We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond Memories”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Gahinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have very fond memories of this lodge. When I first arrived I was unsettled by the camping style bathrooms (you have to walk in the fresh air down some steps to another area which is attached to your cabana) but I quickly adjusted and found it a bit of an adventure. The immaculate housekeeping made it much easier to accept. We thought the food was the best of all the Volcano Lodges (and they were all good). Who would expect an African chef to cook spring rolls? They were delicious and a welcome addition to the menu. (When I travel I begin to crave some ethnic food). We thoroughly enjoyed the hike up to see the pygmy community and they put on a rousing song and dance performance for us. I'd recommend the half day excursion, rather than the full day. You'll see enough in that time frame. The staff are wonderful to sit around and visit with- a lovely experience in total.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Betty-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 62 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was part of my 12 day Volcanoes Safaris Primate Trek experience. I went to this area especially to view the golden monkey. It was a great trek, I would definitely hire a porter (at 63 and good shape, it was definitely helpful). The lodge is situated beautifully with great views from both the main lodge and my cabin. My room was very clean and comfortable and the hot water bottles at night were very appreciated. The food was good and the main hall's fire was a great place for a pre or post dinner drink. The only downside was the bathroom. The toilet and the shower are down a flight of stairs sort of in the open and it's cold during the night and early in the morning. The hot water was also pretty limited. I was told that this was the next lodge to get a facelift.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich1234Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This lodge, owned by Volcanoes Safaris was our second stop of the three Volcanoes lodges (Virunga, Gahinga and Bwindi). Having arrived after many hours of travel from the luxurious Virunga, our first impression was favorable, but after two days there, we were happy to leave. The food was at best good, not fantastic as was the food @ Virunga and later @ Bwindi. The Bandas were comfortable but the drop toilets and bush showers should be upgraded. We went for a walk to visit a small Pygmy village but after hiking almost 6 km, there were no Pygmies to be found. Pretty disappointing as this is one of the lodges featured hikes. The staff was professional, as with the other lodges owned by Volcanoes, but this lodge needs to be brought up to the same levels of value and amenities as the other two properties.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Artdealer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This lodge is up in the mountains in Uganda. The individual "bandas" are very roomy. Elecricity is solar and can run out by night. Hot water bottles are put in the beds at night to keep you warm and do a good job. Eco toilets can be a bit weird at first, but they are clean and much better for the local environment. I took a guided walk through the local area and met many local children. A great experience! It is cool up in the mountains, so be sure to dress for it. Birding is good there too. A great location and well worth the bumpy trip there. Food is good and served when you want it. Staff are all wonderful!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angela_from_ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great place to stay. All of the Volcanoes company lodges are beautiful and well run. What I can add to previous reviews is the "culture walk" offerred by the lodge. It is not promoted when you are there, but it was a highlight on our trip. You take a half day (or longer if you wish) up into the hills to visit homes, see the crops up close, meet the local residents, visit the village of pigmy descentents and admire the beautiful views from the hills. This is a great alternative to the Golden Monkeys which can be elusive to see.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I loved the setting of this lodge. You are surrounded by vegetation. The chateaus were so cute. It was good being in the country side surrounded by farmland. We were a short walk from the park. The food was excellent. Staff were kind and helpful. A great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konatourguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and I ended our two week trip with two nights at Mt. Gahinga Lodge. It was a great trip and a great place to end the journey. We were the only guests while there, but it worked out great. Francis, Innocencia, Stephen, Julius.....everyone was great. Stephen's food was delicious (tilapia, pork chops, stew, fried potatoes, mushroom soup, minestrone soup..I could keep going), and the staff made us a cake for our 2 year anniversary while there. What a nice thought!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnieKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
17.2 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
97 reviews
7.1 mi away
Five Volcanoes Boutique Hotel
18.5 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge
18.6 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#5 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
161 reviews
13.1 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Gahinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Gahinga Lodge

Address: Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Western Region > Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mgahinga Gorilla National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the base of the Virunga Volcanoes, Mount Gahinga Lodge is a stunning luxury adventure lodge hidden in the southern corner of Uganda. Its rustic charm is inspired by traditional design and building techniques. Gahinga Lodge is the perfect base to go gorilla tracking, track the rare golden monkey, climb a volcano, walk through local villages and most of all to share the culture of the Batwa pygmies, the oldest inhabitants of the Central African rain forest. The lodge with its beautiful living room, sun room and terrace has fantastic views of the volcanoes and the Kisoro valley below. The luxury bandas reflect the magic of the aesthetic traditions of the Bufimbira people, with their distinct colours. Each Banda has an ensuite luxury shower room, fireplace and private porch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing