We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boat trip with Hiêu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nam Mon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nam Mon Hotel
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Can Tho
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Boat trip with Hiêu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Thanks for all.
For information before arriving, for the friendly reception, for your bicycles to go in the town and for your best floating market tour in Can Tho.
See you again with pleasure.
My family love the women who drive and come with us at the floating market !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JR2toulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    56
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
82
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a fairly run down hotel, ants in the bathroom, chairs stained so badly you don't want to sit on them, doors that are so warped they won't close... You get the idea. It is also about a 30 mins walk to the city center. I would not stay here, again and I definitely would not recommend it to anyone.

The only upside is the tour guide they hire for boat trip is really quite lovely.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank viajerokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Nam Mon Hotel, based on all the honest reviews helps us chose the best. Hotel staff are excellent, they are friendly and helpful who welcome us even before we enter the hotel, assisted us with our big baggage, swift check-in and pushes us to take rest first before we talk about the tours.
The rooms they offered are wonderful, spotlessly clean, complimentary bottle water and a good quality bed to lay our heads. We had peaceful sleep. They have a lovely garden in their courtyard with many plants and trees, and a lying hammock under a big shade of bamboo trees. The staff offers us a lot of assistance from booking bus for us back to Saigon, call us taxi to guiding us to where the best local street food are.

We also done their tours, we especially love the Bike & Bite Food City Tour and the Floating Market Tour, each tour has their own speciality and characters. The Bike & Bite tour consists of bringing us to the local scene to taste local street food on mountain bikes, these included many different venues better than some other walking tours that only cover nearby vicinity. Through the tour we tasted 5-6 kinds of vietnamese street food, café sua da and followed by a hotpot dinner and beers. The floating market was one of our best highlights in Vietnam for past 1 month. Hieu the guide brought us around the market, 1st to the phong dien where we get a glimpse of how the local boats sells while the local people buy from this market, we had breakfast noodle soup with hieu overlooking the whole market 5 metres away, it was a spectacular sight. The morning glory of the great mekong delta. We head on to visit the green narrow canals, sometimes got stuck because of its low tides. Head on to visit the rice noodle factory and rice fields. Finally we arrive at Cai Rang Floating Market, not as dramatic as the last but it was too breath taking with all the bigger boats in the market, it is a wholesale market. And only with Nam Mon tours, you get many upsize with an affordable rates. You will get 3 sessions of beverages, variety of fruits and vietnamese snacks where most tour operators doesn’t offer you. Great knowledge and passion are passed down from Hieu who is a local and has many good connections throughout the market. In Conclusion, Nam Mon Hotel and tour offered us one of the best memories in Vietnam, if you are heading to Can Tho, stay with them, you will never go wrong. Very Service minded and professional, friendly and helpful. We will definitely return in no time. See you soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenlimcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is the one you want to be in if you're heading to Can Tho to catch an early morning boat on the Mekong Delta (which is exactly what you should be doing if you want to see the floating markets in action - a lot of the packaged tours from Saigon leave too late, and you will see precisely nada!) The hotel is well-designed, clean and comfortable for a decent night's sleep before your early start, and the staff could not be more welcoming and polite - the guy on reception (Bryan) knew who we were before we'd even uttered a word coming in through the door and remembered that my boyfriend had been ill (which was why we needed to delay a night - with no quibbles), which I thought was a really lovely touch. On to the main event though however...

The reason we'd booked this hotel was because we wanted to see the Floating Markets of the Mekong Delta early in the morning at their busiest and most interesting before they'd all dispersed, and we'd read excellent things about the guide who's employed by this hotel (you have to stay in the hotel to book the tour, FYI). The guide's name was Hieu and he was beyond friendly, and so informative; he gave us little titbits of local knowledge as we went round and answered every obscure question we possibly could have asked. His English was impeccable - probably one of the best I've experienced in Vietnam so far, and I've been here a while - which made the trip that much more relaxed and enjoyable.

We left at the ungodly time of 5.30, in the pitch black and the relative cold – the way it should be on these kinds of trips. We enjoyed cafe sua da (Vietnamese coffee) on the river and a hearty noodle-y breakfast overlooking the markets, all before the sun had properly risen. Seeing the Phong Dien markets was obviously the higlight – and what we had come on this trip for – but there were so many other aspects which made this tour feel just that bit more special. Taking a tour of the canals surrounding the river, walking the banks and meeting local people, learning to make rice noodles; all aspects that made the package tours from Saigon we'd been looking at seem a little flat. We paid more for this trip – I think it was 550,000 vnd each, Jan '14 – but it was well worth the extra money. The only thing I'd fault is that we didn't stop off at the Cai Rang markets too, but perhaps this would have made the trip too rushed to be enjoyable.

I think Hieu books out pretty quickly as he's quite popular, so if you have a trip coming up, then I'd get in there early to avoid disappointment...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had the pleasure of just staying the one night in this hotel but it was enjoyable. The hotel organised a great boat tour of the nearby floating markets and is also situated near a few local restaurants. The room was modern with a large bed and air conditioning. The staff were also extremely welcoming and helpful.

Note though that the approximate walking time to the centre of town is about 15 to 20 mins.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_fish00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The service is excellent. Although we do not deposit or prepay and just book via phone, they keep the rooms we requested and direct us the way to hotel (at the peak Tet holiday season).
The staff is so friendly, even the guard. They show us the way, the time to get to floating market.
They have parking place for car (not just park along the pavement).
We have nothing to complain. A great hotel for a trip to Can Tho.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wood O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel presents really great value for money! The room was huge and had an enormous king sized bed with clean white sheets. Overall very comfortable, spacious and clean for our one night in Can Tho. Great air con, t, coffee/tea making facilities etc. Evrything you would ever need.
We chose this hotel based on the tour reviews and they were not wrong - Hieu was amazing. His English is great, he's funny, kind, compassionate and ethical - a great young man .I am sure he will go far. He did everything in his power to make the tour interesting and funny.
The tour started at 5am where we walked a short distance in the dark to our waiting boat. Up the river a bit, we stopped alongside a coffee boat and Hieu arranged for us all to have a hot strong cup of Vietnamese coffee - just what the dr ordered. It was a fair way in the boat to get to the Phuong Dien markets, but was fun to watch the riverside waking up as we passed alongside. I thought the markets were going to be a lot larger than they actually were, but Hueu bought some pineapples, water apples and other fruits which were cut up and enjoyed along the way. Brekkie was a lovely hot noodle soup and fresh bread over looking the small markets, followed by fresh fruit. In short, it was an eating tour of sorts too! We travelled some of the small canals, saw rice paddies, walked to a rice noodle factory which was a really interesting process to see. We came back past the larger floating markets, which again I was a bit disappointed with as this was what we essentially came to the Mekong to see - but it was a great day out nevertheless which contained a bit of everything. I would highly recommend a stay at the Nam Mon because of Heues tour. Th ehotel is a bit out of the way of the man riverway and markets but a 5 min cab will get you there anyway. PS - LOVED the hotel's fat sausage dog!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#4 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#17 of 44 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Can Tho Guesthouse
Can Tho Guesthouse
#26 of 44 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
#20 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Mon Hotel

Property: Nam Mon Hotel
Address: C233/4 Nguyen Van Linh Street | Hung Loi Ward, Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nam Mon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our refurbished property on early March 2014 offers a relaxing eco courtyard. with many plants and green furnishings to ensure you a laid back time. Our rooms are recently furnished according to our annual refurnishing to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and experience.Nam Mon Hotel presents a quaint and colouful collection of comtemporary guestrooms with free wifi, city bikes, maps and bottle water. All rooms are equipped with LCD cable TV, high speed internet and wifi, A fridge and minibar and rain shower to ensure you a perfect's night rest. Nam Mon Hotel is also using energy saving products such as solar heating devices and LED lamps.The Hotel is located not far from the city centre of Can Tho. Guest may utilize our free city bikes into the centre, is also an interesting way to see the local life. Situated on Nguyen Van Linh Street, Nam Mon Hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes away from the Bus station.The hotel also organize tours to the floating market, countryside bike tours and its 1st and Original "Bike & Bite Food City Tour" in Can Tho. We offer car and bike rentals at good rates and can be arranged at our tour desk. Barbecue facilities and a business centre are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nam Mon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing