We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very interesting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phra Si Ratana Temple (Wat Yai)

Phra Si Ratana Temple (Wat Yai)
Book In Advance
More Info
$171.70*
and up
Phi Phi Island Full-Day Tour by Speedboat including Lunch from Phuket
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Phitsanulok
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1357 and later developed into a monastery, this temple now houses Phitsanulok’s most revered statues of Lord Buddha.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
315 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Impressive influence of gothic churches, interesting site, don't miss it. Stroll around, take your time to get a good impression.
I hate it that TripAdvisor forces me to write at least 50 tokens when I am able to do with less. Huh.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    107
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“MOST BEAUTIFUL BUDDAH IN THAILAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I first viewed this Wat from my room in the Topland Hotel.
Our guide said that Phra Buddha Chinnart in this Wat is often considered to be the most beautiful in Thailand. This Buddha is second most revered after the Emerald Buddha in Bangkok. Within the Wat (dating from the 14th century) there are also other sites to see. A banyan tree has been honored with various colored ribbons tied around the trunk. There are displays for the various animal representations used in the Chinese calendar. There are various other very large Buddhas. One of the most interesting statues in the Wat looks like a coffin, with the feet sticking out and other figures praying close by. This Wat is well worth a visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank sssnancysss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norddeutschland
Level Contributor
781 reviews
464 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 597 helpful votes
“Stunning Buddha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

As Thailand is not a country with a lack of Buddhas it takes something to be a very special one. This one certainly is with the slihght smile and the deep blue background against which the gold becomes very deep and saturated. If you are in the vicinty, a must see.

And if you are there anyway a walk along the river is a very nice experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Florian254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Maybe the most beautiful temmple and buddha in Thailand. Its just breathtaking when you enter the temple! The architecture is stunning and the ornaments are just marvelous. If you are around Phitsanulok you have to visit Wat Yai!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must see in Philok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have been here. We went with Thai friends prior to Songkran. A lot of people were there but you could walk around the grounds and view the Wat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honkin243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phra Si Ratana Temple (Wat Yai) also viewed

Phitsanulok, Phitsanulok Province
Phitsanulok, Phitsanulok Province
 
Phitsanulok, Phitsanulok Province
Phitsanulok, Phitsanulok Province
 

Been to Phra Si Ratana Temple (Wat Yai)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing