We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel throughout our stay”
Review of Omar Khayyam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omar Khayyam Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Bukhara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

It was our 3rd hotel during a 10 day trip to Uzbekistan. This hotel shone right through. Wifi connection was excellent, big clean room, good running water.
We stayed 3 days there and enjoyed the spaciousness of the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zooIoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 82 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Hotel Omar Khayyam is ideally situated in the heart of the Old City of Bukhara. From here, it's walking distance to most of the major sites such as Registan Square, several mosques and madrassahs, and most especially to the three historical bazaars: 1) the Jewellers' Bazaar (Tok-i-Zargoron), 2) Cap Makers' Bazaar (Tok-i-Tilpak Furushon, and 3) the Moneychangers' Bazaar (Tok-i-Sarrafon). This hotel looks fairly new, is clean and comfortable, though of simple amenities. While the room was not cramped, we had 2 single beds with only one pillow each; the bathroom is rather small, and so was the shower tub. There was a small ref in the room, but it was not plugged in, and the air-conditioning, for that time of the year (very hot, 100-degree temperatures) was rather weak. The electric system can only support either the air-conditioning or the ref, not both, and we believe this is more of a city problem rather than a hotel problem. The drain in the bathroom floor was also not draining properly. However, breakfast was filling enough with sufficient choices to get us through the day, and the service was prompt and attentive. The breakfast room pleasantly looks out into the hotel's inner courtyard. The front desk people were also helpful and accommodating, though there was no internet connection at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cot2ntail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent here two nights and was pleasantly surprised. Room was very clean, I love when there is no carpet. Mattress was excellent! I have back problems, so that's typically an issue but not here. The bathroom especially was very practical with modern taps and hot water available. My room was in the second floor with a small balcony to inner yard. Breakfast is also with wide variety and there are some tables in the yard to enjoy the breakfast there. Hotel was really quiet and so good night sleep.

The location is excellent as well. It's in the old town where cars can't come. Walking distance to almost all major attractions. Staff is very helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony, ask rooms from the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PipsaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Located right in the heart of old Bukhara this hotel is the perfect base for exploring Bukhara. Its only drawback is that you cannot get all the way to the hotel by car, so luggage has to be carried the last 500 meters through the pedestrian old city. The hotel looks new, the lobby is well laid out and the open courtyard is great for a quiet breakfast. My room was spacious and comfortable, and the English speaking staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is very well located in the center of the Old City, but it offers just standard rooms and nothing else. Don0't expect a gar, restaurant or a living room in the reception with air condition. Can't complain about it but when you com after a 10 or 12 hours travel from Kiva, for exempla, you expect some more facilities. Not a bad choice, but simple.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordi_of_Barcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very good and clean hotel which is very well situated in the pedestrian area of Bukhara. Everything you would probably like to see (incl. restaurants) is within easy walking distance. Rooms are nicely decorated, everything works as it should. Staff mostly understands English and tries to be as helpful as possible. I think staying there should always be a good decision.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whatever007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are doing a private tour through Uzbekistan, organized from Australia.This hotel was chosen by our tour company and as such I don't know the price.

Hotel Omar Khayyam is ideally located on a pedestrian street within easy walking distance to all the fabulous monuments by 5 to 10 minutes and 5 minutes to Labi-Haus square.

Our arrangements included bed and breakfast. We are here for 4 nights and were allocated Room 22A located on the first floor. Its a very spacious suite with a small balcony overlooking the pedestrian walkway in the old town. Its very clean. Toilettries are minimal so bring your own. We had noticed this was the case throughout the hotels we stayed in Uzbekistan.
Each day the room picks up a lovely cooling breeze.

There is no elevator, but the young men in the lobby carried our bags to our room.

The staff are very helpful and friendly..

Bottled water in not complementary in the room, however it is sold in the bar in the lobby at a reasonable price.

The breakfast was served in a pleasant room on the same level as the courtyard. Its pretty basic. Some hot foods like sausage, fried eggs, pancakes and colder type like sausage and cheeses. Plain sweet biscuits and bread and croissants. Tea, coffee and a choice of 2 fruit juices. Fresh fruit or even dried/poached fruit would be a welcome addition.
We noticed on our last morning here that there was a tour group in and the breakfast really improved. Not only that but the male staff wore embroidered vests.

We have had laundry done and the rate is very reasonable. It is a same day service.

Internet is free, with a strong signal in the lobby where the iPad works well. A PC works in our room.

We had a lovely stay at Omar Khayyam and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bukhara hotels
0.4 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Bukhara
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Amulet Hotel
Amulet Hotel
#1 of 52 in Bukhara
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Devon Begi
Devon Begi
#4 of 52 in Bukhara
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omar Khayyam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Khayyam Hotel

Address: Khakikat Str 7, Bukhara 200121, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bukhara
Price Range: $52 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omar Khayyam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Omar Khayyam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omar Khayyam Hotel Bukhara, Uzbekistan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing