We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget rooms”
Review of 4T Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
4T Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 55 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place delivers everything that is expected of a small family run guest house. Decent selection of rooms, clean, spacious and all with attached bathroom. In a great location just off the smelly canal and right next to the night market, which is perfect for dinner. Pool was a bit dirty but it is either swim in the pool or the smelly canal. All in all a great place to stay!

I had toast with honey one morning for breakfast and I was ambushed by a swarm of bees, so maybe lay off the honey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

4T is a small, bungalow-style, family run guesthouse in a sort of rural compound on the edge of town, beyond the market. The accommodations are fairly spartan and the bungalows are rather dated, but for 400 baht/night for a fan bungalow for two, they are perfectly acceptable. In particular, the beds and bathrooms are clean (even if the bathroom, which was pretty bare bones to begin with, probably was ready for a remodeling many years ago). Outside, the garden complex is sort of pretty and there is a veranda restaurant. There is free wi-fi (on the veranda), a pool, and a parking area. The owner comes off as a little gruff but is a nice guy. He held my Booking.com reservation until 22:00 with no advance payment (I did call to say I'd be late). If you think about it, it's already a big plus that a 400 baht/night guesthouse accepts reservations, on Booking.com to boot! The owner went to market in the morning and came back with banana sticky rice treats for everyone who happened to be around---a nice gesture. Breakfast on the veranda is extra. Tip: The owner also operates a restaurant for dinner, and although I arrived too late to eat there (the kitchen closes at 21:00), judging from the surprising variety of choices on the menu (which I perused at breakfast), the offering is as good as (and perhaps better than) most places in the not-very-big town of Sukhothai.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mulsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel would've been reasonably difficult to find if we'd been doing it under our own steam but we got a taxi from the bus station so got there easily enough.

We were greeted pleasantly and shown quickly to our room which was small and basic but cheap $10. The water was hot and the room was clean. The only issue was the toilet was not a flushing toilet and paper had to go in the bin. This is absolutely fine but the bin wasn't emptied in the 3 days we were there which was disappointing.

The pool at the hotel was not the best but you can't expect too much for $10. It was long and deep enough to swim but the water wasn't the cleanest.

New town was a couple of minutes walk away and there was a bus stop to the old city outside the nearby 7/11.

As we left, the hotelier apologised for not being very attentive as he was involved in the building of a new restaurant at the hotel which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoungSmudger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in 4T Guesthouse for two nights in a double room with A/C. The room was clean and the bungalows looked nice. Unfortunately, the water in the pool was green, you couldn't even see the bottom. After the first day it looked clearer, but still didn't look inviting.
The owner was ok, but could've been nicer and more helpful. We did not consider this as a big problem. They were rebuilding the restaurant, so they did not serve food when we were there. Also the construction noise began quite early in the morning. But it looks like it's gonna be nice, so I guess it's worth it.
The surroundings were also really nice, a bit like the countryside, quiet and happy people. Besides, you just had to walk 5 minutes to get to restaurants and bars in the (new) center of Sukhothai. Overall, it was a nice stay and the price was really good. If they put more effort in the swimming pool, by keeping the water clean and place a couple of comfortable seats, it would be a big improvement of this guesthouse, but I still would recommend it for now.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berberanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night in the double fan room. The room itself was basic but the surrounding areas and pool were good. Unfortunately our stay was tainted by the difficult and miserable attitude of the staff. They did not smile once and we were made to feel a nuisance for ordering food from the restaurant. Such a shame as it could be a nice place but based on our experience we would not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pic80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

As stated by others this place does not have the best vibe to it. At times we felt like an inconvenience to the staff. I don't have to have my feet kissed but it would be nice to give me a smile when I smile or make an effort to be nice. The rooms are nice, good A/C and clean. The pool was a bit dirty. If the people were nicer this place would get a much higher score.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We got to the town quite late and I finally found room in this GT by the tuk-tuk driver. Location is not convenient - a little bit walk if you are afraid walking back in the evening alone. My room was on the back, really just so so - bed hard, the bath room is not easy to use or you have to take a funny way. You cannot find the words of 'friendly', 'smiles' from the staffs. Next morning I just tried to find other much better places with the similar price. Not receommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.0 mi away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#8 of 21 in Sukhothai
122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sila Resort
Sila Resort
#13 of 55 in Sukhothai
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
EZ House
EZ House
#5 of 55 in Sukhothai
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
At Home Sukhothai
At Home Sukhothai
#3 of 51 in Sukhothai
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pai Sukhothai Resort
Pai Sukhothai Resort
#7 of 51 in Sukhothai
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabaidee Guesthouse
Sabaidee Guesthouse
#8 of 55 in Sukhothai
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4T Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4T Guesthouse

Address: 122 / 7 soi Maeramphun, Sukhothai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range: $10 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 4T Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your 4T Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing