We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
At Home Sukhothai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights here and found the staff very helpful and friendly. Nice to see breakfast is included in the price. Enjoyed the muesli yoghurt. Free WIFI. Good food in the restaurant too. Quiet location. We stayed at the back near the pond in a groundfloor room, which is really standard but with aircon and a large bathroom. Not a lot of charm though (the room). Dining area then again has a warm family like atmosphere. Good value for money and would return here for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heivaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Beautiful teak house with relaxing well-tended grounds. Friendly and helpful staff. All the meals I ate were fantastic, including the free breakfasts. I stayed for 4 days a extremely reasonable rate considering how nice it was there. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwhrEvrywhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

good location
nice chillout garden
fantastic cuisine
As a summary great back pack guesthouse
Plan a night in sukhotai is enough for sightseeing.
Fair price amd rooms offer all you need.
Can only recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just-jack-on-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are 3 mexicans that came with no big expectations, but honestly we loved the place. We felt like in a nice grandma Thai Big house. The guest house is really cute from the outside and comfortable and the people is really nice too.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elpiedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Nice wooden room. Full of charm. I had a room with a fan and a private bathroom. Very clean. Good food and excellent breakfast. Was so happy to have muesli with yoghourt!!! My Swiss side is talking here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

At home Sukhotai is probably one of the best places where you can stay the night in Sukhothai. It is a beautiful wooden house, nicely decorated and the family running the hotel are very friendly. Also the food (try the veg tempura) is yummie. The house is not very well isolated (as it is made of single wooden panels), so it can get a bit noisy at times, but otherwise it wouldnt be such a charming place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robjedesbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My sister and I stayed here two nights and really loved it. It has wonderful relaxed atmosphere and the woman behind the desk (owner I think) was the sweetest most helpful person we've come across. She helped us organise everything we needed while there and accommodated every request. Would certainly stay here again.

The positives....
- The good vibes and excellent service.

- There's a nice little open eating area near reception and you can get great food here pretty much any time of day. I'm vegetarian and they catered to that with no trouble. Had some great pad thai and green curry. Home made breakfast muesli with fresh fruits was also really delish.

- They can also organise someone to come and do thai massage in your room, which was neato!

- at 400 baht each per night (800 B total for the room) the price was so ridiculously good for such a pleasant stay.


The negatives...

- as some have mentioned, the beds are reeeeeally hard. My first night I didn't sleep great - second night was better as I got used to it. If you're not used to a firm bed... it's kind of one up from the floor. I probably couldn't stay a whole week on a bed like this, but a few days was no trouble.

- cleanliness in the room and downstairs was excellent. In the bathroom there was mould in the grout between tiles (tiles themselves were clean). That might sound pedantic, but hey, I'm part German...

- location is good for new sukhothai I think (didn't really venture into the new city) but it's about 14km away from old sukhothai. Easy enough to catch a bus there (hotels there are more expensive) or do what we did and do a cycling tour (we did it with 'sukhothai bicycle tour' and had an excellent time)

- as others have also mentioned, it's a beautiful old wooden house and, with thin walls, doesn't keep secrets well. Be prepared to share a few sounds with others.

Overall we really liked this place. Coming straight from Bangkok it was a breath of fresh air and wonderful 2 days.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannes_luebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
7.2 mi away
Tharaburi Resort
Tharaburi Resort
#7 of 21 in Sukhothai
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ruean Thai Hotel
Ruean Thai Hotel
#5 of 21 in Sukhothai
384 reviews
0 mi away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#8 of 21 in Sukhothai
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Vieng Tawan Sukhothai Guesthouse by Thai Thai
0.7 mi away
Blue House Sukothai
Blue House Sukothai
#2 of 51 in Sukhothai
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sila Resort
Sila Resort
#13 of 55 in Sukhothai
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Home Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Home Sukhothai

Address: 184/1 Wichian-chamnong Rd | Muang, Sukhothai 64000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Sukhothai
Price Range: $16 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — At Home Sukhothai 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in new Sukhothai town, At Home guesthouse, the newly-renovated 50-year-old wooden house, with easy access facilities; public transport, banks, convenient stores, morning and night markets, etc. Our guesthouse is located in a spacious garden with a lotus pond, so we do not only offer a place to stay, but also a place to relax after your long day. We offer our guests 11 rooms, fan or air-conditioned, with all hot water shower en suit bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your At Home Sukhothai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing