We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped in for a bite”
Review of Tharaburi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tharaburi Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sukhothai
Certificate of Excellence
Banff National Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stopped in for a bite”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My Wife and I were staying at a resort a couple blocks away. We stopped in for some dinner. The red curry was very tasty as was the iced mocha and lemon iced tea. The glass noodle salad was good and the sauce for the shrimp tempera tasted like a homemade plum sauce. Overall the meal was good but price was higher then some other restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2922unwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    120
    45
    17
    5
See reviews for
54
163
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel is in a good location , the staff at reception were friendly and helpful. The rooms , well how can I say this .. the shower /toilet were very dirty and the paint was coming off the wood around the area. The shower was an outdoor one and if you stay there when it is the cold season you will be very cold .Turn the hot water on and you did not have to turn the cold on as the hot was not really hot.When you walk into the room there are widows above the door and they have a light on outside your room and the light shines into the bedroom very annoying. The pool was dirty , the breakfast was ordinary , and for the price of the hotel (2600baht) you would expect something better. The bread run out as well as the orange juice. Had to ask for more.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinjohnbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

The Tharaburi is a great hotel in an ideal location in Sukhothai.

My wife and I stayed there while driving between Bangkok on Chaing Mai during our Honeymoon. We timed our stay with the Loy Krathong festival.

The hotel is located ideally close to the Sukhothai Historical Park, and perfect for bicycling to and from the park.

The hotel rented us both two bicycles for a small fee, and we road into the park just a few minutes away to watch the week long festivities begin. We were treated to massive festival/show that was put on for free for both locals and foreigners celebrating Loy Krathong.

The room was beautiful, a nice size, the food at the restaurant was nice and the staff was friendly. Along with the fact that you can bicycle to the park and explore all the ruins. I would definitely recommend to the Tharaburi Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CayoHeusoLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you want to visit Sukhothai History Park the Tharaburi Resort is a good base. The rooms, indeed the whole layout, are quirky but in a pleasant way and ours certainly lived up to the promise of the photos. Reception staff had adequate English and were very helpful, the pool was clean, and if you wanted a Thai massage as my wife did a masseuse could be arranged. Food was a bit of a let-down but the History Park visits don’t make for a long stay.

Much is made of the availability of bicycles to visit the ruins and if you’re young and fit that’s an option. However the hotel isn’t just round the corner from the Park, which itself is a big area once you get there. You may prefer the tuk-tuk option – for a reasonable hourly rate you can get taken to and round the sites, the drivers know their way around, and a pleasant bonus is the design of tuk-tuks used. The passenger compartment is in front of the driver and the engine so you can see where you’re going and get a pleasant breeze rather than sucking exhaust fumes.

TIP: The De Luxe rooms (i.e. the cheaper ones) are towards the rear of the property, the Grand De Luxe (a bit pricier) are at the front which means next to the road which means traffic noise. Another reason to go for the De Luxe option!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a really lovely stay -- feels very pastoral, with lots of green, water, and nice rooms. The staff work hard to add touches, like decorating basins with flower designs and offering whatever they can to make your stay pleasant. We liked our room -- especially because the flat sleeping platform left room for our kids to sleep next to us on padding (we brought).

However, the pool is dirty, and the light fixtures look downright lethal (exposed wires and broken plastic). Way too much chlorine to compensate. Breakfast is not that exciting, but they try. Staff works hard to please.

Price is high, but there are limited options near the ruins, so they're making the most of it. TV channels are geared towards French and Germans.

Room Tip: They all seem to share the same good qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDES4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff is very helpful, very nice... but the place really needs a refreshment (paintings falling, mosquito nets torn away in the bathrooms,.....)
The price is really high for Thailand... and for that, you can expect much better..
Breakfast is.... cheap
But the location is perfect, free bikes at your disposal, 5 min away from the park !

Room Tip: ask to see the rooms before you check in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The room was great with all necessary facilities & the inside/outside shower was interesting. We looked out on pond, it was good to relax sitting there in evening with a cool beer. Birds flowers etc fascinating, staff all very helpful. We had read a report of fire here which was not correct the hotel was pretty much perfect for the area.Pool was perfect to chill in after a hot day visiting Old Sukhothai. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals weren't a bad option. We tried one of restaurants near Old town gates and were sorely disappointed. You can use a bicycle from the hotel to get around the temples which is a good option.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe room with views to pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.5 mi away
Legendha Sukhothai
Legendha Sukhothai
#3 of 20 in Sukhothai
849 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
#2 of 20 in Sukhothai
475 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ruean Thai Hotel
Ruean Thai Hotel
#4 of 20 in Sukhothai
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sriwilai Sukhothai
Sriwilai Sukhothai
#5 of 20 in Sukhothai
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Charme Sukhothai
Le Charme Sukhothai
#6 of 20 in Sukhothai
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharaburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharaburi Resort

Property: Tharaburi Resort
Address: 321/3 Moo 3, Muangkao-Napoh Road | Muang Kao(Old city), Sukhothai 64210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tharaburi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tharaburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharaburi Hotel Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing