We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location with an exceptionally homey feel”
Review of Baan Thit

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Thit
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great quiet location with an exceptionally homey feel”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

As previously mentioned, Ease is a retired English teacher so she speaks fluent English. So does her son Oat. They operate 4 rooms out of their home. It's along a little alley off the main road and away from the backpacker lane. Depending on your priorities, it's a good location for a peaceful and quiet night's rest but a further walk away if you're planning to have a huge party at the bars.

Nonetheless my stay was pleasant and interactions with Ease was especially delightful. Traveling about wasn't an issue for me as I rented a bike for 200baht/day at a guesthouse near the bus terminal. I understand though that the bus stop is located just a short walk away. They have bicycles available too but I would personally recommend renting a motorcycle as the historical park is a good 12km away.

I guess one thing that could be improved is the frosted panels on the doors which is a little bit of a turn off if you like having some privacy. Nonetheless again this can be easily mitigated by having something to cover it up.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
seoul
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This house is in the good location and comfortable cozy home.
We arrived at sukhothai bus terminal in 4.30am but they gave us free pickup (in that early morning! Thanks Oat!) and let us early check-in that we could take a rest.
Also we love their help-yourself breakfast. We really did help ourselves happily every morning.
Ease, the lady who hosts this house is very kind and friendly and she's glad to give all good advices about sukhothai.
Because of this family we come to like sukhothai more. We'll miss the cats as well.
The house is renew and beautiful but needs to be cleaned more meticulous. ..and needs the mosquito nets.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happymir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our time at this guest house. The room was good, but the hostess excellent! Lots of personal touches, including taking us to a great place for Thai massages. Clean, nicely renovated, quiet A/C, close to the main road, and friendly atmosphere. There are a few things that, if fixed, would make this place even better. 1) the room doors have a piece of (mostly) frosted glass in the middle - you can see into the room at night when the lights are on :( The glass either needs to be replaced with wood or a mini-curtain put on the door. 2) our bathroom had bad smells off and on coming out of the drains. We advised our hosts about it and they were happy to let us move rooms. 3) the bathrooms are mostly enclosed but have wood-slatted windows at the top. it would be good to put mosquito netting over these windows. 4) the breakfast is very nice, especially the fresh fruit. it would be even better if eggs were offered, as we like to start our day with a more substantial meal (currently only fruit, coffee/tea and toast with butter/jam). to keep it simple, our last guest house just microwaved our eggs - never had it this way but tasted fine.

Important advice: if you take the bus into town, make sure they drop you off at NEW Sukhothai, not Old Sukhothai (12km away). Also have the guest house's phone number handy as our tuk tuk driver had trouble finding the place.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_wanderer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Baan Thit and have nothing but good things to say about our experience. As a simple very inexpensive guest house we did not of course expect luxurious accommodations. The room was a bit small but there were 3 other rooms that were much larger than ours and more suitable for couples. They were quiet and clean.

The real highlight of the place however were our hosts Ease, Ad and their son Othe (Oat) two of whom speak English very well. They all went out of their way to make our stay not only enjoyable but deeply educational as far as Thai life and culture are concerned. Since this was one of our major objectives in visiting Thailand we were delighted. Ease is a former school teacher who is highly respected in the community and seems to know everyone. This directly benefited us as we were given access to a private showing of traditional Thai dance and theater in the temple complex of Sukhothai historical park one night. The problem of returning home was resolved by Othe 's willingness to come and get us. This was one of several examples of our hosts going out of their way for us. We ended up staying a day more than originally planned.

Apart from the suggestive temple ruins the other highlight for us was riding the bikes that Baan Thit makes available to its guests and exploring the rice paddies that are located a close distance from the guest house. We loved this and were surprised that there was no one else exploring like we were. Since New Sukhothai is very developed, busy and not aesthetically appealing at all, it was wonderful to have an easy escape into nature (despite the heat!). The bikes at Baan Thai were superior to bikes we rented in the old city to see the temples.

If you are fine with simple, clean places and are interested to get an authentic experience of a Thai family, Baan this is for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked Baan Thit for 2 nights. My husband and I (seniors) phoned as we wanted to know how easy it was to access the ancient temples and ruins.. Ease (a recently retired English teacher) said that she would be our guide and Oat her son would drive us. This gave us an amazing insight into the history of the area ,the temples and town itself. Both Ease and Oat spoke English well. If you want to make your own way the bus stop is only a few minutes walk and local taxis are plentiful
Baan Thit is a bus or taxi ride from the old city but only a minutes walk from shops cafés and bars. We found Pai Cafe (less than 5 minutes walk) a great place to eat with a relaxing environment, extensive menu, excellent food and cocktails for a very reasonable price. We also tried a local noodle bar recommended by Ease. A delicious noodle soup and drinks for 2 cost a total of 70bht.
Our room at Baan Thit was the biggest. It was basic but very clean and fresh. The bed was extremely comfortable and appeared new. The bathroom was very clean, the shower good and hot and met our needs well. The room even had a small balcony off the bedroom and an extremely effective and quiet air conditioner.
Another bonus was a breakfast of delicious fruit, breads, tea and coffee on the deck. A toaster, kettle and condiments were provided. There is even a refrigerator on the deck with bottled water. I highly recommend Bhaan Thit for facilities, price and most of all the hosts Ease and Oat who go out of their way to provide for all of your needs, Oat drove us the 30 minutes to the airport at 7 am. to ensure that we made our flight. Even if Oat wasn't available to do this I am sure that he or Ease would have arranged alternative transport for us. A memorable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the bigger room and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanetteh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights so that we could see the temples at Sukothai (well worth a visit-absolutely beautiful setting). We were lucky in that Ease (the owner) arranged for her son Oat to pick us up from Phitsanulok (the nearest train station) as he was making the journey home that day-but how kind of her to do that.
We had two rooms, they are basic but very clean, and the showers worked well. The breakfast you help yourself to-fresh fruit and toast. Ease asked if there was anything else we would like for the second day; we said not but she had bought us some coconut desserts and some dried fruits, again, very kind. There is a fridge which you can use with free water inside it.
The house is 5 minutes walk from the main road where there are bars/restaurants etc, but the house itself is quiet, you may get woken up by cockerels in the morning but that is part of it's charm. Ease's husband dropped us at the bus station on the day we left.
Definitely recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Beautiful quiet place to relax after a long day in the temple area. We liked the cosy room very much and - not to forget - the friendly helpful owner. We strongly recommend Baan Thit Guest House. Enjoy the delicious breakfast , the nice clean rooms an the "Nam Tok" Shower.

Poon & Peter

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathmanduquickstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.1 mi away
Pai Sukhothai Resort
Pai Sukhothai Resort
#9 of 44 in Sukhothai
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Georges Hotel
Baan Georges Hotel
#4 of 50 in Sukhothai
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue House Sukothai
Blue House Sukothai
#2 of 44 in Sukhothai
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
213 reviews
2.2 mi away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#8 of 20 in Sukhothai
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sila Resort
Sila Resort
#12 of 50 in Sukhothai
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Thit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Thit

Property: Baan Thit
Address: 31/6 Soi Thessaban Phatthana 3, Jarod Withee Thong Road | Thani, Sukhothai 64000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy set up with 4 self-contained accommodation as your home in Sukhothai , each room reflect a blend of local influence coupled with the comfort of international accommodation and tranquil environment in which friendly service make this place a popular choice for both couple and families alike to enjoy holiday: Free wi - fi: Free bicycle: Comfortable, friendly place to stay: En-suite bathroom with hot shower: Air conditioning ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Baan Thit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing