We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, good location, great staff.”
Review of Kim Lan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kim Lan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 129 Can Tho B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Kim lan hotel,

We had a room on the 3rd floor back of hotel, it was bright and clean. During a power outage the room was airy enough to keep cool. Location is good, short walk to waterfront, and there are lots of restaurants in the area.

The lobby was clean. No problem with check in-out. We had a late check out and the hotel stored our luggage for the afternoon.

The hotel staff is friendly and very honest. You can stay here and feel completely safe. The owner is understanding and great to deal with.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 333 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I should caveat this review by pointing out that, upon arrival, for seemingly no reason, the very friendly receptionist upgraded us to the VIP suite.

As a result, for the price we paid, our stay here was very luxurious. The beds were comfortable, the room was spacious, there was an outdoor balcony, and the modern bathroom was clean and complete with a spa.

"Kim", the receptionist, always greeted us with a giant smile and wave. She did so much to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We were only there for one night, but would have happily stayed longer.

No idea what the experience would have cost without our free upgrade! (We paid $60 for 3 people...)

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank coconutcrunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good place for couple nights, friendly english speaking staff. Location is excellent, but the street pretty bustling. Room was clean and spacious. The bed was hard, so not good for everyone. Breakfast was included for price and it was served at roof terrace, which has nice view over the city. Hotel booked and organized our bus ticket to Rach Gia. They also offered the floating market trip but we found much better and cheaper through Eco-Tour.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I’ll preface that our choices were rather limited when we booked this hotel. I decided since we were only doing an overnight that this hotel would suit our needs. I originally booked a deluxe room but upon check-in we were upgraded to one of their suites.

The hotel location is off the main street and apparently not as an ideal location as Kim Tho Hotel where there are more options for restaurants and bars. This wasn’t much interest to us since we had a full day in Ca Be which was part of our Mekong Tour and we only planned to have dinner then an early night since we had Can Tho floating market early next morning.

The suite itself was smaller than I had anticipated and had a queen bed but it seemed more like a double. The room itself had a LCD tele, mini fridge, and table with chairs. The aircon was pretty strong, but it blew on the bed so it made my fiancé a bit annoyed.

The bathroom could use a remodel but there was ample hot water with good water pressure. The towels were rather thin so this could be a good spot for improvement.

Do not leave any food out or candies. I left a coconut candy on the table next to the tele and next time I looked ants were having their way with it.

The one big disappointment about the room was no mini safe. I think this should be a standard item in all rooms these days. Guests like to secure their valuables when they go out and not having this option was not a confidence booster for security.

Wifi was hit/miss in the room – I think a closer access point would resolve that issue. When you moved a certain way the signal would drop out.

Breakfast was included with the room, but we did not get down to try it out since we had breakfast at the floating market earlier that morning.

The hotel staff was very friendly and assisted with us with great ease when we had an issue with the LCD Tele not working. They also were a pleasure to deal with when checking in/out.

Pros:
-Hotel Staff was very accommodating especially the free upgrade to the Suite.
-Quiet location with few restaurant options near by.
-Inexpensive Room

Cons:
-Ants
-Poor Wifi
-Bathroom remodel
-Most importantly no mini safe

Summary: Hotel is a good option for budget minded travelers or those doing a short overnight. I think to stay here any longer I would want some of my cons addressed especially the mini safe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britmaveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there for one night only. This hotel is good located. The ladies at the reception were extremly friendly and helped us with booking a mekong delta tour and our further trips. The rooms are clean and worth the price. I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steffi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Really nice place; room was spottless and bed sheets very changed daily, breakfast was good too -more variation than in many other hotels where I have stayed. Staff was really friendly too, I was always greeted by name at front desk. I was also upgraded free which was a really nice surprise. And location is perfect between the river and main street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elmiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

friendly staff. clean rooms. great value. perfect bathroom. location is close to the river and the recommend restaurants.
only the free breakfast is not so exciting.
offed a nice tour to the floating market.
will come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan123travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.1 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#5 of 46 in Can Tho
275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
0.2 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#2 of 46 in Can Tho
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Lan Hotel

Address: 138A Nguyen An Ninh Street, Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 129 B&Bs / Inns in Can Tho
Price Range: $15 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kim Lan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tour is organized to get you new experiences of culture and lifestyles when participating in many everyday activities together with local folks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kim Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing