We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in Can Tho: so worth the extra effort to go down to Can Tho and Mr. Bryan Lim”
Review of Nam Mon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nam Mon Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Can Tho is not on everyone's list when planning a trip to VietNam but it should be, not least for the kind and warm reception offered by Boutique Hotelier Mr. Bryan Lim and his lovely wife Chi in their new Boutique Hotel "Nam Mon." My husband and I are, respectively, in our late and early 50s. We thought about how to see some portion of the Mekong but wondered, when we looked at the map, whether it would be "worth" all the effort to actually go as far as Can Tho, especially since we were limited to three weeks and were trying to see "as much as possible" in our time there. Our first concern (and as it turned out, our last) was where to stay. We were intrigued by the prospect of a boutique hotel, as opposed to something like the larger Victoria Hotel. We were determined to resist the temptation to swap our sense of freedom/adventure/exploration that can come with less "tour" and "package" hotels. But we were interested in having some of the "comforts of home." Enter one Bryan Lim! My husband made enquiries with Nam Mon Boutique Hotel. From the outset, Bryan Lim was highly responsive to all our enquiries, very gracious, and very efficient. We were initially somewhat apprehensive about being a mile ot two outside the "main drag" of town, but ultimately, we had the best of both worlds: a $4 USD cab ride in each direction took us away from the wandering masses of western tourists and depositied us in our little oasis in the middle of the delta, a few hundred yards from the shore of the Mighty Mekong. The room was large, clean, and comfortable. The decor was hip and modern, and all the decorating has been done by Mr. Lim and his wife. The lounge is especially attractive and inviting, with all mannner of comforts available. They kindly arranged a privately guided 7 hour tour in our own river sampan, reasonably priced for what we received. The sampan had both an oarswoman and an English speaking guide who took us miles and miles along the River, right into the famous floating markets (where the two of them seemed to know everyone and everything), then off the River and into the smaller canals. We spent a goodly portion of time on shore in a village, walking through the village and rice paddies, seeing a Rice Paper factory in full operation. We had a lovely lunch at a very busy, bustling, very clean village eatery. On our second night, Mr. and Mrs Lim brought us out, with local friends of theirs to a wonderful (government run) restaurant that we suspect we would never have been able to find on our own. We had beers, seafood hotpot, and lots and lots of laughs. We could not have made any more comfortable. We felt like we had known these folks all our lives. And we were allowed a snapshot into life in the Mekong Delta in a way that would have been otherwise impossible. Full kudos to Bryan Lim and his lovely wife Chi. And make the extra effort to get there, for your own little slice of the Mighty Mekong, far from the maddening crowds.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the larger side. Bryan will be happy to accomadate if he can, I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonyaBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear SonyaBrian

Thank you for your wonderful review. We aim and strive to be the best in the city. We deliver what we promise to our guest. Even though we are far from the city centre, that does not stop us from showing our passion and commitment. We make sure that our guest's needs are met in every little way. Definitely with a rare and unique experience throughout your travel in the delta.
Our passion is your Xperience.

Yours Sincerely
Bryan & Truc
Nam Mon The Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 170 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

Can Tho is a big city... if you try walking it !!! Which I did for three days early this month. The flagged down van dropped me in front of Bryan Lim place, and what a pleasant surprise it was for me to meet the lovely couple who runs this place. I love the cotton sheets and bed cover and it is squeaky clean!

Bryan would tell you of the food served around the corner. Wished I had stayed longer to have the BBQ vietnamese style ...

Michael

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelAlorSetar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear MichaelAlorSetar

Thank you for the excellent review you made on our hotel. We were glad to receive you at the same time we are happy that you like our welcome you to the hotel. You mentioned you were extremely satisfied with the comfort beds and cotton linen. We wish that you could visit us again in the near future if ever you are in Can Tho again.

Thank you once again for staying with us.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is one of the best hotel in Can Tho that I can find. I have stayed at the other hotels before but this one makes me feel very comfortable and convenient. The hotel is brand new so all of the rooms and beds are fresh and clean. There are restaurants, drug stores, and transportation services around the hotels. Especially, they have motorcycles and bikes for rent if you would like to explore the city by yourself. There is also a cafeteria underneath which is very classic and modern. The price is affordable and reasonable. You will never feel like you pay too much for the rooms and services. They have a fast wifi internet and printing services in case you want to print out your itinerary. One of the most important things is that the managers, Bryan and Truc, are super nice and friendly. They can speak English fluently so you can ask them for directions or have a little chat with them anytime when they are free. They will provide you the best information and knowledge they know about the place you want to go or the transportation to another town. They help me a lot when I was there because I do not know much about the city and how it works. I definitely recommend to my friends and others when they have chances to go there. I will come back to the hotel when I come back Can Tho next time.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Dear Linda L,

Thank you for the wonderful review.
We just hope that you enjoyed the beautiful moments in Can Tho as well as in Vietnam.
And we will always try our best to gather tourist information so that we can share with our guest. Bringing a whole new hotel concept and service experience to our future guest is our main focus.

Lastly, we hope to see you soon in the future.

Best Regards

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon The Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

With the most heartiest and warmest hospitality service provided by Bryan and wife Truc, Nam Mon The Boutique Hotel makes my Can Tho Vietnam stay a happy and memorable one.

CONVENIENT
The hotel is located near town and bus station and it makes it convenient and easy to move around.

COLOURFUL
With a retro cafe and modern colourful room setting that makes you feel at ease and relax.

CLEAN
A clean environment which everyone would like to have when you are looking for a good stay at any hotel.

COMFORTABLE
Friendly staff and management at Nam Mon makes your stay feels comfortable and a happy one.

COST EFFECTIVE
It's worth it and pricing is also reasonable and affordable.

Will definitely recommend to friends and choose Nam Mon The Boutique Hotel again when i visit Can Tho Vietnam :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AugustusLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Augustuslaw

First of all, I want to say thank you for staying at our hotel and had chosen us as your traveling partners.

Thank you for taking your precious time to review our hotel and services. We will continue our efforts in providing the best service experience to our guests.

We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes
Bryan & Truc
Nam Mon The Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

A very relaxing and clean Boutique Hotel that you will never forget. The couples who manage the hotel provide the best hospitality services that i ever had while in Can Tho. Kudos to Mr & Mrs Bryan.

Not just the cozy and comfortable room that i had stay, but also the Vietnam style coffee @ the I-Cafe with free WiFi which i did not expect that i can actually access my email with my iPhone.

I will definitely come back when i touch down in Vietnam - Can Tho.

Cheers.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clivelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear clivelim

Thank you for the excellent remark you made. Your review made us happy about how you like our service rendered to you. especially with the free wi-fi that you can check your emails and work conveniently during your holidays. Again, We thank you for staying with us and hope you will do so again by visiting us.

Bryan & Truc
Owner
Nam Mon Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Really nice hotel.We found it by chance. Cantho is a not very big city but worth to see around and the famous floating market.The hotel location is near the bus station and not too far from the down town. High quality and best prize. Especially bryan and his wife are so friendly and will make your stay more comfortable and lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trucle, Owner at Nam Mon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

Dear Yimon

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Nam Môn The Boutique Hotel will continue the efforts in providing our guests excellent service and as accomodating as we can. We thank you for staying and had chosen us to be your traveling partners.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you again

Bryan & Truc
Nam Môn The Boutique Hotel
C233/4 Nguyen Van Linh, Hung Loi Ward
Ninh Kieu District, TP Can Tho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015
Thank ludivib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
383 reviews
2.3 mi away
Phuong Nga Hotel
Phuong Nga Hotel
#29 of 46 in Can Tho
30 reviews
2.2 mi away
Can Tho Guesthouse
Can Tho Guesthouse
#34 of 46 in Can Tho
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
Nhat Ha 1 Hotel
#21 of 46 in Can Tho
4 reviews
2.5 mi away
Linh Phuong 3
Linh Phuong 3
#26 of 46 in Can Tho
3 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Mon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Mon Hotel

Address: C233/4 Nguyen Van Linh Street | Hung Loi Ward, Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range: $14 - $16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nam Mon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our refurbished property on early March 2014 offers a relaxing eco courtyard. with many plants and green furnishings to ensure you a laid back time. Our rooms are recently furnished according to our annual refurnishing to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and experience.Nam Mon Hotel presents a quaint and colouful collection of comtemporary guestrooms with free wifi, city bikes, maps and bottle water. All rooms are equipped with LCD cable TV, high speed internet and wifi, A fridge and minibar and rain shower to ensure you a perfect's night rest. Nam Mon Hotel is also using energy saving products such as solar heating devices and LED lamps.The Hotel is located not far from the city centre of Can Tho. Guest may utilize our free city bikes into the centre, is also an interesting way to see the local life. Situated on Nguyen Van Linh Street, Nam Mon Hotel is conveniently located about 10 minutes away from the Bus station.The hotel also organize tours to the floating market, countryside bike tours and its 1st and Original "Bike & Bite Food City Tour" in Can Tho. We offer car and bike rentals at good rates and can be arranged at our tour desk. Barbecue facilities and a business centre are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Nam Mon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing