We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even During New Years A Quiet Place”
Review of Rim Pai Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rim Pai Cottage
Ranked #6 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We arrived in Chiang Mai, Thailand a few days before New Years, December 2011. We heard about Pai from many people so we thought we'd spend a quiet weekend in the country. Turns out, Pai is a HUGE Thai vacation destination. Totally overrun with new years visitors. And loud, too.

But, we hopped off the bus, walked down the crowded main street that leads toward the river and entered Rim Pai Cottages. Immediate quiet and calm, even though the crowds were just a few feet away on the walking street.

I made our reservation with Moo who was one of the most wonderful people to deal with and that attitude extended across the entire staff. Beautiful bungalows, all on stilts, along the Pai river. There is a riverside set of cheap bungalows directly across the river that may get noisy, at least on New Years Eve they did, but it's New Years Eve.

The cottages were rustic and we had a "riverline" cottage, feet from the river, with a comfortable bed, mosquito netting, a balcony over the river and, blissfully, no TV. Breakfast was pretty good and served outdoors.

Overall, we loved this place and would return happily during quieter times. A little pricey for the area but not pricey for the level of accommodation.

If you have $50 or $60 for a night, do it. Seriously. And location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rkiel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Lonely Planet has the Rim-Pai cottage in the Top End category, but I suspect that classification may be based on price only as the rooms are distinctly "Mid Range" at the very best (we stayed in guesthouses with similar facilities). It's also their "pick" for Pai but I'm not sure I'd agree with that, although I didn't go see any other hotels.

The setting is really lovely and the individual bungalows are very pretty. You have grassy lawns with a swing and nice views of the river, and even a resident hedgehog. In the rooms however, there are absolutely no facilities, other than a bathroom with yellow paint in the shower that peels as you wash. Breakfast was also quite average. You're right in the middle of town, but then "town" isn't that big a place. So overall it's a nice place to hang out, but the rooms are disappointing given the attention spent on the outside, and it's probably a bit too expensive because of that.

Pai is really nice town to stroll around though, full of hippy backpackers, visiting Thais seeking colder climes and atmospheric cafes. The night market has a really nice ambiance and plenty of interesting food offerings.

Room Tip: We had a Garden Superior, which is a bungalow in the garden, but this looked like all the other bung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesuit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just to make this review in context, I should clarify my trip's intention. I was not looking at relaxing at the hotel all day, it was more a base where I should start my daily sightseeing and shopping trips. So if you are looking at a resort where you have everything and don't have to even venture out, this is not the resort for you.

Pai itself is a small community on the mountain top, very backpacker and rustic, though with increasing popularity, more luxury resorts are coming up.

The resort is well located, next to Pai river and along the main street of Pai where there are plenty of local shops, eateries and small bars. Outside the resort just to the left, there are local massages, THB 200 for an hour's worth of foot massage. Bliss.

On weekends, the street just outside turns into a walking street market selling souvenirs, T-shirts and little knick-knacks and food. So beware if you rented a car, the streets will be closed at about 5 pm so you would have to find an alternate way back to the resort.

THe river itself is rather pretty in the morning, all misty and dreamy.

Room itself is basic, we were 4 persons to a room. THere's no TV at all so be warned. Breakfast is at this nice wooden house and you can choose between American style or Thai style.

THe service is really basic. The receptionist who checked us in was also the server at breakfast. By 8 pm there is no staff on standby so forget room service or midnight housekeeping.

All in all I had a good stay as the resort was clean, self-sufficient and very conveniently located. If there are any complains, it would be that the frogs are superbly vocal at night so sleeping can be quite a challenge. Other than that it was a pleasant enough stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one closer to the river so you get a view at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrinCessPraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Sometimes I can congratulate myself on sniffing out the best bargain online, judging photos and prices and taking a chance on a "feeling" about a place. But this time I just plain lucked out -- a friend made the booking. To be honest, I was afraid the "cottage" in the title might mean a row of claustrophobic motel cabins. But in fact, the photos on line do not do it justice. A short walk down the bustling main street of Pai from the bus terminal, you enter the gate and.... silence. Amazing! You are surrounded by lush gardens, banana trees, bougainvillea, with little walkways to lana-style cottages that look like giant tree houses, reception and restaurant. All the buildings are teak or look like it, and our room was large and clean, with beautiful bedding and a palm-shaded deck. We borrowed books from the library at reception and sat out by the river -- the view is marred by some construction across the way, but that would be the only drawback. The full breakfast was served at umbrella covered tables on the restaurant deck -- no buffet here; you ask for whatever you'd like (eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, fried potatoes, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, toast, marmelade, coffee, tea...) and it is brought to you by a beaming waiter. Everyone we spoke to, from front desk to yard staff, was friendly and smiling and had good English. This is the best value for money hotel I've seen in a long while; we felt privileged to be there and it was pure pleasure to come into the tranquility of our cottage after a day or evening out in lively Pai.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAChanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

A short walk from the bus terminal you come across this attractive resort which is set right on the river. There are many cottages well-spaced out amongst the verdant gardens and many places to sit and relax. We chose a cottage set right on the river and you could lie in bed and watch the river toll by-beautiful. There was also a decking to sit on (we did notice that many of the decks had rotted wood and were slippery with moss). The room had an attractive bed with mosquito net, floor to celing windows, fridge, ipod docking station, no TV,no storage space, no safe. The bathroom was in rustic style with many insects (but you get that in the country). We came off-season so were able to negotiate on price.

Although the resort is indeed in a lovely setting, it is not cheap so I would expect a few more features for the price eg: we had the worst breakfast we'd ever had in a hotel in Thailand (white toast and tea/coffee only), we asked about safety deposit at reception and were met with blank stares (they don't have any facility for this),tea and coffee were only available at recption for a few hours in the afternoon, no pool, restaurant closed (off-season I guess).
Overall the staff were very friendly (but had limited english), the owner was also friendly (albeit a bit pushy). I guess you are paying for the location and setting in this touristy town, but if you don't expect much else you won't be disappointed. Despite my criticism it is still a lovely place and I may stay again.

Room Tip: A cottage on the river is the best spot but also the most expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a beautiful place to stay right on the Pai river. Serenity awaits amidst beautifully manicured gardens, along with a hammock, deckchairs and wooden swings. The staff were fantastic and always very kind. Even the cleaners did an exceptional job. I picked a flower one day and put it in a glass bottle on the little table on my balcony. The next day when I got back from exploring the village I found that the cleaners have added some more flowers from the garden to my room. Such a nice value added gesture. I came for 3 nights, stayed for 10. Go figure! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vertacarnalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementRepr, Manager at Rim Pai Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Sir,

We would like to extend a sincere thank to you for your nice review, and We were glad to learn that you enjoyed your vacations at our charming resort.We really happy that our property met your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we are look forward to welcoming you back to Rim Pai Cottage soon.

Sincerely yours,
The Management
Rim Pai Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

The Rim Pai is a perfect spot in Pai. Beautiful cottages, we had deluxe river view, in a stunning garden. The cottage had a large teras along the riverside with privacy because of the surrounding trees. The furniture on the terras could have used a few cushions for comfort but still a great place to relax. The room had a small sofa, stereo to hook up your iPad/ iPhone. Basic but clean and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alesko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementRepr, Manager at Rim Pai Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your recent stay with us.

While we are pleased to hear that you were enjoying your stay with us but in the same time we are sorry to learn that your holidays was spoilt with the breakfast .We will be addressing these issues in our serious attention and will try to solve this matter at once.

Once again,please kindly accept our apologies for the inconvenience which has been caused,however,all of us at Rim Pai Cottage,Pai,look forward to welcoming you back once again and kindly be assured that any services you may need we try to provide for the utmost of your satisfaction.

Sincerely yours,
The Management of Rim Pai Cottage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
0.1 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
2.3 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
280 reviews
0.8 mi away
Reverie Siam Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quarter Hotel
Quarter Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pai
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
LiLu Hotel
LiLu Hotel
#6 of 31 in Pai
114 reviews
2.6 mi away
Phu Pai Art Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rim Pai Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rim Pai Cottage

Address: 99/1 Moo 3 | Viangtai, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Price Range: $56 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rim Pai Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rim Pai Cottage located at the edge of the picturesque Pai river, discover the nineteen of our traditional and contemporary style villa. Some designed in the line with those of the Thai Lanna period with the northern touch. Our villas situated in the midst of lush gardens and alongside the vibrant Pai river. The hotel entrance is on the famous town walking street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Rim Pai Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rim-Pai Cottage Hotel Pai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing