We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“away from town, very high C/P value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Van Phat Riverside Hotel
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked from a website and got a pretty good discount. Clean room, comfortable bed and good shower. We were a 17-person group and stayed in Van Phat 1 for 1 night. No one complained about this hotel.
the only shortcoming is massage service, lower than average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed there because the 2 days tour of the Mekong Delta that we booked made us stay there.
Overall an average experience, but not unpleasant.
Rooms were ok for the category, nothing to complain about.
The pool water wasn't clean and it wasn't light at night so we didn't use it.
We tried to have a drink at the bar. Hahahaha, what a fun moment. The waitresses seemed very surprised that someone might actually want to have a drink there.
But the real thing was the overall atmosphere of this hotel: think cold war, communism, spies, james bond, propaganda, oversized grandeur, idle staff and empty corridors. Strange feeling, but again, not unpleasant. A good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Courla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked a two day one night trip from HCMCity to making with Sinh Tours. The hotel was Van Phat 1. It's very quiet with few guests
The hotel is a reasonable standard and has a large outdoors area with swimming pool. Its clean, quiet with extensive outdoors eating areas.
Some of the waiters are on roller skates and others on bicycles bring food from the kitchen area. Lunch was good and the service excellent. The eating areas sit on water so at evening make sure to wear insect repellent. My girlfriend does not get bitten but for some reason my juices are more attractive
The room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast in the hotel was the usual but the coffee and fruit juices were awful.
We had to take a short taxi ride to the centre where there are a lot of bars cafes and an evening market
Up at dawn to see the sun rise over the Hau River, down the Tourist Wharf followed but a visit to Cai Rang floating market.

Room Tip: the whole place is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightupthedarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed in Van Phat hotel only for 1 night during my delta Mekong trip.
This huge brand new hotel is totally empty. The main reason for that is because the hotel is located in the middle of nowhere. You really need to get a taxi to downtown as it is too far for walk.
Hotel and area around is actually very nice. Rooms are really big with AC, TV, safe, Wi-Fi and fancy bathroom. Swimming pool, beautiful outside dinning area (like a floating village) and river side are the benefits and I can definitely see this hotel be popular for families or older couples looking for quiet place outside of the city. Also good for all inclusive holidays as you really don't need to leave the hotel and stay around the swimming pool for all week.
But this kind of holiday is not for me. I need a good located hotel with walking distance to the city and most importantly with good service. Unfortunately the staff in this hotel seems to be more professional that they need to be and there is definitely not good atmosphere which you can find in most hotels across the Asia.

The hotel was chosen by the company which organized delta Mekong trip for us. If it will be up to me I won't stay there. Too far from the city and staff didn't impress as well. Also in Asia I prefer smaller family run hotels as you can get the top class staff service like anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fils33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My parents and I were there with an organized 2-day trip in the Mekong Delta (through The Sinh Tourist.) It's a good thing that our group came, because this huge, brand new, beautiful, four-star, refreshing, Van Phat 1 was eerily empty when we arrived. There is a huge, clean swimming pool, a giant banquet hall on the main floor, empty. Another empty dining room on the 7th floor, from where you can get a great view of the sunset over Can Tho or the sunrise over the Mekong.

There is a beautiful eating area outside, with rooftops, a cute pond surrounded by trees and little lights.. . In fact I don't know why it was so empty!

Lady? sir? Looking for massage? Well the 6th floor has unexperienced young "massotherapists". I got an awkward, improvised massage for 120,000 dong, from a young girl who dressed like she offers other things (if you ask for massage with happy ending.) sketchy...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

There is two Van Phat Hotels in Can Tho. Van Phat 1 and Van Phat 2. We stayed at Van Phat 2. This is further out of town but it didn't really matter as once you have done the river market crusie there is not much else to see in town. The hotel itself is very good with huge 1 bedroom style apartments. Fantastic modern bathrooms. It has a huge pool well worth spending the afternoon in. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom apartment overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pparko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Van Phat 1 hotel was hotel chosen by Sinh Tourist as the hotel at Can Tho during a 2 night tour of the Mekong Delta. The hotel was described as 4 star and was fairly new. On arrival we found the receptionists to be very rude and offhand seeming to believe their positions were far more important that the guests. The staff had very little English or training and even asking where the breakfast room was brought a look of puzzlement to a young girls face. Despite being new the sound proofing is so bad that you can hear your next doors bathroom noises.
What is more inportant is that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and requires the hotel shuttlebus to take you in to Can Tho town.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the river as the back rooms overlook a field of mud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank DannyDog1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
2.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
345 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#2 of 46 in Can Tho
154 reviews
2.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
2.1 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
275 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong 2
Anh Dao Mekong 2
#12 of 46 in Can Tho
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Phat Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Phat Riverside Hotel

Address: 02 Nguyen Van Cu street | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 900000, Vietnam (Formerly Van Phat Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range: $28 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Van Phat Riverside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Van Phat Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing