We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Bungalow Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Charme Sukhothai
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sukhothai
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Lovely Bungalow Resort”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in connecting bungalows; one for us, one for our children; which was lovely - we had our own room and privacy but with the peace-of-mind that our children were close-by and safe in the next room. The bedrooms and bathrooms are very pretty but very disappointing that the mattresses are rock-hard and of such poor quality - not in keeping with the decor, or the look of the bed, which deceivingly looks as though it should be very comfortable. The other thing we found disappointing was the selection of television channels - nothing among them of interest that you would want to watch (channels more suited to a business hotel), which sounds a sad thing to be disappointed about, after-all you don't go on holiday to watch television, but with young children and early-ish bedtimes it would have been nice to have the option of a nice movie channel or access to DVD's to either watch a family film together in the evening or just watch something after the children had gone to bed. The hotel grounds are lovely....free-running bunnies were a favourite sight at breakfast. Breakfast was very nice, self-serve buffet and good quality - a nice start before a day of cycling. Very conveniently placed for the historical park and Old Sukhothai, whether cycling or on foot.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    144
    78
    16
    12
See reviews for
69
148
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Bungalow overlooking lake was beautiful, the Mosquitos thought that too, so best to take a repellent. Breakfast was adequate evening buffet was excellent with freshly cooked food to order, by helpful friendly staff. My husband hired a push bike for 50baht per day to visit the Sukhothai historical park, which was only a 10 minute journey from the hotel. If you are looking for a livelier night life, get a tuk tuk to the pubs etc, which is about 20 minutes away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank finandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

After much research this hotel seemed the best out of the bunch in Sukhothai. Booking via the website was straight forward and easy, however, when I wanted to add another room and change some configurations I then found contact with the hotel group a little non existent. I decided to be "Sanuk" about the situation and decided to wait until I had arrived. As there were 4 of us I booked the hotel van to collect us from the airport. There was a lovely man holding a sign with our names on it. The hotel is about 40 minutes from Sukhothai Airport however it is very close to the historical site. The resort is quirky and we really liked all the colours used and the layout of the cottages and rooms. We had two cottages close to each other, one for our children and another for ourselves. The bathrooms were adequate and whilst the beds were a little hard the rooms themselves were accommodating. The hotel were able to accommodate us with bikes, though a little worn but satisfactory, tour guides and meals. Sitting in the "library" having a semi cold beer was enjoyable. The restaurant had an extensive menu but I am unsure as to how much is fresh and how much is frozen. The pool was enjoyable after a day of riding bikes. Once you have paid for hiring a bike you can come and go with them as you please. One of the historical parks in 5 - 10 minutes away from the hotel. When you arrive, ensure that you have researched your interests as thoroughly as possible. After spending a day traversing around the historical parks closer to the airport, it was only upon my return that I discovered this was also the best place to buy pottery and jewellery. Sukhothai was a wonderful relaxing experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CleoBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a bit far away when you walked from historical park. If you back to it after six, please bring along with your torch. You can hear many dogs barking and stare around you. They work at night and sleep in the morning and afternoon. Just walk straight and don't stop, you will be safe.

The room is clean, but there is no bottle water, toothpaste, toothbrush or slipper provide in the room.

So, better to bring it yourself!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnyexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at Le Charme Sukhothai, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear funnyexperience,

Thank you for your recent stay at Le Charme Sukhothai and sharing your experience.

In fact our resort is located approx. 900 meters from the Sukhothai Historical Park, the UNESCO World Heritage site. We are indeed the closest resort to the historical site. There might be some small home stays that locate closer but for the same level of accommodation providing comfort, room cleanliness, air-con, jacuzzi swimming pool and free WiFi internet, we are positive that we are the best one around the area.

We are sorry that you did not find the two bottles of drinking water we normally provide inside the room. We have notified our staff to recheck more thoroughly for the complimentary items in the guest rooms.

Thank you again for your comment and we hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Le Charme Sukhothai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, affordable and well maintained. We spend 2 nights there and all in all, very good. For a good meal, better go to town where you will have better choices and flavors. Sukhothai is very little, so getting to the center is very easy, ask for a Tuk Tuk or you can even walk, it is less than 1 km. Little tip, ensure to have cash to settle the bill as the credit cad are not all accepted.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SamAtlantis_Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSerene, General Manager at Le Charme Sukhothai, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear SamAtlantis_Bkk,

Thank you for your stay at Le Charme Sukhothai Resort and sharing your opinions and compliments to other readers.

We do actually accept major credit cards like VISA and MASTER CARD. We are unsure that you mentioned about the payment at our resort or outside the resort.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Le Charme Sukhothai Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed here with my partner as part of a group tour of northern Thailand, so I didn't book this place specifically and I'm not sure what was paid.

The rooms were nice enough, with mossie nets easy to set up. The bathroom was nicely decorated, but the hot water was tepid at best, and very low pressure. The staff were polite.

The food was nice, but the restaurant ran out of many of the ingredients needed to make cocktails, which was a shame; we were also encouraged to leave the bar by 10pm every night, namely by them turning off the lights or serving us half-sized drinks for the same price. The resort seems to do a lot of business with tour groups, so I was surprised that they were discouraging us from spending additional money with them on food and drinks.

The resort is situated over a number of decorative ponds - so take plenty of bug repellent! I got bitten many times sitting at the bar in the evening. The pool is nice, if a little cold, but gets plenty of sun during the day. Short ride to Sukhotai itself, and great for accessing the historic sites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice and clean bungalows around lilly ponds. The place is really charming, and the staff is nice and helpful. Nice bike ride to the historic park. Good breakfast. Hot water was rather cold, but it is the only minus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.6 mi away
Legendha Sukhothai
Legendha Sukhothai
#3 of 20 in Sukhothai
842 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tharaburi Resort
Tharaburi Resort
#6 of 20 in Sukhothai
313 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
Sukhothai Heritage Resort
#2 of 20 in Sukhothai
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ruean Thai Hotel
Ruean Thai Hotel
#4 of 20 in Sukhothai
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sriwilai Sukhothai
Sriwilai Sukhothai
#5 of 20 in Sukhothai
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Charme Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Charme Sukhothai

Property: Le Charme Sukhothai
Address: 9 / 9 Napho-Khirimas Rd | Muangkao, Sukhothai 64210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Charme Sukhothai 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Charme Sukhothai Resort is nestled at an ideal location amidst the old town of Sukhothai and just a kilometer away from the Sukhothai Historical Park, declared as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Charme Sukhothai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing