We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Tay Do Hotel

Tay Do Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tay Do Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Staff are obliging and rooms are a decent size and clean but this hotel is not on par with others we stayed in for a cheaper price.. I plucked the name of this hotel out of a Lonely Planet guide as we had a last minute change of plan and I needed to give the taxi driver an address. First impression was the foyer smelt very damp and the hotel looked a little dowdy but as kids were tired ( and grumpy) I thought we would make do for one night. Rooms were 800,000 VND each with no balcony or view to speak off. The kids thought the ancient TV's were a joke - we couldn't get a picture on either of them which wasn't a huge drama as far as i was concerned.
The icing on the cake for me though was the morning we were leaving i was standing using the computer in the foyer when a rat ran out from under the table I was standing at across the foyer and into the dining room .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Tay Do is undergoing a refurb at the moment, but sadly the room we were in was yet to be done and unless they fit better double glazing you're still going to be subjected to screeching karaoke til quite late.

The room smelt of smoke but was of good size. The original bed had replaced with something smaller, judging from the placement of the headboard/bedside table arrangement. The fridge, hairdryer etc were all tired to the point of exhaustion.

The grubby bathroom was impractical, with the loo blocking you from standing at the basin.

No complaints about breakfast.

We were on a Mekong Delta tour and this hotel was far and away the low point. If you're booking similar, see what you can negotiate as an alternative in Can Tho.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy-looo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here as part of a private tour to the Mekong Delta. We got 2 rooms beside each other. The rooms were big and ok for staying 1 night. Breakfast was included and we could choose from several set breakfast offers, both vietnamese and continental. The personnel in the restaurant could not speak English but was helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvR2-expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I gave a review about this hotel in 2012. I visited this hotel again, I must say they still have a good service and buffet breakfast. This time around a got a modern (maybe renovated) room. It was very good and also my group all had excellent rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed one night as part of a private tour through the Mekong. Since this was booked for us, I am not sure of what the room actually cost. However, I would rate the experience as very average in comparison to other places we have stayed in Vietnam. The room was nice enough, the air conditioning worked, and it has a decent location. I would not stay here for more than a night or two but if you are only passing through then it is not a bad option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scinternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived at 1.30 AM but still got a room. Eventhough the reception guy couldent speak english very well, he was very poleight and helpful. Next day they were also very helpful in keeping our luggage in the reception while we searched for another hotel. We searched other options because the price for 32 $ was far to much for the standard of the rooms. Unfortunately they were old and had many insects. For the room I would maximum give 2 circles.
But helpful staff and good location gives 3 circles.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trooper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice enough hotel in good location. Rooms are clean, but nothing special. Breakfast area is on the top floor with fantastic views. Good breakfast buffet. Don't stay on the 5. floor as the function room is on the level above and they start organising the furniture from 6 am and the music in the afternoon/evening can be loud.

Room Tip: Don't stay on level 5. Level 4 is best, good view, less noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swaussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.1 mi away
Saigon Cantho Hotel
Saigon Cantho Hotel
#14 of 46 in Can Tho
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#17 of 46 in Can Tho
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Van Phat Riverside Hotel
Van Phat Riverside Hotel
#15 of 46 in Can Tho
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#19 of 46 in Can Tho
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tay Do Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tay Do Hotel

Address: 61 Chau Van Liem St., Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range: $25 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tay Do Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tay Do Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing