We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nam Mon Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayd here in May 2013 for 3 nights. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel offers excellent tours and especially the Mekong tour with private tour was amazing. Cruising on a small boat at 6am on Mekong, watching the sun rise, was an unforgettable experience.

We borrowed bikes from the hotel to get to the city center. The traffic isn't actually too bad once you get used to it!

The restaurant across the street is very good!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olli K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Olli K

Thank you for writing us a good reivew. We like to thank you for staying with us at Nam Mon Hotel. With 3 nights you spend time at our hotel, You witness how we rendered the best service to you offering you excellent tours. We extremely love how you like our tour to go to visit the floating market tour, watching the sunrise. And especially enjoyed the motorbike ride and the vietnamese restaurant opposite the hotel.

Once again, we thank you for your stay and we wish to see you again in the near future.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 170 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

The people who work here are the best. The location is too far away from the city center. The hotel offer free bikes, but as everywhere in Vietnam, traffic is synonymous with suicide. The trip to the floating market is way to expensive. Better go the city center for much better prices. But again the staff is the best you can get.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ooievaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear ooievaar,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience you had with Nam Mon Hotel. The fact that you mentioned we have Great Personal Service from our staff means alot to us. We love to read that you enjoyed the hotel experience and the bicycle offered by the hotel for free. Because that is exactly what we want for you and our future guests.

In addition to your remark on our hotel location, our hotel is located alittle far due to the fact we want our guest to experience the local culture where guest can roam freely, safely and meet our warm and gentle vietnamese people. Which apparently most of our guests love it.
Furthermore we've also reduced the floating market tour price to enhance our guest's experience and budget.

Once again, we thank you for your stay and we hope to welcome you to stay in our hotel again.

Kind Regards
Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

As per previous reviews this is a good hotel for the price. The rooms are nice and spacious. The bathroom is a bit of a funny layout and the shower is a strange set up.
It is a little bit out of the centre of town (about a five minute bicycle ride).
The best thing about this hotel is the tours offered. We did two tours with Hieu (Huey).
We did a dinner bicycle tour which was fun and informative. We tried several things which we wouldn't have tried otherwise and were introduced to Vietnamese coffee.
The next morning we were up early to do the floating market tour. We were on our own boat with Hieu and on the water early. We had a hot coffee on the way out and got to the first market very early. We were the only tourists there. We had noodle soup for breakfast and then continued on. We saw another floating market and as we headed away from here we saw the first crowded tourist boat heading in. We travelled down some smaller rivers and visited a noodle factory.
All in all a great tour and worth staying at the hotel just for this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oponz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Oponz

Thank you for writing us a good review. We are doing everything we can do offer you a wonderful stay. In response to the bathroom, we are sorry for the bad experience however we rectified the problems which you faced. Though we are aliitle out of the way, but our hotel is located one straight road to the city centre, which means you could walk or bike to the centre. Again with our location, it enables you to see a less to none tourist environment, meeting local people, having dinner in a local restaurant which offers you a very local scene. In addition, we love how you enjoy the floating market and the food tour with Mr. Hieu, He is our best tour guide, who offers excellent service to our guests.

Once again, Thank you for your stay and we hope to see you again.

Bryan & Truc
Nam Mon Hotel
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very clean room, good amount of space, nice bathroom, fast wi-fi, nothing was missing, friendly staff is ready to help you whenever you need it, willing to organize trips for you at fair prices. "Owner" is a very nice chap, eager on conversations when he's free and around ;+ ) Not necessarily included, but breakfast in the house would be a good thing to have, though. Good deal for a price you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forsixentu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing us an excellent review. We like to take this opportunity to thank you for your stay with us at Nam Mon Hotel. We are happy to hear how well you enjoyed during your stay with us, with the clean room, nice bathroom, fast wifi and the friendly staff we offer. Thank you for such a compliment. We had free breakfast for our guests before but due to inpopularity, unfortunately we took out the menu however we hope one day we could include in the future.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Bryan & Truc
Nam Mon Hotel
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We initially only booked one night at this hotel but ended up staying for two. The hotel itself is very nice and well located with nicely sized, clean rooms. It is also very good value for money. The hotel also offers free bike hire which is useful. We also organised a morning tour through the front desk to visit the local floating market and mekong area - this was very enjoyable and good value.

The hotel staff surpassed expectations when we realised that our previous hotel had given us back the wrong passport (be aware of this in Vietnam). The staff at nam mon could not have been more helpful. The manager places great emphasis on customer service (not always the case in Vietnam). They helped us to retrieve the passport from Saigon and also tried to help us rebook our missed flight. The staff all speak very good English and could not do enough for us to help solve our problem!

I would certainly recommend this hotel as well as recommending them to help organise any mekong tour you may want to do.

Many thanks to the staff

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Sam C

Thank you once again for the reviews you wrote us. We are delighted to hear how we fare and how you like your stay with extension 1 more night. We are glad your enjoyed our service and in helping you to retrieve your passport back from the hotel in Saigon. Also in addition, what you wrote us about we surpassed expectations when we realised you had passport which does not belong to you personally, because we understand passport to a traveler is very important which we immediately contact the other hotel to send your passport.

We hope with all of this service rendered to you would bring you back to stay with us again.

Best Wishes

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were recommended Nam Mon by a friend who stayed. The drawbacks are that it is slightly out of the centre of town, but only 5-10 mins by moto or taxi. The staff are very friendly and the rooms excellent value for the price.
We also loved our tour of the floating markets - definitely book one here.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking reception which had a very nice shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieC612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear RosieC612

Thank you for such compliments and taking time and effort to write us a review. At Nam Mon Hotel we are committed to offer excellent service to the best we can. We try to lower room rates so that our guest could enjoy to the max. We offer our own in house tour to offer guest a different experience without tour to tourist shops and restaurant. Our tour rates are all inclusive which you do not have to pay more later.

Thank you for staying with us, We hope to see you soon,

Bryan & Truc
Nam Mon Hotel
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Nam Mon is a really lovely little hotel, but sadly there are some downsides which made me give it only four points.
Firstly - it is pretty far away from the town center. To get there on the bikes rented for free from the hotel is quite easy - but getting back is pretty hard, because you have to cross very busy roads several times. And to head straight into a swarm of motorbikes is not for everyone...

Secondly - the plumbing, as others have already told, is not working properly in some of the rooms.
Our first room (suite on the top floor) was really nice, but there was a terrible smell from the bathroom. This, and the fact that there was no shower but only a free standing tub, made us move to another room one floor below. This room was very nice and non-smelly.
And last - the breakfast is a really sad affair - one cup of tea or coffee, a piece of toast, scrambled eggs, a slice of watermelon. Since there was a power-cut on one of the days we stayed, the bread wasn't even toasted (which of course wasn't the fault of Nam Mon).

On the positive side: The whole place is cheery and everything was quite clean. The bed was big and very comfortable. However - we ran out of toilet-paper and had to organize some ourselves (from one of the public toilets), because none of the staff were in sight. The hotel doesn't provide any toiletries, just a small bar of soap and there is only one towel per person. But then we only paid 25$ per night, so maybe we were expecting too much.

Wifi is free and quite fast.

The staff are very, very friendly and really go out of their way to help you! Do book the floating market tour with them - it is really a great experience. Starting in the dark at 5:30 you take a small boat, for breakfast we were given a sandwich each and a take-away coffee. After having visited the floating markets, we stopped at a small restaurant for more coffee and a big plate with different fruits, afterwards we were paddled through smaller canals, visited an orchard and a village and walked along ricefields - it was absolutely great and on one of the markets we were the only foreigners!

Our guide Huey was fantastic - he speaks very good English and knows a lot, a real treat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerenityHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear SerenityHD

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are trying everything we could to provide and offer the best hotel for our future guests. We are also unleashing some of the highlights of the hotel on 2014. In addition we really love how you describe our hotel as a lovely little hotel. Our location would definitely bring our guests local scene, meeting local, warm and gentle people, eating in a local vietnamese restaurant etc. The problems you faced in response to the plumbing had been resolved On the other hand, The hotel room you booked before was affordable and we could not provide breakfast for such wonderful and cheap rate. Hope you understand. Especially with power cuts in vietnam is frequent.

In addition to the positive side, we are happy that you enjoyed every bit of the hotel with the big and comfortable bed and pillows you mentioned, All of these comes with a price but you do not have to pay additional to enjoy all of this privilleges which at the same time may not happen to other hotels you stayed with, unfortunately services only comes when you pay.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phuong Nga Hotel
Phuong Nga Hotel
#29 of 46 in Can Tho
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Can Tho Guesthouse
Can Tho Guesthouse
#34 of 46 in Can Tho
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
#21 of 46 in Can Tho
4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Linh Phuong 3
Linh Phuong 3
#26 of 46 in Can Tho
3 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Mon Hotel

Address: C233/4 Nguyen Van Linh Street | Hung Loi Ward, Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nam Mon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our refurbished property on early March 2014 offers a relaxing eco courtyard. with many plants and green furnishings to ensure you a laid back time. Our rooms are recently furnished according to our annual refurnishing to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and experience.Nam Mon Hotel presents a quaint and colouful collection of comtemporary guestrooms with free wifi, city bikes, maps and bottle water. All rooms are equipped with LCD cable TV, high speed internet and wifi, A fridge and minibar and rain shower to ensure you a perfect's night rest. Nam Mon Hotel is also using energy saving products such as solar heating devices and LED lamps.The Hotel is located not far from the city centre of Can Tho. Guest may utilize our free city bikes into the centre, is also an interesting way to see the local life. Situated on Nguyen Van Linh Street, Nam Mon Hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes away from the Bus station.The hotel also organize tours to the floating market, countryside bike tours and its 1st and Original "Bike & Bite Food City Tour" in Can Tho. We offer car and bike rentals at good rates and can be arranged at our tour desk. Barbecue facilities and a business centre are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nam Mon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing