We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and last time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pailyn Phitsanulok Hotel
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First and last time!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I've slept on several hotels/guesthouses all over the world! This was the most dissapointed one till now and i've seen a lot. I'm not that picky!
First i had to laugh about the room, but then;

-no hot water from the shower
-blood on the fridge (mini bar)
-the airco was more like a heater
-all beds in Thailand were not that comfortable, but this was the worst! It was very hard, if you were sleeping on the ground.
-The hotel was almost empty (like a ghost hotel (that was the nicest part)
-The staff hardly speak English

We asked if they could do something about the hot water. The only thing she said was : there working on it.... Both nights no hot water.

At 1 o'clock in the night, i was through with it, and went downstairs to the reception. They gave us a better room with airco, but also without hot water. The bed was a bit better and we had lot of furniture :D

It's better to stay in a guesthouse!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tilliedwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
4
18
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ravenna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed here as we had been recommended the train as a means of getting up to the ruins of Sukhothai from Bangkok and the nearest town on the train line is Phitsanulok. We did some research into hotel options in the town and we came to the conclusion that we would have to 'rough it' for the two nights we were here. And rough it we did: yellowing and stained (and not clean) headboard, slightly stained (though clean) sheets, badly stained and worn towels, a thin film of dust everywhere, not enough electric points and 'old style', a general 'falling apart' feel to the place... staff often uncommunicative, lift doors with no sensor (just make sure you don't get stuck in them, very painful). Everything is old, out-dated, there is the idea of a past era of glory which is long gone. Catering for tourists arriving in bus loads and leaving early the next day (therefore breakfast and check-out horribly chaotic). They gave us a room with twin beds when we had requested a double, so they had to change it - not a problem as they had lots of empty rooms, just incompentence. There was no in-room safe (which there should have been), we didn't see the pool, no internet access, we had the impression that the door service was only for tips, only Thai TV channels, the shower was over the bath (but at least it drained!) The man at reception was helpful and the laundry service was cheap and efficient, so there were some plus points. I would say if you need to stay in Phitsanulok you'll probably find this is the best value for money, but if you're here to see Sukhothai I would advise against the train/Phitsanulok part. Thai trains are simply a waste of time. Dirty, uncomfortable long journeys where you have no choice regarding 1st/2nd/3rd class - they run according to the time of day. ie, first class at night, 2nd class in the afternoon, 3rd class in the morning. As a result we had to travel third class - it was practically free as we paid the equivalent of 72 cents for the two of us to travel for hours but it really was hours - 11 hours of no air-conditioning, black dust flying through the air, no usable toilet... We met others who'd taken the bus up from Bangkok, which, as long as you travel in the daytime is a great option. Clean, safe, reliable, cheap, air-conditioned, civilised and still full of Thais so not just for Western tourists, and, most importantly, will take you directly to Sukhothai where you can find infinitely better accommodation than in Phitsanulok and be so much closer to the absolutely fantastic historical park of Sukhothai. All round a much better option!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English-italiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phitsanulok hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed at the Pailyn Phitsanulok for a few days in December 2010 during my travels across Thailand. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and thought the staff were just lovely. The hotel is within walking distance of the Nan River, myriad of food stalls and Phitsanulok markets. A very pleasant experience indeed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki_richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

This hotel cost us £25 for a night (breakfast included) via Agodo and for the price I have absolutely nothing to complain about. The building is a bit of a concrete monstrosity and a bit tired inside but our room was large and clean with tv and minibar. The bathroom was clean and functional - quite frankly, to complain at this price would be churlish.

The hotel is withing 15-20 minutes walk of the nightmarket and 15-20 walk to the Wat Phra Si Ratana Temple, Phitsanolok's main tourist attraction so is quite well situated.

We had a fun evening people spotting in the bar drinking not particularly authentic (but cheap) cocktails watching a German tour party doing the Twist, a sales rep reward do and the tourist Tuk Tuk convoys going passed the window - it had a bit of Twin Peaks feel but was highly amusing.

The staff were enthusiastic and pleasant, we were offered free parking without asking and half the staff came out to stop the traffic to allow us to exit the hotel's parking. The breakfast was uninspiring but plentiful. The only downside was that the guy in the room next to us left his tv on all night (we had an adjoining door) but it was the fiery tom yum goong that we had at a riverside restaurant that caused me sleeplessness rather than the tv.

If you have an open mind and an appreciation of value I would recommend both this hotel and Phitsanulok - it is off the beaten tourist track and the people seem to appreciate travelers that actually take the time to look around the town. A leisurely visit to Wat Phra Si Ratana is recommended to really take in the madness surrounding the temple - mostly from Thai tourists.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infra_Dread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phitsanulok hotels
0.5 mi away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#19 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Poonsook Resident
Poonsook Resident
#4 of 46 in Phitsanulok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Riverside Hotel
The Grand Riverside Hotel
#6 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ayara Grand Palace Hotel
Ayara Grand Palace Hotel
#11 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
#2 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Topland Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pailyn Phitsanulok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pailyn Phitsanulok Hotel

Property: Pailyn Phitsanulok Hotel
Address: 38 Baromatrailokanart Rd, Phitsanulok 65000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phitsanulok Province > Phitsanulok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 46 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pailyn Phitsanulok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pailyn Phitsanulok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pailyn Hotel Phitsanulok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing