We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accomodation”
Review of J&J Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
J&J Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Sukhothai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

A very good choice for a stay in Sukhothai! The staff is very friendly and helpfull! We originaly booked only for one night but we wanted to stay a bit longer, so they called our travelagency and arranged everything. The bungalows are spacious, clean and very cosy! There's a nice terras outside overlooking the little garden. We enjoyed our stay here and recommend this adress to others!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13inAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 126 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this one in the Lonely Planet and we booked per telephone two days ahead. The bungalows (they have 8) are located near the river in new Sukhothai, which is a small village. In the village there is a market each day were you can buy some food and there are a couple of restaurants. There is a bank and a 7-11 on 5 minutes by foot.

The bungalows are brand new and very spacious. They have a very large bed and a nice bathroom. The small garden looks well maintained and everything is clean. The restaurant serves a wide range of food, but we only used the breakfast (with home made baguettes). We hired a scooter to discover the old part of Sukhothai at the guesthouse for 250 baht a day. It is also possible to get there by bus. The bungalow was one of the best we have had in Thailand and it had an airconditioning. We didn't have any trouble with mosquito's
over here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rickzwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Great bungalows situated in a very pleasent garden.good food and great service.very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a decent place to stay for a few nights. It's in a good location near the night market and bars. I would have given four stars, but there were lots of mosquitos in our room. The windows do have screens, but they didn't seem to keep the bugs out very well. The guesthouse is located next to a river, so there are lots of mosquitos around. I would recommend bringing a mosquito net and lots of bug repellent. They have wifi, but it's not free. Overall, the bungalow are quite nice and the garden is well kept and a pleasant place to relax. Our guidebook said that there was a pool, but when we were there in March '12 there was no longer a pool. The restaurant serves a good selection of fairly priced food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea0287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Breakfast was delicious with very nice baguettes and the best muesli I've had in Thailand.
Bungalows were above expectations, the decoration is minimal but stylish. I think that the new location is about two years old but it seem to be even newer, everything looks great and spotless.
The bed was amazing. I been traveling for over 5 months and I couldn't believe this place. Yes, it is a bit pricier than the budget options but I think that the value is perfect for such a place.
In Thailand's beaches I payed much more for by far worse places.
We even stayed a night more than what we were supposed to stay just to enjoy our bungalow for one more day.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Be careful about staying here, I stayed for one night & realised at midnight that I'd been bitten a number of times by bed bugs, I splatted 4 of them, all full of blood, & then spent a paranoid night looking for them! I told the owner the following morning & she seemed really surprised, however since reading the reviews here & seeing that they have had this problem since at least February then they are obviously not dealing with it very well!! If you have never been bitten by bed bugs then you don't know how horrible they are. Steer well clear.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We arrived at this nice perfectly groomed bungalow guesthouse with very friendly staff who were extremely helpful. Air conditioning was great and they do absolutely fantastic bread! I enjoyed two baguettes in one day overlooking the river which was very pleasant!

But then we went to bed............there may as well have been no walls or roof as it was extremely noisy. At anyone point you would wake up thinking there was a dog or motorcycle racing through the room. They also have a bizarre selection of window panelling which to be honest is completely pointless as the room was consistantly illumiated throughout the night.

There were also bugs running across the bed, you could feel them on your skin. Woke up the next day with my back completely covered in bites. I assumed they were mosquitos but as it transpired later that day they were bed bugs.

It is a big shame but I would not reccomend staying here but I would pop in for the delightful cheese and ham baguettes, just what you need after days of rice or noodles.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williams1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0 mi away
Ruean Thai Hotel
Ruean Thai Hotel
#5 of 22 in Sukhothai
404 reviews
0 mi away
Sawasdipong Hotel
Sawasdipong Hotel
#14 of 22 in Sukhothai
21 reviews
0 mi away
Tharaburi Resort
Tharaburi Resort
#6 of 22 in Sukhothai
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ananda Museum Gallery Hotel
Ananda Museum Gallery Hotel
#10 of 22 in Sukhothai
63 reviews
0 mi away
Legendha Sukhothai
Legendha Sukhothai
#2 of 22 in Sukhothai
902 reviews
0 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 22 in Sukhothai
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J&J Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J&J Guesthouse

Address: 122/1501 Maeramphan Rd, Sukhothai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sukhothai
Price Range: $22 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J&J Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your J&J Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j&j Guesthouse Hotel Sukhothai
j And j Guesthouse
j Hotel Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing