We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
52
77
36
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
52
77
36
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house air con scenic location view of the river canoe guesthouse temple boats reservoir pier toilet scooter bargain offerings forest
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 189 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

P Guesthouse was a much needed break for us. It boasts a beautiful view but the owners know this. The food is over priced for what you get and the customer service needs a little work. We could only afford the rooms with a shared bathroom so this altered our experience too. They do offer canoes, bicycles and motorbikes for hire and also run trek tours which we still may do as we're still in the area. All in all, a quiet relaxing spot, but I recommend you eat elsewhere. There's lots of choice.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_auger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We initially went to this guesthouse becuase of all the great recommendations, but ended up staying elsewhere because... the staff were not friendly, there was an atmosphere of putting on a show for guests (i.e. porter with painted face) without really caring about them.
The rooms seemed nice enough, but on better inspection they were very dark and musty smelling and the windows either did not open or there was no mosquito screen so that you could not effectively air the room.
The restaurant seems more expensive than warranted at a gueshouse, and the location although it has a fantastic view, is quite far from the Mon bridge so that if you do not have your own wheels you depend on transport or walk quite a distance.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Ruti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

was recommended this place and needed 3 of the 250 baht a night rooms...these come with a fan, 2 beds and an awesome balcony where we all enjoyed early morning coffee and afternoon cold beers.bathrooms were shared,but spacious, clean, and unique stonework.
we hired 3 of their motorscooters which were great, and did their elephant/raft tour which we thoroughly enjoyed(usually not big fans of"tours")
about 2kms walk into town...fantastic coffee shop opposite the entrance, and an amazing bakery just about 400ms up the road...this is run by an orphanage and your purchases help fund the orphanage. We never ate at P guesthouse, so cant comment on this.
It was the only place in 6 weeks of travel that we never got a towel, which would have been lovely after we arrived home sodden, and cold ..our tour being caught in a massive downpour!
In saying that.....750 baht for 6 of us cant be beat, and we were reluctant to move on after 5 nights.Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in a fan room,shared bathroom with a fantastic view over the lake. It had a balcony which made up for the dark room.
The shared bathroom is clean, but with squat toilets.
You can tell the attitude of the owner is to get more money from their guests at any opportunity- 30thb for a towel, 20thb laundry per item, 10thb to call a taxi, is just a few examples of their desperate attempt to make a few more baht.

The restaurant is overpriced and the quality of food and service could be better. Take a short walk to the bakery for your breakfast, tasty, good value, and for a great cause.

Overall the room was good value at 250thb, but dissapointed with the lack of small touches that make up a great guesthouse.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letsseetheworld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

stay in their fan room for one nite. it was cheap, 250 baht for a big bed, a private balcony with lake view, free wifi. the weather in Sangkhlaburi was not hot so a fan room is enough for me. they does nt provide towel and toilet roll for u so remember to bring one. Their urinal bowl was broken when i stay there, it makes the male toilet extremely smelly. Location was OK, u can take a short cut to Mon Village, but it was far from the bus terminal, nearly 1.7KM. You can always hired a motor taxi to travel between the guest house and the bus terminal for 30 baht.
The staff does not smile all the time.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews