We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special - Okay Rooms”
Review of Varin Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Satun
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Varin Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Satun
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing Special - Okay Rooms”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in varin resort for 4days. We didnt book in advance and we didnt know it was chinese new year.. the whole koh lipe is fully booked. This is the only hotel that has vacancy during that time so we took it even it was expensive.

First day we got the garden view standard rooms.. and the rest of the days they moved us to bungalow room w/c they say a better room.


Pros:

Located at the busiest beach in koh lipe which is pattaya.
They have buffet breakfast w/c is a mixture of thai and western cuisine. (just okay..)
They give you water, new set of toiletries when you ask for it at the reception.
They have flat screen cable tv ( english movie channels)
Soft bed & pillows
Good A/C
Hair Blower

Cons:
The bungalow room looks cozier than the standard but it smells like feet when the aircon is off.
Bad Shower (it gets too hot / too cold)
No free wifi you have to pay for 200baht for 1day use of wifi (almost all the hotels around the area offers free wifi)
Just 1 girl at the reception can speak english.. and there are 4 or 5 of them.
no safety box




  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    46
    20
    18
See reviews for
15
58
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was high season and the island was packed full. A friend told me about Varin so we called and booked a budget room at 800 baht per night. It was strange bacause they asked for a deposit of 30% by bank transfer as confirmation so I did that. When we arrived we were asked to pay in full upfront which was even stranger. I later see why they do that. Once on the island you can find better places and move out of Varin but they only refund 70% of any unused days.
The budget rooms were terrible. paper thin walls you could hear everything. Noisy fan and old and tired looking and not the cleanest. If you want the room cleaning you have to tell the reception before 10am.
The breakfast was poor and basic with warm juice and bad coffee. The staff overall were friendly.
The aircon cottages were much nicer but cost 3000 per night.
After 3 days we left and went to Varin Village on sunrise beach. Far better value for a bamboo beach hut.
Their are far better places to stay on the island.

Room Tip: Dont take a budget room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Satun hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very rude manager, bad service, terrible breakfast, no air condition, electricity stop working and we run around and search for somebody to help us in the middle of the night. No compensation at all, he was unfriendly and told us to go away and not even one THB back, don't go there!!!!!! The staff is terrible and speak no English..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Searay260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If i visit koh lipe again, i would stay here again. Its pretty basic shack, but right on sunrise beach.....can't ask for more for 400 bhats per night. Toilet was clean, the light in the room was dingy, but no complains.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ashagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

really rally bad staff greating so bad no friendly i stay at varin beach on 25 to 27 price is ok location is better but out off staff the door is so bad houseskeeping talking with guest very very bad bad bad bad bad and very very rudly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harobbyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

This really is a sticking option to stay at. Expect no service whatsoever. They have a concrete set up on the main beach with staff that really are quite useless- especially those on reception, and at their beach bungalows on the other side, the toothless miserable old manager who collects the money just walks around clicking his fingers making 'money' signs at you demanding payment with no courtesy or manners. It is clear that these guys are just in it for the money - a shame when such a wonderful spot. A lovely island, but a hell of a lot better places to stay. Avoid!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awptravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Value for money-with breakfast
Location near to Lipe walking street.
Staff was helpful
just in front the beach pattaya, sunrise 10minutes, sunset beach 20minutes.

not all the room beach front, need to speak slowly with their staff due to language barrier

but overall no problem..

Room Tip: near to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank junkopile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Satun
0.3 mi away
Mali Resort Pattaya Beach Koh Lipe
0.5 mi away
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
Ten Moons Lipe Resort
#1 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Z-Touch Lipe Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Green View Beach Resort
Green View Beach Resort
#14 of 18 in Ko Lipe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lipe Beach Resort
Lipe Beach Resort
#1 of 57 in Ko Lipe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Idyllic Concept Resort
Idyllic Concept Resort
#5 of 18 in Ko Lipe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varin Beach Resort

Property: Varin Beach Resort
Address: Pattaya Beach, Satun 91000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Satun Province > Satun
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Satun
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Varin Beach Hotel Satun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing