We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Nam Mon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nam Mon Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Thessaloniki,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our stay at Nam Mon was one of the best in the whole of our vietnam trip. Especially the manager and staff took care of us very well. Professional and customer service is probably the best we received. The floating market tour we booked with the hotel was amazing. The tour organized by the hotel brought us to the Phong Dien floating market, Cai Rang floating market and to an offbeaten trail where we see no tourists. The best part of the tour we had was Hieu the guide who was such caring, helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. guide who can speak good english are rare in Can Tho and able to meet one is probably our luckiest in vietnam. Rooms are exceptionally clean with housekeeping daily. We booked a standard room for only $15, good walk space and rainshower bathroom. The hotel is located alittle far from the city but we had lots of fun during our stay because here you get to meet local people which we enjoy very much. We recommend this hotel and tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginger160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Ginger160

Thank you for your wonderful stay with Nam Mon Hotel. We like to thank you for the excellent review you took time and effort to write. At Nam MonHotel, we forge to provide the best customer service to our guests and we commit ourselves to be professional in what we do. We are extremely happy and satisfied with how you like our service, amenities, the floating market tour and bike tour. We also want to let other future staying guests know that we do not hire tour operators from the outside to run our tours. We did them all by ourselves which could bring satisfaction to the guests.
Once again, We thank you for the excellent review and we hope you will come stay at our hotel in time to come during your next visit.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    56
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
82
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Second time at Nam Mon and it was as good as the first time we went. Bryan & Truc are so welcoming. They take such good care of their guests. The Floating Market tour was great. Rented motorbikes and explored Can Tho. Rooms are clean and well decorated. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Luc

Once again, with the 1st and 2nd visit to Can Tho and we like to thank you again for staying with us at Nam Mon Hotel again. Thank you for the excellent review you took time and effort to write us. We are extremely happy to read how much you love our decorated rooms and the service we rendered to you. Once again, we wish you well and hope you will return to our hotel during your next visit to Nam Mon Hotel.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel staff are very accommodating, the manager of the hotel is very engaging, professional to cater to international travelers. Rooms are nice and decorated with DIY art. Best of all is the couple of tours we booked with the hotel. We had so much fun and got to learn a lot during the tour to the floating market, food tour in the evening, and countryside bike tour in the early morning. this hotel is everything you need to make your vacation a perfect stay. Stay here and look no further.

Room Tip: choose the junior suite to the back of the hotel, book the tour as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Tony W

Thank you for writing us an excellent review. We want to thank you for staying with us at Nam Mon Hotel. We are glad that you liked our service and the floating market we offer you.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We are a couple who stayed with Nam Mon Hotel for two days.The hotel is nice, good sleep and staff speaks good english.the room we had is beautifully decorated with premium bed and pillow allow as to have a good night sleep after a long 3 hour trip from Saigon. The hotel is located a little far off the city however we rented the bikes to the city. This is definitely a good place to enjoy in a local scence the local people. Compare to the city centre,everibody here look so gentle and warm.
The manager of the hotel is also very professional when he checked-into the hotel, he advised us what should we do,take care of our belongings and often ask us how are we wich we do not get this kind of treatment in most hotel we stayed in vietnam.
The tour organized by its hotel staff are wonderful, we booked a 6 hour tour from them and our guide is actually one of the
staff who is also a receptionist at the front desk of this hotel. We departed from the hotel, walk for 2 mins before arriving
at the boat pier where we board the boat and brought us to the first spot, the Phong Dien floating market where one could see
the dramatic scene of local people buying and selling with the small boats. upon reaching the market we also witness the sunrise at about 5.30am
it was a lovely scene and we had our breakfast, the vietnamese rice noodle soup in the middle of the floating boats. After the breakfast,
we head on into the smaller green canals where we visit the countryside way of life living style, the ricefield where we walk along the narrow path
to see how rice are grown. We also visited the home factory for rice noodle where we get a hands-on to make rice noodle. Hieu the guide also
brought us to the monster tree which is the oldest spanning some 500 years, the oldest tree in cantho with a mini-pagoda in it. It was one of the highlights
we had so far since a long trip in vietnam. And this destination of the old tree is only organize by nam mon hotel. At last we arrive at the
Cai Rang Floating Market, the largest in the mekong delta. This market has a variety of different boats ranged from big to small like a sampan.
They carry different good such as fruits, vegetables, herbs, fishes and more. Hieu also brought us vietnamese coffee from the boat stall a boat lady making your
coffee. Things are so beautiful but we have to leave.
We highly recommend this tour to all who stays at nam mon hotel, and those who doesn't, must book their tour because of its uniqueness.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baxdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Baxdav

Thank you for staying with us at Nam Mon Hotel. We like to take this opportunity, thank you for writing us such excellent remarks. In addition, we are very happy to hear how like about our serivce and tours we offer you. It is our duty to offer excellent service to our guests and we do everything we could to provide the best customer service to our guests. Once again Thank You and we hope to see you soon in the near future.

Bryan & Truc
Nam Mon Hotel
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed with Nam Mon Hotel, recommended by Sen (mekong journey tours). We love this hotel, it is more like a social hotel where travelers get to meet one another.

Apart from not enjoying the tour with Sen which was mentioned early post. We are a couple traveling for about 3 weeks plus.
This hotel is comfortable especially we reserved their deluxe room. We had probably the best premium bedding and pillows, we also slept so comfortably and without waking up in the middle of the night. It is in a quite location and rooms are equipped with windows too.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, and housekeeping everyday is offered by the staff. The staff at NamMon Hotel greeted and welcome us into the hotel, we had express check-in without have to pay the bookings initially (most hotels in vietnam accept payment first-hand). There is a great restaurant located just right across the street opposite where we were staying at. The location at night is burstling with local people around, having parties and drinking session and it was good since we love vietnamese beer.

The staff and the manager at NamMon hotel is professional and best customer service offered in the whole of our trip. They speak good english and communication was perfect.
We had no problem with what we ask for. Again, this was coming from someone who had traveled probably 80% of Vietnam and we stayed in many hotels including 5stars hotel which cannot compete with this mini-hotel.

And I also recommend the hotel's tour, based on other guests who stayed here, they love the tour and compare to the city centre, the tour sold here is good and well priced.

Beware also on TA, Sen who runs a tour to the floating market with a student status. Not recommended to go with her. We were cheated for the price you quote us.

In overall we highly recommend this hotel and its hotel tour to all travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean-Pierre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Jean-Pierre M

Thank you for such excellent remark, taking time and effort to write us an excellent comment. Thank you once again for staying with us at Nam Mon Hotel. We are glad and happy that you enjoyed staying with us in the rooms we offer, the service we rendered and the floating market tours you enjoyed the most visiting the boats and countryside. We extremely like how you described about our hotel with professionalism and service oriented. We are committed to provide excellent customer service to our guest as our 1st rule. We also like how to compare us to the 5 stars hotel you stayed with compare to our mini hotel. Once again thank you for writing us such excellent review and thank you for your stay with Nam Mon Hotel.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We decided to stay at this nice hotel even though it wss located a couple of k's out of the city centre because the price per night on Agoda made it worth our while. We were greeted by a lovely English speaking Vietnamese receptionist however when we enquired about the price on agoda his very hostile and abrasive manager took over our booking. Even though the room we wanted showed available online, the Singaporean manager with clearly no customer service skills what so ever told us we had to take a more expensive room. We showed him the deal on the website and he then offered us the 'superior suite' which was more expensive but with the 50% discount rate. We were happy to pay a little more so agreed to his offer. Upon checkout after 3 nights we were quoted a price double of that which we were quoted on tthe day we checked in and not surprisingly the nasty manager was lurking around in the background ready to step in when we right questioned the fee. With no real explanation except 'well I didn't make you stay here' we were forced to pay and threatened to call the police on us.
We highly recommended you do not stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kristine M,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to advise of your recent stay at Nam Mon Hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where neccessary, improve upon the service level that we provide to our valued guests.

We were very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion. I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review however the reason why our staff escalated your bookings to the manager is because our staffs are not competent to handle guest issue on the room rates. We also believe there were misundertanding between you and our manager regards to the room rates offered to you and the hotel was almost full with 1 deluxe room left. At the same time you do not have a booking therefore we can only offer you our deluxe room at $20 which was cheaper than agoda advertised rates, VAT & service fee included. Furthermore you accepted the offer and the room rates stays at $20/night when you check-out. Our manager is always at the front office to make sure service level are maintained. In addition to the threatening to call in the police case, I had also verifiied with my staff and manager, the reason to call in the police is because you made many profanity remarks against our staff and manager, which caused abuse and anxiety.
At Nam Mon Hotel, It is always our duty and practice to ensure all information including room rates, be communicated clearly to our guests before check-in.

We will be in contact to discuss further with you. Again, please accept my apology for the miscommunication between you and our staff and manager. And I hope that this hasn't put you off a return stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayd here in May 2013 for 3 nights. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel offers excellent tours and especially the Mekong tour with private tour was amazing. Cruising on a small boat at 6am on Mekong, watching the sun rise, was an unforgettable experience.

We borrowed bikes from the hotel to get to the city center. The traffic isn't actually too bad once you get used to it!

The restaurant across the street is very good!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Olli K

Thank you for writing us a good reivew. We like to thank you for staying with us at Nam Mon Hotel. With 3 nights you spend time at our hotel, You witness how we rendered the best service to you offering you excellent tours. We extremely love how you like our tour to go to visit the floating market tour, watching the sunrise. And especially enjoyed the motorbike ride and the vietnamese restaurant opposite the hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your stay and we wish to see you again in the near future.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#5 of 45 in Can Tho
381 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#20 of 45 in Can Tho
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
#22 of 45 in Can Tho
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 45 in Can Tho
320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 45 in Can Tho
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 45 in Can Tho
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Mon Hotel

Property: Nam Mon Hotel
Address: C233/4 Nguyen Van Linh Street | Hung Loi Ward, Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nam Mon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our refurbished property on early March 2014 offers a relaxing eco courtyard. with many plants and green furnishings to ensure you a laid back time. Our rooms are recently furnished according to our annual refurnishing to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and experience.Nam Mon Hotel presents a quaint and colouful collection of comtemporary guestrooms with free wifi, city bikes, maps and bottle water. All rooms are equipped with LCD cable TV, high speed internet and wifi, A fridge and minibar and rain shower to ensure you a perfect's night rest. Nam Mon Hotel is also using energy saving products such as solar heating devices and LED lamps.The Hotel is located not far from the city centre of Can Tho. Guest may utilize our free city bikes into the centre, is also an interesting way to see the local life. Situated on Nguyen Van Linh Street, Nam Mon Hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes away from the Bus station.The hotel also organize tours to the floating market, countryside bike tours and its 1st and Original "Bike & Bite Food City Tour" in Can Tho. We offer car and bike rentals at good rates and can be arranged at our tour desk. Barbecue facilities and a business centre are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Nam Mon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing