We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and good value, quite a walk to town”
Review of Nam Mon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nam Mon Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and good value, quite a walk to town”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in a "Standard" room and found this hotel very comfortable, nice and good value. Easy enough walk from the coach station but a bit of a way into town. Clean rooms, good air conditioning, adequate WiFi, very nice bathroom.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    56
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
25
82
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on the way to Cambodia. We were very happy with everything here. The room was very spacious and clean, the bed was very comfortable, AC works good. The staff here were very friendly and helpful. The location is outside of the town center, 15mins walk from bus station. We used free bikes from the hotel and biked to town with no problem.

We booked the floating market tour here and enjoyed it very much also. It was private small boat tour only for two of us, much better than other bigger tours with 10 or more people. Our tour guide, a young lady named Wing was super friendly and informative, we visited two floating markets and had breakfast on the river bank looking directly at the colorful floating market. No other tour boats have this service.

We also booked bus tickets to Chau Doc through the hotel with no extra fees and the bus picked us up right in front of the hotel, very convenient. Overall. the hotel is one of the best hotels we stayed in Vietnam!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

The floating market tour was superb, despite the early morning start! The hotel drops a star due to the door of our shower not working, but the room was quieter than the other hotels we've stayed in. Location is not good for centre of Can Tho, at least a 30 minute walk, but very close to the new bus station - no need to take a taxi.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mzoorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We chose to stay at Nam Mon based on reviews of the tours. It was in a good location, with free bikes to explore the city. The restaurant across the road had great beer and good food. The room was very spacious for our family of 5. The beds were comfy. There was a smell in the room when you left your exhaust fan on in the bathroom. This is something quite common in Asia apparently. Our early morning markets tour with Hieu was fantastic. I am glad we did this although it was an early start we experienced the markets without the tourists. We also stumbled upon a cock fight in a village later on that day. Not something you see very often. Overall I would defiantely recommend Nam Mon and book tours through here. They were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at the Nam Mon Hotel in Can Tho for one night, to experience the life in the Mekong delta. It was a perfect choice - they organized 2 tours (floating market and the Bites on our Bikes) for us and we saw a lot during our short stay! Both tours were amazing and you get food during both, so you don't even have to think about finding a meal!

Our room was very big - they upgraded us to the suite even though we only paid for the comfort room. It was clean, air-conditioned, spacious. It was one of the hotels where they spoke the best English that we encountered in Vietnam and it was really easy to communicate. The staff is very friendly! There's a little air-conditioned cafe in the hotel, perfect for a cold drink before/after a long day!

Can Tho, the town, is a definite must - it's a bus ride from Saigon and once you get to the coach station, if you take the Phuong Trang bus (suitable for foreigners), it includes a free shuttle ride to any part of Can Tho, so it's very easy to get to the hotel and from the hotel to the coach station. Can Tho is a little gem in the Mekong delta, definitely worth visiting - was one of our favorite parts of Vietnam!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teds_Dils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We chose this hotel after reading the review of the floating market tour they organize for their guests, and I'm very glad we did. This tour was, without a doubt, the best tour we had so far. The guide Hieu is a great guy, and the whole 6 hour tour is perfect, and one of the highlights of our trip. You will enjoy a boat ride, see the floating markets before all the other tourists come there, have a great breakfast, eat the tastiest fruits, and so much more. Recommend this to everybody.

Regarding the hotel, the staff was nice and helpful, only the level of English could be better. We stayed in standard double room for 2 days (1 night), it was clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom was very nice, and we had a big window. Down side is they don't serve breakfast.

The location was also very good. It is very close to the river (for the start of your tour), and though it is a bit farther from the center it is still not that far. You can get a cheap taxi, but also the 25 min. walk can be nice, you just go straight through the big street so it's easy to navigate and you get to see less touristy neighborhoods.

All and all, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dzuvejnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after reading about the great reviews of the river tours. We chose the superior room which was set off the Main Street and felt it was great value for money. Cleans sheets, fresh towels everyday, big bed, huge room and the staff were very happy to help with everything, nothing was too much trouble!

Unfortunately the usual guide was out of town, however we had the lovely Wing pick us up at 5am and board our own private small boat 5 mins later. Her English was good and she was a delight to spend the 6 hours with, past floating markets, we ate delicious soup and coffee and ate pineapple and accepted constant gifts made from water coconut by Wing and the talented driver Tong - a grasshopper, flower bouquet, bracelets, rings and a lantern - very sweet!

It was definitely worth the money and we would recommend staying her, being a little out of town didn't bother us, the local area was very charming with a great restaurant opposite and some excellent banh mi street stalls close by. There are also bikes or it's a short, cheap taxi ride into the town.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 4WDrivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#18 of 46 in Can Tho
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
#22 of 46 in Can Tho
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
296 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 46 in Can Tho
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 46 in Can Tho
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Mon Hotel

Property: Nam Mon Hotel
Address: C233/4 Nguyen Van Linh Street | Hung Loi Ward, Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nam Mon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our refurbished property on early March 2014 offers a relaxing eco courtyard. with many plants and green furnishings to ensure you a laid back time. Our rooms are recently furnished according to our annual refurnishing to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and experience.Nam Mon Hotel presents a quaint and colouful collection of comtemporary guestrooms with free wifi, city bikes, maps and bottle water. All rooms are equipped with LCD cable TV, high speed internet and wifi, A fridge and minibar and rain shower to ensure you a perfect's night rest. Nam Mon Hotel is also using energy saving products such as solar heating devices and LED lamps.The Hotel is located not far from the city centre of Can Tho. Guest may utilize our free city bikes into the centre, is also an interesting way to see the local life. Situated on Nguyen Van Linh Street, Nam Mon Hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes away from the Bus station.The hotel also organize tours to the floating market, countryside bike tours and its 1st and Original "Bike & Bite Food City Tour" in Can Tho. We offer car and bike rentals at good rates and can be arranged at our tour desk. Barbecue facilities and a business centre are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nam Mon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing