We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad experience due to incompetence night staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ayara Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Kløfta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bad experience due to incompetence night staff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

As the title say, we booked the hotel through Olotel and it was confirmed booking. I was so sure that nothing could go wrong so when i arrived to Phitsanulok i spend most of my time visiting relative and shopping. When we check in at the hotel night time around 21:00 my little daugther at 3 1/2 already tired and was looking forward to night sleep. To our suprised they told us that they are full booked that our hotel voucher is not valid and they never have any contact from the booking site. We was told to leave and find other hotel they blamed the online booking of scam. Since we already paid for the 3 days stay. I was upset of course but i though Olotel was at fault.

Carrying my daughter me and my wife drove around the city at night, then we found nice newly build hotel call Wang Jan near the river. But that another review. After settle down i called Swizerland which the site is from and after 10 mins of waited i explained my situation, but conversation was cut off due to phone cost. Olotel was great though they called the hotel. And next morning i got a call from the Ayara Grand Palace that it was mistake on the hotel part. Which i suspected that they sold our room out to other guess even though we already paid for it for 3 days but since we did not check in early they just sold it out.

They compensate 1 night stay at Wang Jan. Then asked us to drive over to Ayara for our 2 nights stay. Gave us free dinner as apologize. Which all in all is mix feeling. The reception that chased us out never apologize to us and avoid eyes contact the whole time i was there. The manager or promoter lady that called us was very nice though.

Now for the Hotel as whole, the hotel carter more toward Thai. With open karaoke music at night ( small non business like ) The Buffet was not good and plain, normal egg bacon. Bread and old jam. The location is in a soi. Not far from night food stall area but still far from tourist area.

The room is trendy but aging, the pool is dirty and small. stayed at the by the pool side. Over all i would give hotel a solid 3 points as Average but due to the episode where i carry my daughter back to the car and drive around town at night for new hotel due to mistake made by the hotel themself and phone cost for me to call international call i dock 1 point and give it 2 points.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    49
    45
    12
    12
See reviews for
23
71
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Laval
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

After a day visiting the rice fields, the temple of the reclining Buddha, the Monkey Temple in Lopburi, we got to Phitsanuloke and stayed one night at the Ayara.

What a nice choice!

We got a very nice spacious room, very clean, with the usual two bottles of water in the fridge.

The check-in was fast and the luggage got to the room quickly.

The restaurant offered very good food and the restaurant staff was very attentive and polite.

What a nice hotel!

Room Tip: Enjoy a good night's sleep for the next day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank espa000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Not a good hotel at all. But we've got to recognize that the town is very small. Probably the best in the town??
Modern decor. Not an outstanding food and no body speak english. Free wi-fi connection though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOLPHINAAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phitsanulok hotels

London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

There is no real reason to come to Phitsanulok except to spend a day visiting the ruined city of Sukothai, or perhaps as a pit stop between Bangkok and Chaing Mai. There is nothing specifically wrong with the city but it lacks anything of great interest.
This hotel is very modern and bills itself as 'trendy'. Rooms are fine and clean but ours boasted a bright orange contraption about 12 feet high fixed to the wall, which proved to a narrow chair on which one could sit and admire the opposite wall. The shower had a window with a Venetian blind and, er, the blind is operated from inside the room not from inside the bathroom. Great if you like surprising your partner while they're showering, i suppose.
Staff were friendly and helpful but spoke very little English. Decent restaurant popular with locals.
They offer a free transfer to the bus station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francais au Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I was very satisfied, the bed is little bit hard but overall the room was very cleaned. The Internet wireless working very well no bug. Felt very welcome at the front desk. For smoker no problem they have smoking room. Large sliding door which could be open, pretty quiet area.
Breakfast included, very basic and limited. FORGET the restaurent it is very bad for lunch or dinner, food not fresh. But for 35.00 $ CDN a day I could say it is pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovebird72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

fine local frequented and design hotel. The room is comfortable but the bed is a little bit too hard to sleep in . Just 10 minutes walk distance to train station.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights, found the room to be clean and reasonably priced. the hotel is located not too far from the train station.
However the service is completly lacking, staff are uninterested and unprofessional. Once ordered room service only too have the staff forget half the order.
Breakfast offered rice soup, toast, salad and thats about it.
Rooms are noisy, as you can hear everyone who walks past.

There are other better hotels here at similar price, will not return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phitsanulok hotels
0.9 mi away
The Grand Riverside Hotel
The Grand Riverside Hotel
#6 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
Amarin Lagoon Hotel
#2 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.4 mi away
Topland Hotel & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Rueanphae Royal Park
Rueanphae Royal Park
#15 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poonsook Resident
Poonsook Resident
#4 of 46 in Phitsanulok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
Amarin Nakorn Hotel
#19 of 46 in Phitsanulok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayara Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayara Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Ayara Grand Palace Hotel
Address: 99/5 Wisuttikasat Rd | Naimuang, Muang, Phitsanulok, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phitsanulok Province > Phitsanulok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Phitsanulok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayara Grand Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ayara Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing