We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bukhara Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bukhara Palace Hotel
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This actually turned out to be one of my favourite hotels in Uzbekistan. The building was iconic, and while very much following the Soviet school of architecture, it's definitely an impressive place to stay - with a vast open foyer, enough marble to build a mausoleum, an indoor water feature and even an artist in residence. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful (nothing was ever a problem) and this hotel even comes with its own night club, for an authentically Uzbek vodka experience underneath a real 1970s glitterball. Everything worked in the perfectly clean room, the air conditioning was glacial, and there was the biggest mini bar I have ever seen (devoid of drinks, but extremely useful for storing your own water in). A very relaxing place to stay, particularly because there is far less bureaucracy involved compared to many other hotels in Uzbekistan. Recommended for those looking for something a bit different, and slightly more honest, than many of the boutique hotels in various phases of reconstruction that are breaking out everywhere over Bukhara at the moment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    9
    18
    11
See reviews for
4
14
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Enormous reception area was shadowy and deserted when we arrived, and having read the other reviews here, I wasn't expecting much to be honest.

However - the staff were really kind and friendly, my room was comfortable and spacious (didn't have the same problem with hard mattresses that others have complained of), and my bathroom was the first place I'd stayed in for a while that actually had a bathtub, so I enjoyed that. The room was quiet and had a lovely view.

We also enjoyed the art exhibition which was being held in the reception area - good to see that huge space being put to good use!

Breakfast was enormous, and service was excellent.

Only problem I experienced - one of the rooms smelled strongly of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as it was where we were running a workshop. Can't complain about the staff, conference facilities or service but the hotel reeks of cooked food! The first night of my stay, cold air was blasting out of what was a hot air heater. I did not have hot water in the bathroom for all of my stay.

There are better deals in Bukhara for same the price. Look for the smaller hotels close to the UNESCO world heritage site.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dgoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bukhara hotels

Dumbarton, Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

The reception area of this hotel promises good things to come however the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The walls need a lick of paint, there was no heating and the beds are brick hard. I could actually write my nme in the dust on the surfaces. The breakfasts were average for Uzbekistan. Having visited in November most of the amenities were closed however I believe this would be better in high season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adnerb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

A/c was not working just because they shifted from winter to summer. Rooms were hot had to sleep by keeping my balcony door open.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raajkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

Spent 2 nights there. It is far away from the city center, walking distance of 35 min.approx. and the area around is full with government buildings only and not populated. Cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms is questionable. My room's balcony did not open and the air conditioning was out of order. Breakfast is basic, nothing special. The personel not happy with their wages and not helpful. The worse: The mattresses are very hard as if sleeping on pure wood. I asked the reception to provide us with softer to no result. This is a group orientated hotel out of city's centre and with 3 stars maximum.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

We spent three nights in the Bukhara Palace, located in the rather drab downtown of modern Bukhara but less than ten minutes drive from the main tourist sites in the old city.

The hotel presents a five star image with a soaring atrium and a large multi-purpose lobby. However, it’s downhill from there. Although it was built in the 1990s, after independence, the government-owned property has a Soviet ambience (it even has floor ladies) and is overrun with tour groups.

The hotel seems generally under-managed and under-maintained (e.g. one of the three lifts has been out of order since 1999) and the staff - while they are generally pleasant and speak adequate English - need better training. The pool did not look clean. Chairs in the public area were shabby. The WiFi internet access is expensive (pay per MB) and unreliable.

Our room and bathroom were small and shabby in places and they badly need a makeover. The bed was uncomfortable and the TV would have been dated in the 1980s. The hand towels looked like they had been cut with a scissors from larger ones.

The buffet breakfasts were basic and didn’t include any fruit or cereal. The one dinner we ate in the hotel was poor.

This hotel would not survive long in a ‘western’ city but in context can be rated as ‘average’. However, there are much more interesting small hotels (locally called B and Bs) in the centre of the old city.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukhara hotels
0.4 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kabir Hotel
Kabir Hotel
#13 of 23 in Bukhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lyabi-House Hotel
Lyabi-House Hotel
#8 of 23 in Bukhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bibi-Khanym Hotel
Bibi-Khanym Hotel
#10 of 23 in Bukhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kukaldosh
Kukaldosh
#12 of 23 in Bukhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bukhara Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bukhara Palace Hotel

Property: Bukhara Palace Hotel
Address: Navoi Street 8, Bukhara 200126, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Hotel Class:4 star — Bukhara Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Bukhara
Bukhara Palace Hotel Uzbekistan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing