We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel, with unorganized staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Topland Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a mid- 3 star hotel, and as other comment suggested, this hotel has seen its better day.
Our stay is superior room on 10th floor, viewed to the south. The room is quite a bit tired, but nothing too wrong with it.
Equipped with LED 32" TV is a plus, even in the basis category room.
The bed is comfy, the restroom is spacious, but again, a bit tired.
Breakfast is okay. A variety of food to select from.
Location cannot be beaten. Great for around town going.

The only problem with our stay is not the hotel & facility itself, but the staffs!
As we book our hotel via booking.com, our reservation didn't state directly if we got a two bed or a king size bed - room.
We need a king size bed, so we did call to the hotel the night before we travel, and the staff "confirmed" that we would have a king size bed room for our stay.
The next day we travelled all the way from bangkok for 5 hrs, just to realized that we got the two small bed room for our stay!
The staff could not help anything, he just said that there's nothing left in the hotel since its the peak period.
I then asked why last night your staff "confirmed" I've got the king size bed room, the staff replied he "didn't see any note or request mentioned that" !
All they could do is just send a staff to move the two bed together, we have no choice but to agree. However, after another 30 min waiting for the staff, still no staff show up for the bed moving.
So, we need to call to the staff at front desk again to urge them please come up.

All in all, I won't go back to this hotel again. For the money, there's plenty of betters hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 606 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my second stay at The Topland hotel the first was a couple of years ago and i think the hotel has gone down hill since and shows no signs of improving.
I arrived about lunchtime and i was told very abrubtly that my room was not ready and that i should come back in 30 mins, no apology, ok i know check in time is after 3pm but a nice smile goes a long way or the offer of a coffee or soft drink would have been nice, other people arriving were given a free welcome drink, but not me.
The hotel is attached to a large department store so i went there to buy a coffee and wait when i came back about 45mins later my room was ready but still no smiles from reception staff.
The room itself was quite big with a decent size bathroom with plenty of hot water and a good view out of the panoramic window.
Breakfast was very good with a large range of foods and fruit.
Probably the best thing this hotel had was the Spa. I had a very good massage at a resonable price in very nice surroundings finished off with a nice shower.
All in all i think the Topland is a very ordinary hotel which needs alot of work doing to it to bring it up to a good standard, think the next time i am in Phitsanulok i will look for somewhere different.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiffaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms were basic but clean, central location the breakfast and dining was good, plenty of choice the swimming pool was a little basic. a good base to explore the region. managed to get a good nights sleep,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel was a 3 star with 2 star room. The bathroom toilet seat was loose, torn bed sheet and wallpaper. The ceiling was infested with ladybirds but there was no opening window? The front door of the hotel went straight onto the main street. There is access from the lobby into an adjoining shopping mall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex-pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pitsanulok Thailand, is not exactly what you would call on the tourist-track so small towns like this generally do not offer superior accomodations. So if you are willing to accept that a smaller town is not going to offer the newest, most chic and modern then you will probably find that the Topland Plaza Hotel is the nicest hotel in Pitsanulok.

As other reviewers have noted the lobby is beautiful fully decked out on the splendor of grand hotels of the past with chandeliers, terrazzo floors and dark stained wood reception desk. It really is a magnificent first impression. The staff was efficient and friendly and had us checked in quickly with welcome drinks.

Doors from the lobby take you directly into a nice shopping venue for those that need to get a few more buys in before retiring for the evening.

A nice small lounge is located on floor two up a nice grand staircase off of the lobby with reasonably priced drinks that don't gouge your wallet as some properties do. Two beers were about $6 US, most reasonable when compared to US hotel chains.

The rooms were large by Asian country standards and although may not be to some reviewers taste, they are decorated in the style keeping with the traditional look of the hotel. Heavy drapes and dark stained wood are the order of the day.

The rooms are clean and well appointed with the features you would expect in a standard room, no flat screen TV's, however they do offer a minibar, in room water boiler in the room.

The bathroom was clean with granite counters (an attempt to refresh the room I am sure) with dark moldings around the mirrors, once again in keeping with the traditional styling of the room.

Breakfast was average, nothing exceptional and service was minimal. It was a little difficult to get coffee as the staff was catering to a group of business travelers, perhaps their rooms didn't include breakfast?

Although as many other reviewers have said the hotel could use some refreshing, to which I would agree, I do not think that you will find a better property in which to stay in Pitsanulok.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the rear of the property otherwise you have only a view of the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We got off the train from Ayutthaya at about 7:30 PM (3 1/2 hours journey, 3 1/2 hours late) and took a tuk tuk to Topland Hotel. Check in was fast, anhe roomsd we each got a small slip of paper giving us our individual credentials for wifi log in.

We had booked a superior double through Agoda. Our room was on the fourteenth floor with a wonderful view over the city. (Rooms opposite ours would have views of Wat Yai, which is less than a kilometer from the hotel). Our room was large, with twin beds, a mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities, and a large TV. (You need to be patient and flip through a lot of channels before you find the English ones).

The bathroom has a tub and a shower, however, the tub is a little high and may be difficult to get in and out of. Hot water is available throughout the day, though it tends to run out during the peak bath times of 8 AM.

We didn't want to eat dinner at the hotel restaurants, so we went into the shopping cneter that's built around the hotel. The neighbourhood tends to close down early, and the only place that we found open at 9 PM was, unfortunately, a KFC. The next couple of nights we walked down to the night market - about 3 KM away - and ate there. The free breakfast is huge with Western, Thai, Chinese and Japanese counters.

The reception staff have very little English, but, with hand actions, lots of repetitions and smiles, we got through to them and they got through to us.

While the buses to Sukhothai do cross the hotel, we thought it wiser to go to the bus terminus and take a bus from there. Our standard technique of looking lost and helpless worked well in the bus terminus, and we had no problems getting on to the correct bus to Sukhothai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepgoswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As soon as you cross the door of the hotel you can see it must have been a hotel with great aspirations some time ago. It's quite 80s in its taste, however, it is still good enough for a night or to. Don't get me wrong: it is not crappy, just like a pretty old grandpa who never changed his bathtub because it was so stylish in the 60's. Also note: those expecting to find things like at home: this hotel is quite "local", so it may be close to the thai local concept of luxury and taste, but not to the western one. This is something you will see in the breakfast, which is quite Asian-oriented (something I loved, by the way, but not everybody is ready to try a guts soup early in the morning). they also have western stuff to it but you can somehow feel it's not the standard.
As for the rest, there is a mall literally inserted in the hotel (or the opposite way, I'm not sure) adn the surroundings are not nice but for a pretty interesting temple and market.
I would say this is a useful hub for tourist buses visiting Shukothai -and you can see the buses arriving and departing in a factory scale.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BauldelaPiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phitsanulok hotels
1.5 mi away
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
#2 of 47 in Phitsanulok
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grand Riverside Hotel
The Grand Riverside Hotel
#4 of 47 in Phitsanulok
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayara Grand Palace Hotel
Ayara Grand Palace Hotel
#27 of 47 in Phitsanulok
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rueanphae Royal Park
Rueanphae Royal Park
#11 of 47 in Phitsanulok
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poonsook Resident
Poonsook Resident
#5 of 47 in Phitsanulok
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#12 of 47 in Phitsanulok
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topland Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topland Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: 68/33 Akathodsarod Road, Phitsanulok 65000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phitsanulok Province > Phitsanulok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Price Range: $33 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Topland Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Topland Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topland Hotel And Convention Centre
Topland Hotel Phitsanulok
Topland Hotel Convention Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing