We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good overnight hotel”
Review of Tay Do Hotel

Tay Do Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tay Do Hotel
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A good overnight hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Contrary to the experience some others seem to have had with the hotel, my stay was quite good for an overnight hotel. The room I had (#210) was a corner room, it was clean and quite spacious, the bathroom was no luxury but everything was working and clean. I saw that some of the 'rooms' were internal view only, which basically means you have frosted glass windows looking on the hotel corridor... so be careful with room choice. Breakfast was reasonable, with some alternatives available for those who don't like pho for breakfast. I would suggest people stay clear of the massage, despite its alluring price -- the massage operation is quite ghetto by just about any standard.

The hotel was booked as part of a tour I was on, so I can't comment on whether this presents a good value, since I don't know the room rate. This is by no means a resort, but I would recommend it as a solid overnight option.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
11
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My daughter & I were booked into this hotel for 1 night in June by our Tour Company. It was most unpleasant. The rooms are very basic and cramped and in need of a good refurbishment quickly. There was cracks in the walls and it was discoloued and dingy. Stayed in 7 hotels while in Vietnam & KL (all exceptional quality) and this was the only one that did not provide coffee/tea making facilities in the room.
We went out and bought our own coffee and tea and they eventually supplied us with a thermos of lukewarm water to make it.
In the reception lounge downstairs we were surprised to see no less than 7 lizards crawling over the walls which had us checking our room out to ensure it was lizard free.
We went to get dinner at their restaurant at around 7.30pm and was surprised to see it absolutly empty. On viewing their menu it was easy to see why, their prices were very inflated, the tables and chairs were grubby, and none of the 3 staff huddled in a corner chatting came to offer us any service.. We did not eat at this hotel.
Breakfast was not memorable.
By chance, some of our tour company managers stayed in the hotel a few days later and advised they would no longer use this hotel for their clients as they too found it to be sadly lacking!
This is no way a 3 star hotel and I am sure you could do better for your money than this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O0nga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Can Tho hotels

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We also stayed here as part of a tour of the mekong area and were disappointed by the standard of the hotel compared to the remainder of the tour itself. Set in the amazing delta area, Can Tho is a bustling city. However, this hotel did not live up to expectations. When we arrived the air con had been switched on to "freeze" and the room was unnecessarily cold. The bath was not sealed to the wall, so goodness only knows where the water from the shower went. There was no hot water unless you switched the boiler on, but nobody told us this. The bed was quite "firm" but we found that most are in Vietnam anyway, so that was hardly a surprise (or disappointment!). There was no safety deposit box in our room. Breakfast was OK, but not much more than that. The room itself had far too much furniture in it for such a small space, which made it feel smaller. The hotel next door could see straight into our room so we had to keep the curtains closed. Having said all of that, the staff were helpful and friendly, although we did not have a great deal of contact with them, and the room was clean, as were the towels and sheets etc. It was also close to the river front - less than 5 minute walk - which was pretty much all you could ask for. All in all we were disappointed but as we had not chosen to stay here and it was part of a package, we couldn't register anything more than that.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strangebird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

The location of the hotel is near the Can Tho night market. Approximately 10mins walk. 

Condition of hotel looks ok on the outside, a little rundown in the rooms. The doors, main room door n balcony door looks like it could break anytime. Do remember to lock the balcony windows as they were found unlocked. 

The hairdryer blew when plugged in though, otherwise, room amenities are very basic. Small ants were found running in the sink area. 

Very minimal English is spoken by the hotel staff. Free wireless Internet provided by the hotel. 

Passable for a night's stay, nothing more.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pltang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

A big hotel catering to tours, business people, and independent travelers. The main staffer at the front desk spoke good English but the others were a bit lost with questions. The rooms weren't big, but were comfortable and well-appointed. The bathroom had a tub and a counter around the sink. Bedside reading lamps were appreciated. There was a good buffet breakfast if a tour group was in residence, otherwise you ordered from the menu. We checked out the jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and massage area on the 5th floor, but the desk staff spoke not a word of English, Nevertheless I had a decent professional massage for 100,000 dong. Hotel is in a good location a couple of blocks from the waterfront. If arriving by bus you should take a taxi - the station is way out on the edge of town. We stayed in a window & balcony room for 2 nights then had to take a standard room for the third night as the place was fully booked. Nevertheless, both rooms were fine. Can Tho is more ecpensive than other town because everyone passes through here, so this place was decent value for the quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynester48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We were part of a ASIAQUEST tour and stayed at this dive. Disgusting, the bathroom door was coming off the hinge and wouldn't shut. The lock on the door was suspicious and put a chair up against the door for security. Water flowed onto the bathroom floor after each shower

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knowhowtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana,Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

This hotel does not deserve a 3 star.The room was big, with a cable TV and a fridge. It was smely, depresed, and humid. It has an AC, but doesn't work actually it worked only on one temperature and on fan. The room was to dark and smelly . The smell was like a smell in old building.
We payed 30 dollars per night including breakfast. Breakfast was average.
The hotel was clean for Vietnam standards, even though they kill cockroaches with the same cloth, that they clean your table. It is not worth 30 dollars per night, no way. The security had a huge loudspeakers in front of the hotel, and they played music from 7am till early night. So it was very anoying.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dejanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.3 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#18 of 46 in Can Tho
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 46 in Can Tho
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lan Vy Hotel
Lan Vy Hotel
#40 of 46 in Can Tho
13 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong 2
Anh Dao Mekong 2
#12 of 46 in Can Tho
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tay Do Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tay Do Hotel

Property: Tay Do Hotel
Address: 61 Chau Van Liem St., Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tay Do Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tay Do Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing