We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nguyen Shack Can Tho
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$26
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
West Hotel(Can Tho)
$38
$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$34
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tay Ho Hotel(Can Tho)
$16
$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Xoai(Can Tho)(Great Value!)
$13
$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveler rating
496
92
21
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
92
21
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsland marketbicycle tourninh binhsunset tourmekong deltalime juicerope bridgethe riverunique experiencefree snacksshared bathroomlocal communitydaily liveslocal pagodaoff the beaten trackfood tourcatfish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 629 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very nice homestay with it's very own style of accomodation.
Especially recommended for those loving to sleep under the stars. Very open rooms with charmi g atmosphere and the imidiate feeling of relaxiation.

We did the floating market tour and bicycle tour offered by them and really can recommend both.

During the bicycle tours we found our new favorite cold drink :) thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were intrigued about this place after reading about it on TripAdvisor and our only disappointment was that the original owners Theu and Maxime are now at the sister property in the north of the country. The shacks are very comfortable with the balcony over the river being the big attraction. Fridge in the room meant we had plenty of cold drinks and the complimentary fresh fruit was very welcome. A highlight of our stay was the display put on by the fireflies in the trees across the river. Wonderful way to nod off to sleep. Really enjoyed the trip to the land market with Kim and found it better than the floating market which has been down sized considerably since our last visit.
Food was good, beers were lovely and cold and it was lots of fun being visited by little Bacon and Charlie each morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bangtaogardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night. Wanted to book 2 nights but 2nd night wasn't available. However, unless you're looking to relax and do little sightseeing, then this is a great place to stay. I'm, on the other hand, like to do things and venture out to see the surrounding, so it ended up 1 night is good for me. I arrived by lunch time, settled in and borrowed the bike to venture out to see the area. The locals are very friendly. By 4 pm, we did the sunset boat ride which I found very interesting, we get to see how the locals live. They do everything on this river (shower, wash their hair, brush their teeth, wash their clothes, etc). We then had dinner at the place after the boat ride as there's not uch around there. The next morning we took an early boat ride to the Cai Rang Floating Market. They then took us on a tour to the Land Market, I liked this more than the floating market. When we got back, we had breakfast, which was included, they then orgainzed a bike ride around the village. All over all, it was a nice stay.

Here are some of the cons in staying here. 1) it's not cheap, I could find cheaper hotel at a more convenient location 2) the place is way out of the center of Can Tho so the taxi to and out of this place costs about 150,000 VN dong each way, unless you take the motorbike taxi, which the girl works there happen to go out to the center and offered me a ride to the bus station for 60,000 VN dong 3) at night the place is filled with mosquitoes, I sat there for 45 minutes to have dinner and my whole legs were bitten by more than 50 times. I had to go to bed early which is in a mosquitoe net.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainequang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

On our family holiday to Vietnam, one of the things we wanted to experience was a Homestay style accommodation. We wanted to stay 2 nights here, but unfortunately we were only able to stay for 1 night. It is a fantastic place to stay. The bungalows are very comfortable. The hospitality from Kim, Eli and the rest of the staff was excellent. They offer a sunset tour on the river, tour of the floating markets at Cai Rang and a bicycle tour of the local area all for reasonable extra cost. The food on offer was delicious. They have a local person who cooks for them. Having come from 2 nights in Ho Chi Min City, the peace and tranquility of Nguyen Shack was fantastic. All in all, an amazing experience. Thank you Kim & Eli.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Basic but wonderful. Your only protection is a mosquito net but everything out weights this small detail. Beds were pretty comfy, food was excellent and cheap. The wifi worked well and the tours were great fun. Would highly recommend this place. The hosts are very accomodating and speak a few languages. There were Germans, French and English staying here while we were there. Nice social area to chill and drink over looking the river. Great place.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FishingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews