We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get a motorbike and go explore.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Si Satchanalai Historical Park

Si Satchanalai Historical Park
Ranked #3 of 31 things to do in Sukhothai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the banks of the Yom River, the ruins of this ancient town that was formerly called “Muang Chaliang” contains more than 134 monuments from the past.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Get a motorbike and go explore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Sukhothai I was concerned the 60km motorbike journey might be too far but as soon as the first temple was soon me I was glad I went. The (101) road is in excellent condition and the other road users are quite respectful. I went on a stinking hot day and apart from a bit of sunburn it was a fantastic day. I must prefer these ruins to Sukhothai. Go and see why.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Causeandeffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    90
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Temples Complexes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

It's an ancient area of temple complexes surrounded by walls. It's a pretty place with some nice scenery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank agechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifull and quit envronment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We liked it better than shukothai because of the beaufull views, the park and the lack of people. So silent, impressive monuments, gathered together in a more comprensive way than Sukhothai.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ph_kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Pay 250B for motobike rental from Sukhothai. But it is worth paying, since the site in Sisatch is so wonderfull, not commercialised like Sukhothai. Not many tourist there. But becarefull of snake inside the park.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank minh_vuonnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Brilliant and worth the trip. I stayed in new Suhkothai and rented a scooter to get here. It was a bit of a haul, but when I arrived I was not disappointed. The condition of the ruins was amazing - so much to see and very spiritual in many senses. I feel people should take that one extra day in Suhkothai and ensure they get out here and enjoy this - it's amazing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank meritagebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Si Satchanalai Historical Park also viewed

Sukhothai, Sukhothai Province
Sukhothai, Sukhothai Province
 
Sukhothai, Sukhothai Province
Sukhothai, Sukhothai Province
 

Been to Si Satchanalai Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing