We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
29
29
10
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
29
29
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini golf beautiful resort cycle english nature insects bikes sponge rates tourist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 78 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at Bor Saen Villa, and were impressed with the very friendly staff who were always willing to assist even though their English was often quite limited. We ate at the onsite restaurant a few nights, and really enjoyed the Thai meals, which were quite reasonably priced, especially compared with restaurant prices in the Phuket resort we stayed at the following week.
The lap pool was excellent, and I usally had the whole pool to myself, as very few of the other guests (typically Asian) seemed interested in it.
The TV was fine (a Samsung flat-screen), and the rooms were clean though rather spartan, and could be improved with more comfortable seating.
Initially we were unable to use wifi. After contacting the staff, it took about 3 days to get it working. It appeared to be a problem with the internet service provider rather than the resort itself, and once it did start working we had no problem the rest of the week. Wifi is extra, and costs about 12 dollars a day. The landing at the back of our villa was broken so we could not use it. Overall, the resort needs to better maintain some of its facilities.
The resort is very peaceful and a good place to relax. However, we found that there was very little to do there, since it is in an isolated region far removed from other attractions or beaches. We would have found it very boring to stay there the whole week without doing tours.
Fortunately we contacted Mr Kung (a local driver) before we arrived, and he made all the difference. For 1800 Baht he picked us up at the Phuket airport and called in to BigC on the way to the resort so we could buy food and drinks etc at really cheap prices. We also hired him for a full day tour around the Phang Nga region and that was the highlight of our stay there. He speaks good English, is a very safe and considerate driver, and went out of his way to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. He took us to a number of temples and other interesting sites which we found fascinating. His charges were also cheaper than costs of other tours that we considered. I highly recommend Mr Kung, and we will certainly contact him again if we come back to Phuket. His phone number is +66 81 676 8747, his e-mail is anuwit3787@hotmail.com, and his website is www.drivers-phuket.com.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed for a week in a 2 bedroom pool villa at Bor Saen Villa & Spa, from the 4th to the 11th of August 2012. We were disappointed with the facilities that were offered for the following reasons:

1. It was during the Olympic Games the telrvision channel guide in the room showed that international channels were available, on which we could watch some of the Olympic Games. None of the channels on the list were available. We reported the situation to the manager and all he did was to remove the list from the room and said that the list was not available.
2. The resort is promoted to contain a fully equiped kitchen but in reality it contained only the bear essential, no pan, no microvawe!!!!
3. The majority of the guests that stayed at the hotel during this period were Chinese tourists that arrived by bus-loads. They were extremely noisy at night - some of them returned to their rooms in early morning hours and announced their arrival to all with shouting and boisterous and sometime plain intoxicated behavior. We raised the issue with the hotel staff and management but nothing was done about it.

We are very disappointed by the poor levels of managament control and facilities.

Room tip: The pool rooms are all the same...
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is a long overdue review, but during our vacation Bor Saen Villa and Spa i promised myself i would write a review about this brilliant resort and here i am finally doing it. My husband and I went to Borsaen villa for our honeymoon and stayed there from 29th April to the 5th of May, First off I had read up on all the reviews available online on the place and Phuket as well, and one of the helpful reviewers had mentioned a brilliant driver, who goes by the name of Mr,Kung and is reachable on this email & number:anuwit3787@hotmail.com , 081 6768747. We got in touch with him and booked an airport transfer with him before we landed in Thailand, and after reaching there we realised he was a bit cheaper than the transport provided by the counters at the airport. Mr. Kung is a very friendly and helpful person, and we were very glad and thankful to have had him around during our stay, he made it very convenient for us.

Coming to our stay, we had booked a 1bedroom villa at the resort,which comes with a kitchenette, breakfast table, living/lounge area with a flat screen tv and dvd player, then you need to walk completely out of this area to go to the bedroom which is disconnected from the kitcen/living area, but you do not feel unsafe in this resort so its ok, the bedroom is large with a wardrobe and dressing area attached,a long with a large semi-outdoor bathroom, between the living and bedroom area is a private pool, the other side of which connects to the deck overlooking the lagoon. We loved the simple decor of the entire villa, also loved the earthy feel of the bathroom which was very large and airy. Even though there is a huge water body and lots of greenery around, we hardly encountered any insects and only one or two harmless lizards.

We jumped into the pool soon after checking in, and asked the reception to activate the jacuzzi nozzles, it was extremely relaxing after our long journey, and even though the villas are quite close to each other, there is absolute privacy and you hardly even hear any sounds. We spent 7 days at the resort and spent most of our time in the villa itself, where we ordered in from time to time and mostly just swam and watched alot of movies.

Again thanks to the reviews i had read, i knew that there is a super market(Big C) on the way from the airport to the resort and informed MR.Kung to take us there, once there we stocked up on lots of food, snacks, soft drinks, alcohol and anything else that interested us. THe kitchenette is equipped with a Microwave, electric kettle, electric stove, refridgerator, which are enough to make basic food, and i had carried alot of ready to eat foods from india as i am vegetarian. Hence breakfast was always cooked in the villa as we would wake up too late to ever make the hotel breakfast and we would usually order in one meal in the day, the other would be some ready to eat sabzi with bread.

The resort has many activities, such as cycling, boating, fishing, mini golf and a fish spa. We tried all these activities and found them all to be fun and all equipment in above average condition. The fish spa especially was enjoyable and the attendants were nice enough to soak our feet for a few minutes extra each time. We also went for long moonlit walks around the resort and visited their restaurants, where we loved the food, and they would go out of their way to ensure my food had no meat or fish in anyway. Their cocktails are very potent and the staff is very friendly.

There is a bit of a problem with the staff not understanding english, but they more than make up for it with their hospitality and friendliness. The place is very isolated and far from the city, which is what made it all the more inviting for us, and everytime we needed to head out of the hotel we had to hire a car, but with Mr.Kung being very reliable and helpful we had no problem at all. We only went out twice during our 7 day stay and once it was to visit the weekend market which is an experience i enjoyed as i am a total shopaholic and once again to visit a few malls.

Overall experience at the resort of excellent, we also got to watch a few weddings that took place on the resorts beautiful lawns during our stay, and i will defeinitely recommend the cycling, there's a beautiful trail that takes you through isolated villages to a beautiful cave-waterfall, loved it!

I would love to go back to Bor Saen and will recommend it to anyone visiting Phuket.

PS: They have a very small DVD library with 3rd rate Hollywoo flicks, so i would advice you to carry your own DVD's.
PS2: There's a very helpful chemist with a pharmacy right at the resort gates.

I hope i've been able to write everything about my wonderful experience in Bor Saen.

Singing off!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank taruG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

hello! i stayed in this hotel on may19th, i spent 7 nights and i was in my honey moon, the place is very quite and for a honey moon is a great destination! we arrived at phuket airport and i contact mr. kung you can search his web side, he picked up us and took us to the hotel that is 1 hour and 30 minutos of distance, we stoped in a mall and bought some food for cooking at the hotel! one bad thing about this hotel is that the dont have room service 24 hours, they close at 11pm, so if you want to eat something after 11 hours you have to cook because there is nothing around, just a tip for you! we ate at the restaurant that is inside the hotel that is a normal price, like 350 baht per person just meal but we noticed that at the entrance of the hotel there was like a little restaurant and we thought it was like a snack selling but two days before leaving we went there and we were surprised that it was the same menu of the inside restaurant but with low prices, like 100 baht per person, so you can save some money if you go to the outside restaurant, another tip is that you can take a bike and go out of the hotel and look for some caves, they sell it as a tour that is expensive but if you take your bike and ride like for 10 minutes you will get there and pay no mora that 10 dolars per person and it is a great place! i asked the manager of the hotel and he drew a map for me. in our 3rd day we called mr. kung and he picked up us and took us to the phuket island all day, we went to alot of places and he spent the whole day with us, from 7am to 12pm and the prices was very good considering the distance of the hotel, he is very patient and helpful with tourists!
i hope this can help you in your trip, any questions please contact me!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We loved this place so much that we have stayed 6 times, so many things to do.Own swimming pool,lake,walking,fishing and close to beautiful mountain and the real Thailand.You do need to have a car to get around.My advice you be to take every thing you need with, there is a good kitchen if you want to cook.There is no shops around. I would also cook your own breakfast as their's was hit and miss.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243kathiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews