We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What the hell?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phang Nga Bay Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Phang Nga
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We were on a trip to krabi and decided to take a rest in this place for one night. It's such a strange place. It feels like a remnant of a defunct government or regime. Like the soviets built a hotel and then no one told the staff that the ussr doesn't exist anymore. The room and halls were dirty and outdated. The aircon sounded like a jet engine and yes the area is amazing but the view isn't that great. It's also miles from any restaurants or bars. We stayed for a total of 10 minutes before deciding to get the hell out. They refused to give us our money back. Keeping 500 baht for our 10 minute stay because and I quote ' its a government hotel and we have already sent your booking to them. They will think we're stealing.'

We had to stand at the front desk while they discussed us rudely in Thai. I speak a little Thai. And I understand the word for foreigner when I hear it which was rudely used over and over again.

Keep as far away from this place as you can. And then go a little further.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank steveyblam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

we stayed in this hotel in may 2011 only for a day...what i can say is that it was not very pleasant....as it is a stopover for many tour conductors on their way to james bond island, this place becomes overfilled with tourists.....and the hotel looks like a guesthouse or motel.....the view from the hotel is excellent and the outdoor river side restaurant serves decent food with stunning views...the rooms are ok with basic amenities but needs upliftment to be called as a resort

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank aather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Let me put this first : this hotel (maybe) never should have been built. It’s massive and has been erected in the heart of a precious National Park (Phang Nga NP). On the other hand, it IS there, and it should be used, albeit in order to not let it go bankrupt and turn into a disastrous ruin.
But at the same time, let's also have a look at its advantages : first, it offers magnificent views of a remarkable landscape, both from your room and from the breakfast area (a quite nice terrace). Secondly, you’re perfectly located here to start your discovery of the Phang Nga National Park, at any time of the day (but preferably early in the morning, when the hordes coming from Phuket haven’t reached this area yet …). And thirdly, it’s quite affordable. I paid 1.652 THB for a deluxe room, including taxes and breakfast (through HotelThailand.com). I went to have dinner in Phang Nga town in order to discover this small town. Breakfast at the hotel was reasonable, and above all, offered a great view !
Don’t expect an up-to-date accommodation with design features and amenities. But it’s a practical accommodation in between Phuket and Krabi, and located in a wonderful National Park. And during my stay here, everything was in good working order : from elevator (you will need it ! Ask for a room on the top floor for the best view) to shower, fridge, etc. On the downside : the AC was quite noisy and the pool wasn't worth mentioning. I found the hotel staff to be rather shy (their English is basic). As soon as I used a few words Thai, they turned out to be quite friendly and helpful.
This is a 3* property, or rather a 2*+. But all things considered, I didn’t regret my stay here !
Remark : Phang Nga is both the name for a province and a town. So many resorts advertise as being in Phang Nga (which is correct considering the name of the province) but they’re still quite remote from the actual National park. Phang Nga Bay Resort Hotel is right IN the Phang Nga National Park. The access to the hotel is located between Takua Thung and the town of Phang Nga itself. There is a National Park visitor center nearby.
One final recommendation : whatever you decide for accommodation, don’t miss Phang Nga National Park while being in South Thailand ! It’s divine ! And I’m not talking about James Bond Island, but about all the other places to discover in this area.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martin_R_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We booked a boattrip with a longtailboat at the hotel, the boat service in the lobby. During this beautiful trip we got off to see a cave, the boat-man left with the boat and our bags. After ten minutes he came back. We discovered he stole money out of our bag. Not all the money but a part of it (2000baht). Also 50 euro's of another passenger.
Eventually we got our money back from the booking-man at the hotel, but he might be in the 'game'. So take your belongings with you when you leave the boat, these men can't be trusted!!!

About the hotel... it wasn't worth the money. It used to be luxuous maybe in the 80's but it hasn't been maintained since then. A weird vibe in the hotel, we haven't seen a lot of other guests, only three people were at the breakfast. (which wasn;t great for Europeans)
The view is beautiful but there is nothing to do in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aroundthewereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres du 4eme étage sont apparemment les mieux rénovées. Demandez à voir la chambre avant de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frederic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank boontataw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les meilleures chambres sont au 4ème étage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trescalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phang Nga
7 mi away
Bor Saen Villa & Spa
Bor Saen Villa & Spa
#7 of 44 in Phang Nga
59 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thaweesuk Boutique Homestay
Thaweesuk Boutique Homestay
#2 of 15 in Phang Nga
78 reviews
4.4 mi away
Home Phang Nga Guesthouse
Home Phang Nga Guesthouse
#3 of 44 in Phang Nga
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#3 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
688 reviews
20.8 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
1,849 reviews
0 mi away
Natai House
Natai House
#4 of 15 in Phang Nga
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phang Nga Bay Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phang Nga Bay Resort Hotel

Address: 20 Thadan Panyee, Phang Nga 82000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Phang Nga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Phang Nga
Price Range: $24 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phang Nga Bay Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Also Known As:
Phang Nga Bay Hotel Phang Nga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing