We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice moments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pai Circus School Resort
Ranked #15 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice moments”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pai is really a nice place to relax, have fun and meet people at the same time. I was with a friend of mine from Singapour and I live in Paris and we just have enough of big crowdy cities. When we arrive in the tropical backpacker resort, we were happy to find this atmosphere. If you are looking for jacuzzies and marble bathrooms, I won't advice you to go in this resort! I have appreciated so much the cute huts of the resort. The price is just nothing and all is new. As far as I know, the resort keeps on being optimized, a pool must be there now. Finally, the owners are James and Sasa, a Brit guy and a Thai girl, are both adorable and taking care of customers. In addition, there is a circus school... Well I have really good memories of this place..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annawintour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    82
    36
    45
    56
See reviews for
Families
0
60
146
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. The setting was lovely, out of town, across a bamboo bridge and on top of a hill from which we had a nice view. Good chill out area with hammocks and wifi. The bungalows were fairly good value as the price included breakfast, however when I stayed there all seventeen bungalows appeared to be sharing two bathrooms which led to queues. At the time they were constructing additional toilets so hopefully soon this will be improved!

The bungalows themselves were fine, except our bed was a bit uncomfortable as the mattress was too thin. The staff were generally friendly, they offer a variety of tours and have a circus school- there were often people slacklining or juggling around the place. The pool was unfortunately out of use while we were there, but there were two very sweet dogs to play with! Once the small issues are ironed out, I'm sure this place will be very popular with travellers to Pai.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulhan, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is such a great place. James and Sasa have built such a friendly resort with amazing views just on the edge of Pai. I stayed for longer than planned and will definitely go back. This was my second time there and the new bungalows and new toilets are a big improvement. I loved learning circus skills for the first time ever. Cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hat Yai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

At first, I wanted to stay only a few days in Pai, and I ended up staying almost two weeks, mostly because of this resort. The view is probably one of the best you can get from a hotel in Pai, and it's really quiet (perfect to chill all day long). The common area is a nice place to meet people and to have a drink. Toilets were a bit unpleasant, but better ones were being built when I left. As for the bungalow, it's basic but totally decent for a low price resort. I had a really nice time in this place, I definately advise it.

There's a free pick up from the bus station, just ask the desk to call the guesthouse and they will come. From the resort, you only have to walk 10 minutes in a small path to Pai.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Tropical Backpacker Resort at noon and after waiting for a receptionist for about 15-20 minutes she finally came. We had already made a reservation, but after 5 minutes of explaining going nowhere, we gave up and ended up getting a double-'bed' room instead of the original twin-bed.
A bad first impression, and we were quite surprised that anyone would hire a receptionist with an English vocabulary consisting of 4 words; 'yes', 'no', 'toilet' and 'key'. Poor girl, as she must have felt helpless in the situation as well.

Anyway, she showed us to our bungalow which appeared to be really nice from the outside, besides for some minor cracks in the door. We were truly surpised though when we opened the door to find that all it consisted of was a dirty madras on the floor that was filled with ants, even inside the bedding. We dropped off our bags and went back outside for what we were hoping to be a quick dip in the swimming pool. Unfortunately the pool had a sign saying it was closed which made sense since it was filled with dirt and simply had to be cleaned.

Eventually we got hungry and asked the receptionist for some food or a restaurant, but once more she just answered with a 'no' as if she didn't quite understand. They also claimed to have a free taxi service into town, though the receptionist said 'no' even when we were pointing at their board stating that they did. As we returned to our room the madras was filled with ants all over again, and we decided to just find a cheap room down town where we slept for the night. What a waste of money and time!

We never saw the owners, although we really tried to find them. We have stayed at some bad and dirty hostels throughout our trip, but this 'tropical resort' is by far the worst place we went. To their defence we might have been extremely unlucky getting the worst room and picking a day where the usual receptionist was off. It's a shame really, cause the property does have potential!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomi92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pai hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

All reviews make me want to stay here but once i arrived i cant make it to another day. If you dont care that your room will be very small or dirty with insects and rain drop leaking in to your bed then stay. People i met seem to not care much if the water never run or once it does its very dirty almost black. Guess the hippies never really shower anyway. The place is very far from town and at night i have to walk in the dark alley with street dogs try to chase me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oniontomybelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and would have stayed a lot longer had we not had to move on! The scenery is amazing, lovely setting only a 5 min walk to the main street in Pai. The owners are very welcoming and will give good advice on where to go and when to do it! Thanks for the lovely stay, Georgie and Charlie.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
2.1 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 31 in Pai
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
1.0 mi away
Baan Kati Sod
Baan Kati Sod
#9 of 179 in Pai
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bannamhoo Bungalows
Bannamhoo Bungalows
#4 of 179 in Pai
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Family House Zen Boutique Resort
0.7 mi away
Purple Monkey Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pai Circus School Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pai Circus School Resort

Property: Pai Circus School Resort
Address: 323 Moo.1 | T.Maehee,Mae Yen, Pai, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Backpacker Resort Pai)
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical backpackers Resort is the only Resort in Pai specifically designed for travellers to have the most amazing time while enjoying one of the best view in Pai.The resort has a very comfortable reception area with leather couch and floor seating all with an amazing view.The garden is kept to the highest standards in pai :)There is also a relaxing area with hammocks the opposite side of the resort to the reception.In the middle of our garden you can relax in the swimming pool while engoying one our amazing fruit or yogurt shakes.Free breakfast is included in the price.Our restaurant offers traditional Thai food as well as western food and snacks.There is free high speed internet.We have bungalows with private bathroom, with shared bathroom and tents.Most of the bungalows have an amazing view out the windows.There is a circus school onsite so while relaxing you can see circus skills being learnt and fire juggling shows at night.If you’re looking for a place to make loads of friends and enjoy Pai with them then this is defiantly the best place in pai for it!Tropical resort is also a hugely popular for couples to stay and relax.We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you into our family run backpacker resort.We offer a free pick up service all day everyday, just let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Pai Circus School Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing