We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic hotel”
Review of Hotel Xoai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Xoai
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

What you expect, in very good condition. The cheap rooms were perfect as a backpacker - small but fine. Aircon, nice bathroom and lots of power outlets.

The staff was a little inflexible though. Only doubles available online, but singles available on arrival. However, we booked two doubles online before and when we wanted to change to single on arrival we had to pay deposit twice.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Xoai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 383 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights. We originally booked for three, in a budget double room, for two of us and our three year old. Yes, the room was tiny - the floor space was twice the size of the double bed. But it was perfectly clean and serviceable. Bit of a novelty, actually. Then they upgraded us, free of charge, to a larger room with a TV and a kettle. Just one example of the great service.

As mentioned in other reviews, it's a bit out of the tourist area, we ended up taking taxis in the heat of the day, but it's not too far to walk to the main sights.

We also booked three tours through the hotel, all of which we enjoyed. The city tour (with the gentle and articulate The Hao) was a great way to get a feel of the city. My favourite parts were the chaotic Can Tho market and lighting incense in a pagoda (haven't had the guts to do it by myself).

The three hour floating market tour was relaxing and interesting, the best bit was actually going to a rice noodle factory then eating the spoils.

I'm a bit of a foodie, so the food tour was a highlight (see Can Tho food tours reviews).

Back to the hotel - the staff were so kind, helping us arrange onward accomadation, calling taxis and answering my plentiful questions. They all speak great English. It really made our stay.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Brownsonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived at the hotel late (11:00 pm) but could easily chek in. The staff was overall very friendly - they helped us finding good places to eat, getting a boattrip to the floating market and booked a bus to our next destination (Rach Gia). Very basic room - not much space, but enough for us, as we should only use the room for sleep. Also good price :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebapetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel has clean and comfortable rooms for a nice price. In particular, the rooftop and the hammocks are a nice place to stay on the evening. It is located a bit outside of the tourist area. The staff is really helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a great hotel. We stayed in a deluxe double room as the budget rooms were full but it was still very cheap compared to other hotels and the the room was amazing, great views over the city, very modern/ clean,it's own PC, free tea and coffee etc. We saw the budget double room and it looked really good too, just quite small. The best thing about the hotel were the friendly and helpful staff on reception. We booked two tours through the hotel which were brilliant. The Walking food tour was one of the highlights of our trip and was only $5, I haven't eaten as well as that during my time in Vietnam as we were taken to places which have specialised in one particular dish for generations etc etc. We also booked a tour to the floating market. You can choose whether to pay extra for an english speaking guide, we opted not to because we went on the shorter 3 hour tour rather than the longer 7 hour tour. We loved the tour, our guide spoke some english but not much but he was really great and this was another highlight of the trip, we rarely do organised tours but we are now converted. We also hired a scooter and drove to surrounding areas around the Mekong Delta which was great. The location of the hotel is good too, and if you get a futa bus from another destination into Can Tho then their free shuttle bus will drop you right outside the door. So no complaints from us,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and can't recommend this place enough. Basic rooms are very small but for the price very good, clean, comfortable and we liked the modern decor. The top floor is a nice terrace to relax and eat, drink.

What really sets this hotel apart is the super helpful staff and good information they provide. Reception staff all speak very good English and try very hard to help. We were recommended a local vegetarian food place and ended up eating there a lot.

Do your Mekong tours through the hotel. We did and had 2 different guides - both excellent and informative. The most fun we had in Vietnam, though Can Tho itself is a very busy small city - not as peaceful as we expected!

LOTS of good information in the foyer (including free things to do), water cooler and LIFT to the top floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KennJR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the reviews and the exceptionally cheap price.
The rooms are small but the best is very comfy and the rooms have everything you need.
I would stay here again. The staff really care and try to help how they can organising trips, booking buses etc for us. They won't do this for you in Cambodia.
We did the food tour and the morning Mekong delta trip.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in this area.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.9 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#19 of 46 in Can Tho
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#3 of 46 in Can Tho
72 reviews
1.4 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xoai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xoai

Address: 93 Mau Than, Xuan Khanh, Ninh Kieu, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range: $12 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Xoai 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mini-hotel 'Xoai' Can Tho is geared towards International travelers. Opened since 2012, the hotel is located in the centre of Cantho in the Xuan Khanh quarter close to Can Tho University, the Tham Tuong church and the Quang Duc Pagoda. The 23 rooms have double or single beds, a private bathroom with shower and toilet, fan, air condition and telephone. All rooms have windows with direct views of the Quang Duc Pagoda or Cantho University. The small and basic option for travelers - Budget Single and Budget Double rooms - offer a convenient set up many international travelers are looking for. Twin rooms offer two single beds. Standard Double as well as Deluxe Double rooms offer more space and a bigger bed, a desk, chair and closet or shelf and a large window and a PC. Computers with Internet access are in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. An elevator brings you up to the roof terrace, where you can relax in a hammock. It is a perfect spot to escape from the crowded street, to catch up with other travelers and locals. The name 'Xoai' means mango. The owners love mangos. Behind the house is a small mango tree and the hotel itself is painted mango-colored. The English speaking staff of the 'Xoai' supports travelers in any possible way. The hotel offers free maps, free student tours, a free media library with over 100 movies and documentaries, moderate prices for floating market tours and no additional charge on bus bookings. The ‘Xoai’ promotes eco tourism. The house uses exclusively energy-saving lamps. The hot water supply is carried completely by solar collectors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Xoai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing