We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bukhara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Bukhara Hotel (Bukhara-Tourist)
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Grand Bukhara for three nights as part of a recent Uzbekistan / Turkmenistan tour. We arrived from Turkmenistan where my wife had been taken ill with food poisoning. As soon as we arrived both the reception and restaurant staff were extremely kind and thoughtful. Throughout our stay they made an effort to lay on special food and ask after her health. This left us with a good impression of the service in a region where generally the level of service is not overly high.

Location wise the hotel is not in the old town of Bukhara but you can easily walk there in 10-15 mins, The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant didn't open for one night during our stay which was probably due to insufficient demand (occupancy seemed fairly low). Bukhara itself is a great place and definitely worth spending 2-3 full days.

Over all I would say this is a good hotel based on regional standards. It's not great and it's a little bland compared with some of the smaller hotels in the old city. The personal touch of the staff made the main difference for us though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TokyoBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    28
    12
    21
See reviews for
3
14
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 779 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This hotel was ok for two nights. I had a nice view of the square. The rooms are quite small, but it was clean and everything worked. Only warm water in the morning. THe breakfast was fine and quite good. The staff were friendly and polite. The internet didn't work the whole time I was there. Nothing else to walk to nearby. A few shops in the lobby, the TV had the BBC in English. It was clean, but a few caulk issues in the bathroom. I don't think there is anything better in Bukhara. It's acceptable, considering where you are.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

148 rooms - My least favourite Hotel of the ones I stayed in in Uzbekistan, I don't like lifts, and although the stairs in reception start off in Marble with gold handrail, as you go up so it gets worse & worse with concrete steps and no handrails!! but at least I didn't have to use the tiny (but ornate) lifts they have. Small balcony but no furniture on it. Meals were yummy especially the melon!! They have a couple of shops and a post office in the Hotel. Toilet rolls are well scratchy!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoshtravellerJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwaz, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Note that at check out we faced a staff integrity issue, which I’ll cover at the end here as well.

The pluses were the recent renovation resulted in freshly painted surfaces plus newer windows, doors, carpets and such. All was clean. The breakfast buffet was medium sized, but stick with baked goods and french toast and avoid the tepid/warm dishes on offer. Coffee was watery instant.

The negatives include location - in the center of a former Soviet administrative district and a ~30 minute walk from historic Bukhara. Redeeming facts were that it’s a somewhat green and quiet area. Younger staff were friendly, but the older ones provided indifferent service. PC with Internet access available in the “business center” behind the front lobby desk for a reasonable charge.

There are no room safes. We always keep important docs and money on us in money belts. We closely track the few valuables [cameras, cell phones] we carry. On returning from breakfast to pack and check out, we quickly noticed our camera was missing. Questioning our memories, we waited to check the car to see if we had left it the proceeding evening after taking fotos at dinner. This not the case, we returned to the room with our luggage prepared to pull it all apart and search. First though we thought to go over the entire room - and surprisingly found our camera had mysteriously wrapped the should strap around itself and hidden in the back of the top desk drawer. Like all the drawers in the room, we’d never opened it.

An old trick - the passive thief just waits and if no call or claim is made he “finds” the “forgotten” camera. So, keep a very close watch on all valuables at this hotel, and check all drawers and closets thoroughly before you leave!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukhara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Old City
Hotel Old City
#20 of 23 in Bukhara
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lyabi-House Hotel
Lyabi-House Hotel
#10 of 23 in Bukhara
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#3 of 23 in Bukhara
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hovli Poyon
Hovli Poyon
#7 of 23 in Bukhara
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kukaldosh
Kukaldosh
#15 of 23 in Bukhara
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bukhara Hotel (Bukhara-Tourist)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bukhara Hotel (Bukhara-Tourist)

Property: Grand Bukhara Hotel (Bukhara-Tourist)
Address: 8 Muminov Str., Bukhara, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 148
Also Known As:
Grand Bukhara Hotel (Bukhara-Tourist) Uzbekistan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing