We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a fantastic dezhurnaya”
Review of Amelia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amelia Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place with a fantastic dezhurnaya”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Hotel Amelia is a great boutique hotel close to Lyabi Hauz square.
I payed 40USD for a double room breakfast included.The room was very clean and nice decorated,absolutely a good deal!Breakfast was perfect,one of the best that I ever tryed.
Staff was always friendly,especially the dezhurnaya,thanks for all your help Masha!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yurij86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    57
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
44
123
48
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashgabat, Turkmenistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Since I was on business trip, I can hardly value the location of the place, because this time I was not able to go for sightseeing, but as manager of the hotel told me, they are located in couple minutes of walking from the Lyabi Hauz Plaza.
Overall, what I’ve enjoyed the most is the availability to have an access to internet from my room. The hotel had both dial up and Wi-Fi connection.
The hotel staff was very friendly to me, and upon my request had my favorite coffee ready in a minute.
Hotel room was always clean and had cozy atmosphere.
Great place to stay offering international standard of services for not expansive price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vallentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We spent 2 nights in Amelia hotel - a group of 3 people who went to Bukhara for a weekend. Booking was easy via internet and Bakhodir (the owner) was very helpful in ensuring the rooms for our arrival although no deposit was requred.

Location is perfect - just steps away from Lyabi Hawz complex on a typical narrow Bukhara street. We were impressed by the decorations in the rooms which was tastefully chosen. Each of 10 rooms have unique design. A small and comfortable yard provided room for chatting and tea drinking (free of charge). The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food for breakfast (included in the price of the room) was good. The hotel was very clean and smoke-free. Toilets, towels and bed sheet were clean, clean, clean!

Overall, Amelia is a very good hotel for an affordable price!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We were there in late Oct. Silkroad room is bigger than the rest. It was rather chilly at that time of the year so instead of dining at the terrace, they converted one bedroom to be dining room. They have aircon and portable heater too.

Shower was the main dislike since the water pressure was weak and we were better off rinsing our hair and body from the tap.

Breakfast was great, a spread of fruits, egg crepe, bread, prune jam, salami, tea or Nescafe and a daily special (eg. French Toast, or Potato Donut, porride, etc.).

The location is just at the fringe of the old town, easy walking distance to the main sights.

Good restaurants are Minzifa (quite expensive) and Dolan.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chezkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I loved this hotel. Cozy, clean and very good location. I didnt book in advance but I did communicate with them before arriving.

The staff are very helpful and friendly, which made me feel very comfortable and welcome. Since I was on my own, this was quite important for me.

Lovely breakfasts, mostly because you sit outside and upstairs, and you can take as long as you like to eat breakfast etc.

Bukhara itself is lovely, stunning and the hotel has a good location in the centre, but with a feeling of being on a quiet road that is in some ways unchanged in 100 years.

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Room was done in what I'd call "country charm" Uzbek style and came complete with space heater. TV operation took some figuring out but then, we had more important things to do than watch TV. Located very close to the old part of Bukhara.

  • Liked — the charm
  • Disliked — its almost inaccessibility
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheelchairguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2006

A Class Act !! The Amelia Hotel was clean, neat, cosy, warm, and gave me that" at home feeling ". The comfort level is very high and facility is excellent !! A super location. I would walk to go shoping. A very professional operation, excellent communication, customer satisfaction and they made my stay a pleasure !! A real treasure in Bukhara!!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukhara
0.3 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hovli Poyon
Hovli Poyon
#7 of 23 in Bukhara
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyabi-House Hotel
Lyabi-House Hotel
#11 of 23 in Bukhara
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kukaldosh
Kukaldosh
#16 of 23 in Bukhara
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arkanchi
Hotel Arkanchi
#4 of 7 in Khiva
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia Hotel

Property: Amelia Hotel
Address: Bozor Hoja Street 1, Bukhara 200118, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amelia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Amelia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelia Hotel Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing