We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average service - clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saigon Cantho Hotel
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Reviewed November 20, 2012

without being critical - this was an average 3 star provincial hotel - that pretends to be a 4 star, I found the breakfast room quite spartan with a strange mix of asian austerity dishes, (I was not really late either). Clean rooms, convenient to the river front to walk around town. But there is not really much to do in Cantho unless you on a tour. Reasonable value for what it is

Room Tip: average rooms - quite in expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 176 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've stayed at two Hotels in the Saigon chain. Given my experience at both of these I wish I'd paid that little bit extra and stayed at more. These hotels are in the process of being gradually upgraded and renewed. Some of the comments made about them, like a little tired and in need of a make-over written in guide books are possibly a little out of date. However if one combined all the good features of both hotels one would get a hotel that provided everything one would accept as natural in a five star international hotel circa 1980 plus good and free internet. If one conflated the not quite so good aspects one would get a just makes the four star category circa 2010.

Overall the Saigon Catnho would rate as a good four star hotel with excellent staff. The breakfast finished a little abruptly and the buffet faded away for latecomers, but in its early stages it was vivid, varied and interesting. For latecomers it was flagging a bit, hence a couple of critical comments in other reviews. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The A/C is efficient and unobtrusive. Another advantage is that it seems to be that little extra 60cm higher than the surrounding streets and so avoids the almost Venice like very high tide floods that climb up from the river.

Well worth considering, I would go back! We were treated very well by this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uncle_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed there for one night.
We were warmly welcomed and upgraded for no special reason nor request from us.

The hotel is located right close to the market.
Good rooms.
Restaurant is on the roof, open and fun.
Breakfast was poor.

Staff is very friendly.

A very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiri_Sh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

okay first off the room is very good,clean new tv,the hotel is very well located and the staff were friendly BUT the second floor is being renovated so all day jackhammers and banging which is okay if youre not there but after a 5 hour bus ride and a walk around Can Tho i just wanted a little quiet time so maybe next time they let people know renovations are going on no doubt they will not go forever.I booked an upper deluxe room which i thought meant top floor no i am first floor and the noise of the traffic outside is nearly unbearable i dont know if i will last a second night and judging by their literature( 48 hours notice to leave early)a lot dont last the distance.Maybe it will quieten down but its 8.21 now and no sign of abating.Damn wheres my ear plugs?As for tours i signed up for early morning boat trip seems expensive but i took the easy option and will live with that,the girl was very helpfull and i really only came to experience the mekong delta.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank alastair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here recently on our journey through Vietnam.As it was pre booked for us we were not sure what to expect but we found the hotel fine for our needs.Our room was clean and spacious enough and the bathroom was lovely.We enjoyed drinks in the rooftop bar as well as breakfast next morning.Complimentary water and fruit was appreciated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojo255061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

After one night in another hotel we moved to the Saigon Can Tho - same price but this one was cleaner and a little more updated. This hotel is also a little more centrally located - you can look down from the rooftop bar/breakfast area and watch people in the market.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
1  Thank MeganLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This hotel definitely needs to be refurbished as everything is outdated and in great needs to be refreshed. The room is old fashioned, painting going away, bathroom not so clean.
There Was a welcome drink offered but when going to the bar on top floor, we found the place absolutely empty and were offered a choice of 3 drinks ( rhum and coke, lemon and rhum, or orange juice). No need to say, there are no alcohol on the cocktails.
Yes, the location is great just nearby to the piers with numerous restaurants but it is not a top,of the class hotel to stay in.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank ema92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.8 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#2 of 46 in Can Tho
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 46 in Can Tho
360 reviews
2 mi away
Van Phat Riverside Hotel
Van Phat Riverside Hotel
#14 of 46 in Can Tho
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#18 of 46 in Can Tho
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Cantho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Cantho Hotel

Address: 55 Phan Dinh Phung St, Can Tho 92000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range: $23 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Cantho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Cantho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing