We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Can Tho Resort
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed only 1 night at this fantastic hotel, I wish we could have stayed much longer everything was perfect. We were upgraded and our room looking over the pool was beautiful, the staff were some of the best I have come accross, they could not have done more for us. Breakfast was fantasic with everything you could wish for, it kept us going all day. If we are ever in the area again
we will def stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    350
    56
    12
    3
See reviews for
203
730
44
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is quite a gem of a hotel amid the frantic bustle of Can Tho. It is an old hotel built originally during the French colonial era. It has recently been upgraded to a high standard but with its art deco style it retains an air of charm, surely a travellers rest in the grand tradition. Although near the town it is in a quiet area. There is a boat shuttle into town should you need it.
The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable and a large bed is provided. The bathroom too is well appointed and some of the original furniture appears to have been refurbished to a high standard.
The staff are well motivated, courteous and friendly.
We ate in the main restaurant and the food on offer was very good and presented to a high standard at reasonable prices.
This a good hotel in which to rest and catch ones breath after a Delta cruise and before one is hurtled once more into another leg of the Vietnam tour. It is also a good jumping off point by air to the off lying islands for some beach therapy. The new Can Tho airport is excellent and presently crowd free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
234 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

How can you judge a hotel which keeps a buffalo as "decoration" in front of the hotel. The poor animal is there most of the day.We stayed there 2 nights and 1x I saw that he had something to eat. They have put a rope through his nose and another rope gives him ample space to walk around. I am very surprised that nobody else has mentioned this in their review!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FranceMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuanThu, General Manager at Victoria Can Tho Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear FranceMartine,

We would like bring the local culture into our resort by having two small rice fields, farming tools and a water buffalo. We do have a staff who look after the buffalo everyday.

We feel sorry for not being able to operate the Lady Hau during your stay in Victoria Can Tho Resort due to the limit of passengers.

Thank you for your review.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Victoria Can Tho Resort is a comfortable hotel. I would not use resort for it though as it does not really offer a lot of sports and entertainment activities and neither shopping experience except for the slightly overpriced souvenir shop. The hotel is quite nice and we had some relaxing days, but do not mention the evenings and nights. As written in other reviews there are Open Air Karaoke shows with Vietnamese pop songs in the neighboring restaurant. We talked to the management about it, but apparently they cannot do anything. It is such a pity as this is decreasing the value of the property a lot. You still have the option of moving inside for the dinner in the evening. If you would like to sleep with open windows during the cool raining season, it is unfortunately not possible with the noisy Karaoke. While the rates of this 4star property would be justified in general, considering the loud music, they should reduce the prices. Other than that breakfast is great and service is outstanding, but the noise is just too much to take.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuanThu, Manager at Victoria Can Tho Resort, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jessica B,

We understand your feeling on this disturbance.
Usually the music level at this wedding restaurant is not that loud unless when they have some special events which do not happen frequently.
Anyway we would like to apologize for the inconvenience though it is beyond our control.
Thank you for your review and we hope to have chance to see you again in Victoria Can Tho Resort.

Yours sincerely,

The Manegement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We chose thi hotel because of many very good riviews on T/A and we were not disapointed. Our 2 nights in this hotel were wonderful and the staff was a phenomenon. They were extremely friendly and helpful even told us the best things to visit in the Mekong area. The room was clean and spacious, very nice garden and great view to the Mekong rivers. The hotel’s restaurant served lovely food and a big swimming pool to relax. We defitely recommend this hotel like the best place to stay in Mekong delta.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarHen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at Victoria several times in 2011 and returned to Can Tho in September 2012 for business. It used to be a very relaxing experience to stay at the hotel, but that has changed with the restaurant next door offering outdoor Karaoke all night long. Surely, the hotel still offers great service and excellent facilities, but a massage in an exquisite bamboo pavilion just is not relaxing anymore, if it is positioned 10m away from busting Karaoke speakers. I am sad to see a great place going down. Anyone wanting to get a good nights sleep should stay away from Victoria now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XuanThu, General Manager at Victoria Can Tho Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Dennis B,

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had during you last stay in our resort.
Unfortunately, there was a special event with live music in the wedding restaurant next door (not a karaoke).
We have talked to the owner of this restaurant to ensure that the volume is controlled in the future.
We hope this will not affect your support to Victoria Can Tho Resort.

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

With best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A classic colinal style hotel, with all associated service provided - which was surprising to us as it was reportedly only built 13 years - not what you expect under a communist regime! - but all the hotels we stayed at in Vietnam were excellent, and affordable - but we liked this one very much. It's well located on the banks of the Mekong, large rooms, king size bed, double glaze windows (good thermal and audio insulation) and good dining rooms etc. Staff very courteous and ready to help - which was much apprciated as my wife had her fractured ankle in plaster, and needed a walking stick & wheel chair .
There is a wedding reception place next door and a karakoe place opposite , which can be noisy, but their music stopped promptly at 8 pm - so it wasn't a problem for us.
Take a private boat with guide on the Mekong and to the Stork colony about 90 minutes out of Can Tho - well worth the effort.

Room Tip: A room with river views / pool are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Two-Grey-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
1.0 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#8 of 45 in Can Tho
39 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 45 in Can Tho
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 45 in Can Tho
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 45 in Can Tho
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
1.4 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#4 of 45 in Can Tho
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Can Tho Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Can Tho Resort

Property: Victoria Can Tho Resort
Address: Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Can Tho
#2 Romantic Hotel in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Can Tho Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mekong Delta, Can Tho is home to charming riverside landscapes, green paddy fields, floating markets and myriads of canals. Experience a sunrise or sunset cruise on board the Lady Hau, a traditional wooden rice barge to the floating market. Set in a magnificent garden on the banks of the Hau River, the colonial architecture of Victoria Can Tho Resort complements the natural beauty of the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Can Tho Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Can Tho Hotel Can Tho
Victoria Hotel Can Tho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing