We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust the pictures...”
Review of Tharaburi Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tharaburi Resort
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sukhothai
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not trust the pictures...”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a terrible hotel.

The rooms are small, dirty and look nothing like the pictures on the hotel's website.

But the worst is the smell in the room. A mix of mold and cat urine... It never leaves the room and it's truly disgusting.

The restaurant and pool area are OK, but if your planning to stay in the wonderful town of Sukhothai, i would recommend going to a different hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat-Anne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    120
    45
    17
    5
See reviews for
54
163
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
671 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The idea of a boutique hotel is that is offers something special, small but special - this boutique hotel needs to up its game.

The plus side: great location, easy access to Sukothai Historical park, friendly staff and they have tried with the design but.....

the food was poor and we won't even mention the breakfast. How about when you come down at 7 in the evening for a drink before dinner to be greeted by a surly ( very unusually for Thailand) waitress who then just disappears. It was clear that they weren't interested in serving us and the same happened to the couple who came after us and then the other couple. Maybe it was an off day. The dinner was not special - Thai food is usually always special and wherever you go you can normally find good food that is a delight. This was nothing more than acceptable and the service poor.

Breakfast was not a good experience. Limited choice and guess what - no service. Personally I am happy for coffee and toast but given that you are paying for this it would be good to have something that was acceptable. Scrambled eggs with carrots ..it must be a new Thai fusion thing.
The rooms also nee to be worked on, the door to our room didn't close properly and all you had to do to get in was push the door. The hotel management seemed reasonably indifferent to most things.

This hotel could really be something special but poor service and poor management mean that it works for convenience only but don't believe the hype.

Room Tip: check the doors to your room actually close
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Tharaburi is in an excellent location to visit Sukhothai's treasures and that's why we choose it for our two nights stay. We had asked for a quiet room and got one in the row next to the road. Traffic is rushing by from 5:30 a.m. The room was not clean (as one is used to in Thailand) and the bathroom smelt of a sewer. There are 4 lounge beds next to the pool, very limited for a hotel of this size. The restaurant is not so good as some reviewers pretend. It is open all day but most people come for dinner in the evening. The kitchen must have been understaffed because at a certain moment we were over 20 people at 6 different tables all waiting for our orders. When it finally arrived, the food was mediocre.
This is clearly not an address we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntwerpTravelpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently spent two nights at Tharaburi Resort, chosen for its close proximity to the historical park. Located just outside the old city walls, we were able to rent bicycles from the front desk at 50 baht apiece and ride the short distance to the ruins. But beyond the prime location, I struggle to recommend this hotel. I'm sure it was a nice place when it was first built, but it all looks a bit shopworn now. The pool, lush vegetation and fountains try to live up to the resort moniker, but just succeed in breeding mosquitoes. Simply calling yourself a resort doesn't make it so.

We booked a "Grand Deluxe" room that was a little shabby around the edges. The decor was lovely but covered in thick dust. The paint was peeling. The bedside lamp gave my husband an electric shock when he tried to turn it on. The old wooden doors had gaps at the seams so mosquitoes and geckos had free access to our room. We never opened the doors to our small terrace for fear of letting even more creatures in. The bed was comfortable, with high-thread-count sheets, but lacked a mosquito net so we slept with the covers pulled up to our ears. To help combat the problem, the hotel included a bug zapper called the Black Hole. We would plug it in, turn off all the lights and let it work its magic. On the positive side, the bathroom was spotless and the water pressure in the separate rain shower was excellent.

Breakfast, included in the room rate, was served in the hotel's open-air restaurant. The first morning of our stay we were up early for a full day of sightseeing, and the breakfast, though limited in selection, was hot and filling. I ate a heaping bowl of chicken fried rice in addition to eggs made to order. We slept in a little the next day and most things had run out by the time we got to the buffet.

Dinner at the hotel restaurant proved to be the best thing about the place. The larb gai was a particular highlight and cost just 120 baht (around 4 USD). Yes, the curries were a little soupy, but we enjoyed the flavors of both the chicken with young coconut and pork with pineapple and each bowl cost less than 5 USD.

Options are limited in Sukhothai and this is probably one of the better hotels in the area. Just don't expect an actual resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerretingOutTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
914 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We did not stay at the resort, but went for my birthday dinner there as our resort did not have a restaurant.
At the reception we were welcomed with the warmest smiles and reliable and trustworthy information. Even though there was a big family reunion occupying almost all the restaurant we were promised a quiet table - which we later got - and were served the most delicious food.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jobst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete TAHITI
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

On my first visit to the Tharaburi Resort, I had really enjoyed the place, it was nice and peaceful. This is still the case but I would advise this place only for its proximity to the ruins, its main selling point.
One good improvement, the bikes are new and well maintained.

Room Tip: Do not waste money booking the Grand Deluxe, the Deluxe rooms are bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manureva744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 2 days at the archaeological site of Sukhothai. When planning our visit we were looking for an accommodation closed to the ruins so to be free in our plans. The Tharaburi is in a very good location. Just rent a bike at the hotel (50 thb per day) and ride 7 minutes to the site main entrance. Lots of restaurants, shops for food and drink nearby. We were there during low season, so the hotel was not very busy. The staff is very welcoming and following our request, they offered us their best room available, looking on a nice little pond outside. Room and bathroom were very clean, nicely furnished, in-room safe working properly. Swimming pool could be kept cleaner, considering the low occupancy. Breakfast was average. We had a thai massage in house with very good professionals performing it; overpriced compared with Thailand's average but anyway very good quality.
Private taxi pick-ups working perfectly, but count with European prices. Could improve breakfast service but the hotel is surely recommended for their location-quality value.

Room Tip: Main floor rooms nearby pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finchelabarcava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.5 mi away
Legendha Sukhothai
Legendha Sukhothai
#3 of 20 in Sukhothai
849 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
#2 of 20 in Sukhothai
475 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ruean Thai Hotel
Ruean Thai Hotel
#4 of 20 in Sukhothai
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sriwilai Sukhothai
Sriwilai Sukhothai
#5 of 20 in Sukhothai
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Charme Sukhothai
Le Charme Sukhothai
#6 of 20 in Sukhothai
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharaburi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharaburi Resort

Property: Tharaburi Resort
Address: 321/3 Moo 3, Muangkao-Napoh Road | Muang Kao(Old city), Sukhothai 64210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tharaburi Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tharaburi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tharaburi Hotel Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing