We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Can Tho Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Victoria Can Tho Resort
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Can Tho
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

After a trip on the Mekong Delta, arrving at this hotel was a haven of solitude and luxury. The staff were helpful and accommodating, check-in was quick (just insist they photocopy your passport and not hold onto it) and our luggage arrived in our room almost before we did.

I should probably point out that we had the largest suite in the hotel so possibly our treatment was excellent because of this but I somehow doubt it. There were fruit and drinks waiting in our room plus so many gifts I've lost count; cocktail vouchers and free laundry. Breakfast was excellent, after a 3 week trip around the whole of Vietnam and eating Pho every morning, my husband proclaimed that the Pho at Victoria Can Tho was the absolute best.

I used the spa once and it was excellent and reasonably priced. The pool is inviting witih lots of sun loungers.

We ate in town, there is a great restaurant attached to a covered market along the front. Everything is lit up in the evening with people eating at stalls and it was extremely good.

A hotel boat takes you into town, just don't expect it to be there when you want to come back, but taxis are plentiful and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    340
    54
    12
    3
See reviews for
197
693
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in mid March. Both of the rooms overlooked the pool with views out to the river. there was a basket of fresh fruit brought to our room about 20mins after check in.
The pool was quiet and relaxing until late afternoon when it became busier but there were enough sunbeds and staff in attendance.
We ate in the dining room outdoor terrace as there were two large groups inside. The service was attentive and the menu was extensive. I choose to eat Italian and the pasta with mushroom sauce was very well cooked.
All items of food and drink were priced in US dollars. Although the wine was expensive we did have a bottle of French red.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UtOpia210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed one night as part of large group tour of Vietnam. A lovely relaxing spot in an interesting location.

We ate dinner as a group in the restaurant, but were a little disappointed to be served French-style food, rather than local specialities, although it was nicely prepared and presented.

After a long drive to the hotel, I decided to treat myself to a pedicure, which was in the beautiful open spa, overlooking the waterside. Unfortunately, this was not the most comprehensive of pedicures I've experienced, communication with the therapist was impossible, and she managed to nick my toe while being over-enthusiastic with cuticle trimming, so overall I was rather disappointed with the treatment.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
115 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights while on an organized trip from Vietnam to Cambodja. The hotel is right on the river bank and we arrived from Saigon by boat. We liked the rooms, clean, nice, spacious. Had a breakfast buffet on the Lady Hau, a converted ricebarque from the hotel, while visiting the floating market on the river.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

A pleasant hotel on the Mekong Delta, We were welcomed with a wet cloth and fruit drink on arrival which was a nice touch. As the stay was part of our honeymoon, the hotel put Jam and fruit in our room and rose petals on our bed .

The staff were very polite and looked after us well, including a waiter who looked like Gok Wan, The staff were very interested and keen to speak with us too. The breakfasts were comprehensive and very tasty, and we had fun at the hotels cooking class where we were taken to the market and came back to cook our lunch in the kitchen.

The shuttle boat was useful taking us to the main part of the city and also a good way of watching the river traffic.

The hotel also had a nice Water Buffalo called Bravo who was the mascot.
The gardens were pretty and the massages were good and worth having. We would recommend this hotel for a three to four night stay maximum as there wasn't much to do in CanTho

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul-de-Vence
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

We arrived at the hotel jetty by speedboat from Saigon, expecting to be warmly greeted on our arrival. There was nobody to meet us, so we made our own way with our luggage to reception, where we had to produce our booking confirmation letter for the girl to find us in their system – which took several minutes! For some reason, our passports were also kept until the next day. (“We need time to take details”, we were told).

The room was OK, with an average ‘shower in tub’ bathroom arrangement. We had been spoilt at the IC Asiana Saigon the night before, so everything seemed rather second rate, which perhaps is a bit unfair to a hotel ‘in the sticks’. The hotel was full of tour groups and the pool with children.

Dinner in the restaurant was good enough, but not special. The morning breakfast on their boat ‘Lady Hau’ was pleasant enough, but slightly disorganised.

All in all, this hotel was no better than ‘average to good’. In my opinion, it was lower than it could have been in service because of the staff’s limited knowledge of English. We overheard several guests getting frustrated when they couldn’t make themselves understood. The management should perhaps be more thorough in testing language skills before hiring. The staff at all of the other hotels we stayed at in Vietnam spoke and understood English to a higher standard.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had spent two days on a Bassac boat cruising The Mekong and had one night booked at the Victoria, Can Tho, before heading off to Phu Quoc.

The hotel has a lovely colonial style to it, with very professional staff. The room was well equipped and we were upgraded when we checked in, which was a lovely surprise. However, we then discovered, and were warned by the staff, that it might be a 'bit noisy tonight' because of a company gala dinner. Yes it was - a large stage was erected, about 200 people attended an event which had loud entertainment and was impossible to avoid if staying in the hotel grounds. If you were hoping for a romantic evening, it would have been a huge disappointment!

We ate at the restaurant, which was nice, but expensive - but having seen a huge rat running round the restaurant in town where we had lunch, it seemed worth the extra costs!

Breakfast was a very good buffet with wide selection of food. There's a free shuttle boat from the hotel across to the town - and a very interesting local market to wander through.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilly1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
1.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#5 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.1 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong 2
Anh Dao Mekong 2
#11 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Can Tho Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Can Tho Resort

Property: Victoria Can Tho Resort
Address: Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Can Tho
#2 Romantic Hotel in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Can Tho Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mekong Delta, Can Tho is home to charming riverside landscapes, green paddy fields, floating markets and myriads of canals. Experience a sunrise or sunset cruise on board the Lady Hau, a traditional wooden rice barge to the floating market. Set in a magnificent garden on the banks of the Hau River, the colonial architecture of Victoria Can Tho Resort complements the natural beauty of the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Victoria Can Tho Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Can Tho Hotel Can Tho
Victoria Hotel Can Tho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing