We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly to sell a tour”
Review of Kim Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kim Long Hotel
Ranked #4 of 123 Can Tho B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“friendly to sell a tour”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

hotel is clean, rooms are low level, the street is very loud, many rooms have no windows/ to expensive for this city / nothing to see, on the floating market are only 10 boats / the vans are now transportating, like in Thailing. Mr. Long is very friendly to sell the floating boat market tour and warned about the wives at the harbour, they are dangerous, but just this wives are doing his tours / and you have more money to him. If he is still friendly, when you manage the tours without him?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trungct, Manager at Kim Long Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor, on your recent stay at Kim Long Hotel . I am pleased to hear that you though our our room was clean but it is regretful to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us because of the noise from vehicle release and that you did not like the room design. It saddens me to know that you did not get a nice feeling from about the boat trips also due to the fact that there were only 10 boats at the floating market, which are normally very popular with our guests and highly recommended by them as stated in previous reviews. So, could you please make it clarify that which package of boat trips that you did take and on which day in September cause the Cai Rang floating market inboth options, from the best of my knowledge, is always bustled and crowded with about 100 boats every day in the morning and the sencond one, Phong Dien the number of boats can be depended on the tide but usually also has more than 10 boats a part from our new year days. I have already read through your comment carefully about the warning of mine on the dangerous of wives at the harbour and your understand about my kindly and friendly attitude was to sell the tour, which are the shame cause I have never ever said and mean that. For the room rates, it is not very expensive but it is absolutely affordable and on budget in the Can Tho city if you did reaserch and compare the rates with other hotels having the same type of rooms on booking.com or agoda.com . We do welcome all kind of feedback from our client and I can assure you that we take them on board and share them with all our team here. Please accept my sincere apologies for not delivering a satisfactory experience for you in this occasion but I hope that at some point in the future, we will be able to welcome you back and you can take a room in the back of our hotel, which will prevents you from the noise or should you require any further assistance from me please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Kim Long Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    103
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
34
143
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in Can Tho for two nights. We stayed in a basic room which was good for us. The room and the bath room were clean. When we stayed here they were building a bar down stairs and when that is finished this is just perfect because that was the only thing we missed a place down stairs to sit and drink a coffee or something. Breakfast is not included but when you book a tour with them you can choose a tour with breakfast.
We booked a tour with the hotel to see both the floating markets and to go to the noodle factory. We also had an English speaking tour guide. You can book the tour with out a guide but I would not do that. The guide we had, was also working at the front desk of the hotel. He was very friendly and his English was very good maybe better than ours. He knows very much about everything you will say but he was also interested in our country, The Netherlands. He had just finished the university, civil engineering, and he was looking for a job in this business so I hope that he is still working here if you book a tour because he made our tour.
When we left the owner helped us to get some breakfast. He is very friendly and you can tell that he is very proud of his hotel.
The hotel has a good location, near the river.
I hope in the future that they will also sell breakfast here and that the bar down stairs will be a place where you can hang out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Can't recommend this place highly enough. We had the superior room, which is still very cheap (about 16 euro). Room is very clean, has plenty of space for all your stuff, big windows overlooking town and the river a bit further on. The boats to the market are right on your doorstep.
We booked a tour on a private boat with them too (26 usd for 3,5 hours including guide for two people and a kid) and enjoyed this greatly. Thim, our guide, was a virtual encyclopedia of knowledge on the area and Vietnam, meanwhile folding all kinds of funny things for our daughter. Brilliant guy, who also works part time at the reception of the hotel. The team at Kim Long is super nice and very helpful. Pointed out interesting things for us to do and booking our onward bus for free.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne-Marijke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

So after reading the reviews on TA and doing some further research, my boyfriend and I decided to book a room at Kim Long and we were not disappointed!!!

The hotel is small and set just off the river, right in the middle of everything-the location really is great. We were greeted by Thung and Thin (hope spelling is correct), Thung is the manager and Thin works there. Both have very good english and are extremely friendly, welcoming and genuine. This is apparent immediately and was a real breath of fresh air coming from HCMC.

Our room was a good size (standard double) with air con, fan and private toilet, although no window. This didnt bother us a bit though. We only really used the room to sleep in. On arrival Thung offered us some boat trip packages-all very reasonable. We went for the private boat trip as we didnt want to do the whole 7.5 hours and so this allowed us to personalise the trip. Thung gave us a great deal too. We were also lucky enough to have Thin as our tour guide. He was fantastic, very knowledgeable and gave us great insight into the local and national culture. We had a great lady boat driver too (cant remember her name) who nmade some amazing crafts with bamboo. On our last night we noticed the washing machine and although it was short notice they very kindly put a load on for us, again at a reasonable price. They also sorted our return bus journey to HCMC with NO FEES, you will be lucky to find this anywhere else and if I had've known I wouldve waited to book our additional bus journeys with them too. If you are planning an onward trip wait until you get here to book it.

Overall, this hotel is excellent value for money for so many reasons. I would also recommend taking the time to spend a few days in Can Tho. It is much more relaxed than HCMC and we found the people far more genuine and less 'money grabbing'. And although this was only the second stop in our trip, it was refreshing to (a) feel like you werent getting ripped off and (b) feel like you were meeting some real Vietnamese people.

Enjoy!

Some other tips:
GONY Salon is literally across the road. A good salon with great prices and some great people.
Two great restaurants - Nam Bo (if you fancy a treat go to the 4th floor) and Sao Hom

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbyrne1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkeroed, Denmark
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This small little hotel is very nice, and the staff and the manager very nice an helpfull. Vi stayed at the family room on the topfloor, and was a bit surprised to find out that the bathroom was not in the room. But it worked out fine, sine the bathroom is also on the topfloor and we were the only ones using it. And with the family room is also the possibility of using the nice terrace on the topfloor. If you book double rooms make sure to book the ones with a window. We enjoyed stadig at the hotel, the location is great, you can have your laundry done very fast and at a very fair price. We booked the 7 hour canal tour to the floating markets and had a very good time with a fantastic guide who spoke very good english. The hotel does not serve breakfast but there are lots of restaurants very close that does. The staff were also very helpfull in booking tickets for the bus to Ho Chi Minh City, and even with no service charge. If you go to the nearby travelagency they will charge you Extra for booking the tickets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiseErichsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013. The location was good and we booked a great river morning tour through the hotel. The rooms were nice plus clean and the manager was great. Very friendly and went out of his way to make our stay as best as possible. When my partner was sick he even offered togo and get her antibiotics.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to meet some travelers on the bus who'd done their research, so we followed them to the Kim Long Hotel. Our $15 room had AC and was a few steps from all the action on the waterfront. It was a tad small, but had everything we needed and the owner organized our bus tickets to Saigon at no extra cost.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob and Lina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.2 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 45 in Can Tho
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
0.1 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 45 in Can Tho
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#5 of 45 in Can Tho
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#20 of 45 in Can Tho
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimtho Hotel
Kimtho Hotel
#11 of 45 in Can Tho
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Long Hotel

Property: Kim Long Hotel
Address: 9 Chau Van Liem | Tan An Ward - Ninh Kieu Dist, Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kim Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, 2-star boutique hotel, Kim Long provides excellent service and overlooks Can Tho river and Ninh Kieu Quay. You can enjoy Vietnamese warmth and hospitality at its most charming.Established in December, 2012, the hotel itself is only a few months old so it’s spotless and has a modern design in rooms at a very reasonable price. Each room is different, but all are spotlessly clean, new furnishing with fast internet, an air-conditioning, a great fan on the ceiling, AC, a telephone and a fridge. Bathroom is clean with solar hot water heating and cold water from outlet. Owner and staff are unfailingly friendly, and helpful which makes your stay a real pleasure. Hotel also has a nice rooftop in which you can view the river and take pictures. On-site parking place is free.With Gony, spa, cafe, restaurant being just opposite hotel, serving reasonably price local and western food, Chinese and Vietnamese Temple, and Ho Chi Minh statue close by, the hotel is perfect for shopping, sightseeing and entertainment. Location wise you can’t beat this place. More importantly, it is right in the heart of Ninh Kieu harbor and a local ferry terminal.The river is 50 feet away and all the night action are also right there. The day and night markets where the groceries and fresh food stalls are also a minute walk from the hotel. Hop pho which is 10 min walk away serves good western coffee. It was a fairly quiet road which was another plus for hotel.Exploring Can Tho is easy with scooter rental, bike rental, boat rental and bus ticket services available. Noticeably, Kim Long is only a 20 minutes drive away from the new Can Tho Airport, which links the Vietnamese capital, Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh city to the Mekong delta region and 10 minutes drive away from the bus station of Can Tho city, which makes it possible for you to move from place to other places easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kim Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing