We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
4-Day Pearls of Uzbekistan Tour
1

Book in advance
from
$769.24
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Nodir Devon Begi Madrasasi
from $769.24
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
65
86
20
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
65
86
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews souvenir shops cultural show religious school entrance gate lyabi hauz clams beautiful facade tacos blue tiles central asia phoenix birds divan caravanserai nadir human depicting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 179 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2016

So, we where brought here to se "a show". Paid 20,000 soms for the show (for the option without dinner). Basically we had to sit in this place for one hour watching some weird dances. Between one dance and another there was a display of dresses (???!!?)

The building per se is yet another madrassa (how many of them are there in Uzbekistan??) It's not different from the others and, also, is packed to the brim with gift shops.

That's a very weird combination of things...

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2016

The madrassa is now an arts & crafts centre and many artisans present there work there. I bought some beautiful miniature paintings - the workmanship is stunning. At night there are dance performances, however, we did not attend. The building is all lit up at night and it is a great place to be!

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank Nasir N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

The madrassa is in Lyab-i Hauz, the palpitating centre of Bukhara. You cannot miss it and you can't miss the symbol of the city that is so beautifully represented on the portal of Nodir Devon Beghi Madrassa: the Symurgh (phoenix).
The portal, as well as the two side walls are beautifully decorated. Inside, little shops all around and an evening show that you should not miss. Try to book in advance or you will end up watching the dancers’ back most of the time. The dancers perform on live music which is still a very important part of the Uzbek culture. The variety of costumes, dances and colours makes it worthwhile.
Go there when the light is bright (better in the morning) and at night when the tiles turn all gold and black.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank BarbaraTombari
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

Great to walk by and around the tiles are worth a photo or two. You can drink tea inside and also buy some souvenirs. We saw a local dance show while having dinner on the special day of independents

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank JensPerregaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Nadir Divan-Begi Madrasah 1611-42 was built as a caravanserai and on opening ceremony Imam Kyu declared it a Madrasah and later Nadir Divan -Begi had to adapt this caravan serai into a Madrasah 1630 by completing the building with terraces portals and towers and a second floor as premises for students.
The architecture is individualistic in its well designed proportions of the facade and decor amazes with thrilling images if animals and birds on the arc. It is situated around the Lyabi -Hauz (pond) and is the heart of Bukhara

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews