can Tho
Dutch Alps
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Avoid this one if you have the coice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Ninh Kieu was an awfull deception after having visitied 12 other hotels in Vietnam. This hotel is owned (and run) by the People's Republic of Vietnam's Army and indeed one has more the impression of staying inside military barracks than staying in a hotel. Rooms were spartanic with absolutely no ambiance at all. Admitted, they are clean, but that's all we can say about it.
Breakfast, in another building, terrible! Bad and limited choice, coffee was served luke warm.
So, if you can, please stay away from this and look for something better.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veldhuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    21
    16
    4
See reviews for
12
19
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here because the place we'd booked lost our reservation and then booked up, and this was the first place we found with rooms available.

I've stayed in motel sixes with better decor and amenities, for cheaper.

Room was tiny. Bedding full of holes. Looked like a 50 year old hospital. Incredibly noisy water tower engine thing outside window. View of parking lot. No shower curtain. No wash cloths. Had to ask for toilet paper. We slept in our silk bedrolls. Discotheque nearby pumping music til the wee hours. Awful lighting. Separate beds. Breakfast was broad but limply presented and executed. Only one key for the room (only one seemed to EXIST, meaning they needed it to clean the room). They didn't really clean the room.

On the plus side, they arranged a great tour (because of our cool guide), and the air on was functional.

Avoid unless you can't help it. Even then, just go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do NOT take room 225.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eponymous_Trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Can Tho hotels

Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Came here as part of an arranged tour package. Was disappointed with the condition of the room. Windows could not be closed completely, so had mosquitoes. Bathroom was dirty, outdated. Walls need to be painted. Hallway was dark and dingy. Was given another room upon request, and the window issue was better, but everything else was the same. Would not recommend staying here. Perhaps people commented on the Ninh Kieu 2 which we did not stay in.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Average "Holiday Inn" chain-style hotel and rooms. Clean but unremarkable. The view across the river was nice; the property is close enough to the bustling waterfront to enjoy and yet far enough away from the noise to be thankful for. This is a very VERY busy wedding "district" - convention rooms, etc. so if you are in the right spirit, the music and unique customs and attire makes for a bonus!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayglick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

I'm vietnamese and decided to bring my Caucasian girlfriend on a vacation to can tho with my family. Rude as hell staff. They said locals get their own room price and visitors pay double. Pissed me off! Even if my dad who was a local paid, they'd also ask for double unless it was one single room for 4 people. What kind of place does that? I would almost call that discrimination or racisism. My dad told me its owned by the government which is probably why it looks like trash. A/c barely works, water barely runs out of the tub faucet and shower head. This was an expensive stay for "Vietnamese standards". Decor in the rooms are very odd and strange. Different stuff in every room. Almost looks like north American garage sale items. I will never return. Especially being a viet, I was still treated rudely. VISITORS, GO STAY AT KIM THO WHICH IS CLOSE BY OR SOMEWHERE ELSE!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ichiban_noodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our family of five came back and stayed in two river-view rooms for a night before flying to Phu Quoc in Dec 2011.
After major renovation, this hotel now changes it face totally.
Professional staff, nice & spotless rooms with charming facilities made our stay a memoir. Quietly located on the last corner of Ninh Kieu strip, our river-view rooms overlook the Hau Giang river and Can Tho bridge. It is hot in Can Tho, therefore the good working A/C in room and the bar fridge full of beers, softdrink and water (extra charges) are perfect. They even have some instant noodle cups and fast boil kettle available ( again, extra charges).
This time, we totally satisfied. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gyptodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Checked in after cycling 80km in the Mekong Delta. Had a room with balcony facing the parking lot and we got the afternoon sun to dry our bike clothes. No noise from the parking lot. Great location for walking the promenade. Tucked in a private property at the end of the road so their isn't any traffic noise at all. Didn't have to deal with the staff because we didn't have any issues. The room was a good size. Didn't pay for wi-fi in the room. Breakfast offered a big variety including fruit - isn't it just terrible if you can't have a western breakfast in vietnam!! Stay at an international chain if you want that and pay 5 times more. We really enjoyed the hotel and I am going to rate the value neutral because I don't know what the cost was as the bike guide paid for the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bstarr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.2 mi away
Ninh Kieu 2 Hotel
Ninh Kieu 2 Hotel
#12 of 44 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.6 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
0.1 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#13 of 44 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimtho Hotel
Kimtho Hotel
#19 of 44 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ninh Kieu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ninh Kieu Hotel

Property: Ninh Kieu Hotel
Address: 2 Hai Ba Trung St | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ninh Kieu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned along Ninh Kieu quay, in the heart of the Can Tho city, close to supermarkets, local museums, parks and other attractions, commercial, dining and entertainment where are just within a short 15-minute for walking from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Agoda, HRS, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ninh Kieu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing