We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, not very clean, not very welcoming”
Review of TR Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TR Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 51 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Our stay was so so, not bad not great. The room was small, not very clean, the bathroom wasn't clean at all, the bed was cosy, the sink room was a bit gross, as the room didn't have any windows it was cave as we didn't like to have the smelly sink room door open. The staff on arrival were friendly, it was some and some really, they weren't overly nice. It's a great place to meet other travellers very social downstairs. The aircon wasn't great and made us both feel pretty rough it was clearly very old and very loud! The restaurant downstairs was ok when it actually served food! 3 out of 6 nights we were there we were told they weren't doing food, very strange! Overall it was ok, unclean, unhelpful staff and crappy aircon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeAsia_explorer_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for TR Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 485 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very nice accommodation in Sukhothai. The room was clean and comfortable, there was good wi-fi connectivity, and the staff were very friendly.

On our first night, we arrived very late, so reception had already closed, but this wasn't a problem at all - someone opened the door for us and showed us to our room. The staff also lent us a book about the Historic Park, which was invaluable when we explored the ruins the next day.

Breakfast was excellent, and the guesthouse is close to the Sukhothai night market, which was a great experience in itself.

The only slight downside was that the room did not have a window, but this wasn't really a problem - it was large enough not to feel claustrophobic, and we were mostly in the room at night anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed in a twin room here for 3 nights and so pleased we did. The owners are lovely and are more than happy to help you.
Good location, just a few minutes walk to the bus stop which takes you directly to the historical park. Also 7/11 right there as well.
There are restaurants right next door for dinner/drinks.
At first we thought the room was a bit weird as the sink is separate to the shower and toilet (the sink is on the balcony you get) but really nothing to worry about as there is a mosquito net so no bugs are there!
Air con was good, which was an essential as it was so hot in Sukothai!

The Breakfast! - so good! If you choose to stay here their banana/or pineapple pancakes are amazing! They are a must have! The plates if fruit they offer is also really good, the portion sizes are v big!

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The guesthouse is well located and fairly priced, breakfast is extra, but tasty and not expensive at all. We were in one of the bungalows at the back of the property and there were a few issues, like the absence of hot water (the heater never worked) and the non existing wifi back there, so we had to go to the lobby area to surf the internet. Also the staff could be a little more communicative and helpful, they just give you the quickest answer with the minimum amount of words to your questions and they do not mind the little details, which I think are the key to excelling in this business (for example, they would not let me make a local phone call and waved me off to a phone booth at the nearby 7-11).
A big plus is the bed, the most comfortable so far, but once all in all it´s the little things that matter and I felt a bit let down there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marckid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

(This would be a 4 star review if not for the owner)

We arrived in Sukhothai planning to stay here, thanks in part to a recommendation in the Rough Guides. There are a few other nearby guesthouses. Checking in, they balked when I showed them a copy of my passport (we live in Thailand and didn't bring them). Saw and chose a fan room, a colorful place with a firm (non-inner-spring) bed and plenty of plugs. We were subjected to the live concert across the river some hundreds of meters away. Not their fault the night market is so noisy, but closing the doors barely blocked out the sound.

The next morning, we got up and attempted to rent a motorcycle from the guesthouse. The check-out lady called over the owner, who wouldn't rent one out without a passport as deposit. That I could provide a copy of my passport, a drivers license, and us leaving our stuff here wasn't enough - he had to have a passport. (We found another shop down the street that rented one for the copy and a 2,000 baht deposit.)

Maybe they're dealing with a number of tourists that cause them to get rather anal about stuff. CCTV cameras in the hallways made me wonder a bit more...

Good price for what you get as far as a room goes, and you're within walking distance of the night market and a 7-11.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneWeirdGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We booked on booking.com and were a bit worried after reading the comments about the service but our stay was great. We arrived on time so maybe it helps but staff was welcoming extended our booking for one more night with no problems. The room was clean and had a/c, great for less than 500 baths per night! the bed was comfi, bathroom had a hot shower and ok the sink is in a separate room and it was abit weird but again not a big deal especially for this price. We had breakfast one morning and the food was good and normal price. One evening they recommended a restaurant as their kitchen was closed and that was an excellent recommendation (Chula for those who want to try amazing Thai food for a very cheap price)
So great experience, very good value for money, central location, I definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pilou1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in TR Guesthouse to make the trip Ayutaya-Chiang Mai better. The guesthouse was clean, double room was good, warm shower, good airco. I would recommend to eat at the guesthouse: good food for good (cheap) prices. Don't go to Chopper Bar, bad quality of food, expensive, cocktails too sweet and a horrible service, very unfriendly and even rude. So better eat at your hostel!:)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.4 mi away
EZ House
EZ House
#5 of 51 in Sukhothai
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabaidee Guesthouse
Sabaidee Guesthouse
#8 of 51 in Sukhothai
178 reviews
6.7 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ban Thai Guesthouse
Ban Thai Guesthouse
#6 of 51 in Sukhothai
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pai Sukhothai Resort
Pai Sukhothai Resort
#9 of 45 in Sukhothai
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue House Sukothai
Blue House Sukothai
#2 of 45 in Sukhothai
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TR Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TR Guesthouse

Address: 27 / 5 Pravet Nakorn Rd., Sukhothai 64000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range: $15 - $18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TR Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are T.R. Guesthouse, which caters to foreigners coming to Sukhothai to view the old ruins and also visit the markets. Our guesthouse has bungalows in the back and a hotel in the front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your TR Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing