We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
4-Day Pearls of Uzbekistan Tour
1

Book in advance
from
$769.24
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Nodir Devon Begi Madrasasi
from $769.24
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
65
86
20
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
65
86
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews souvenir shops cultural show religious school entrance gate lyabi hauz clams beautiful facade tacos blue tiles central asia phoenix birds divan caravanserai nadir human depicting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 179 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Nadir Divan-Begi Madrasah 1611-42 was built as a caravanserai and on opening ceremony Imam Kyu declared it a Madrasah and later Nadir Divan -Begi had to adapt this caravan serai into a Madrasah 1630 by completing the building with terraces portals and towers and a second floor as premises for students.
The architecture is individualistic in its well designed proportions of the facade and decor amazes with thrilling images if animals and birds on the arc. It is situated around the Lyabi -Hauz (pond) and is the heart of Bukhara

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Sparkie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 19, 2016

This is one of the nicest Madrassas in Bukhara with a beautiful phoenix design on the facade. It contains some interesting souvenir shops.

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank philipsK7729PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

The Devon Begi madrasah was actually intended to be a caravanserai and was built for that purpose, hence the spectacular decoration and tile-work. However, when the day came for its opening, Khan Imam Kuli said to Devon Begi "what a marvellous madrasah you have built" and, in order not to contradict the Khan, a madrasah it became. The spot chosen close to the Lyabi Hausz is very peaceful and right in the heart of old Bukhara. The decoration of the madrasah was at first shocking to visitors and locals alike, as it is a tenet of Islamic architecture that human nor animal form is never displayed. The two birds shown on either side of the massive entrance gateway are "simurghs" (mythical birds of Persian lore) although some say they are Phoenixes, and with the two deer portrayed, not to mention the Mongol sun god with human face, the end result must have caused outrage and controversy at the time. However, we have Devon Begi to thank today for a truly wonderful and colourful exterior. Inside, the cells of the madrasah have been colonised by various arts and crafts shops well worth a visit and browse for some shopping, and when we went back in the evening, there was an Uzbeki fashion show, accompanied by an orchestra playing authentic local instruments. Recommended viewing.

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank JP1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 12, 2016 via mobile

Good building at the Labihaus square with some interesting features. There are a few things in the are to see so must visit

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 19, 2016

The difference in the designs of the arch are the mythical drawings of phoenix or seemur and lion-like animals. Located in a small complex of buildings in the park, beautiful landscape. Inside you can find souvenir shops. It used to be a religious school and now no longer active.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank marcofahmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews