We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Piriapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Old fashioned hotel near the beach in Piriapolis. Clean and confortable. The staff is very friendly. Maybe its the nicest hotel in the area at the same price of the other hotels.
The breakfast is very good. You can have an excelent american breakfast.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms with view to the street could be less quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hernan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 98 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2010

Hotel Rex is very basic, from its breakfast to rooms and services. Owner could speak perfect English, which was very helpful. Location-wise, it's very convenient... it's on the other side of the street from the beach, and walking distance from all sort of stores. Hotel is supposed to have wi-fi, but we could never access internet in our room, so we had to go down to the lobby anytime needed to access the internet. They have a couple of very old computers in the lobby, with a very very slow internet. Overall, this hotel is very basic and charges more than what it offers. If it wasn't because of lack of other options, we would not have stayed there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoodlandHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Lovely town, great beach on the doorstep. The hotel was very clean, and staff very friendly, its the nicest hotel in the area and makes for a quaint stop over. You must visit la tartauga in punta colorado about 10mins by taxi, fantastic food, cocktails and ambience overlooking the ocean.

Stayed: December 2007
9  Thank JKBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We happened upon this wonderful hotel, and were absolutely ecstatic about the decor and ambience. The staff was small, helpful, and sincere.

The location is spectacular, close to the beach! There is a variety of things to do from walking along the waterfront to visiting the enormous casino.

A wonderful alternative to the nearby bustle of Punta del Este, which is an exciting day trip.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank caroleparaguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: creo que tiene habitaciones con balcon que deben ser mas luminosas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfabarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Piriapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Argentino Hotel Casino & Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bakari
Hotel Bakari
#5 of 23 in Piriapolis
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Genoves
Hotel Genoves
#7 of 23 in Piriapolis
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar y Arte
Hotel Mar y Arte
#8 of 23 in Piriapolis
47 reviews
1.6 mi away
ApartHotel Terrazas De San Francisco
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rivadavia
Hotel Rivadavia
#17 of 23 in Piriapolis
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Manuel Freire 968, Piriapolis 20200, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Piriapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Piriapolis
Price Range: $93 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing