We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do nothing in Pai”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pai Country Hut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pai Country Hut
Ranked #2 of 166 Pai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Do nothing in Pai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good quiet location. Not on the main street just across the river but 2 min walk to the main street. Huts made completely in bamboo around a nice garden setting. The hammock outside is nice to spend your days doing nothing. Atmosphere is very relaxing.
Huts are very basic, but clean and with hot water. 500bh in peak season is value for money. Although there are many similar places around, I was happy with the one I had chosen.
Only one drawback was that since it's made in bamboo, it doesn't keep out the noise, especially if the neighbors are noisy, as they were.
Some ants but then we are in the midst of nature.
Both the boy and girl at the reception were pleasant.
One advice not related, anyone going to Pai in peak season book minivan in advance. I had a tough time getting back to Chiang mai and almost missed my train.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geetanjaligarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    48
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
6
87
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Attractive and clean bungalows - they seemed like new
No holes (for unwanted creatures to explore!)
Concrete bathroom, clean and hot shower
Lovely setting - open space to relax
Every bungalow has a balcony with hammock
Friendly staff
Free hot drinks
Great location, across the river, near fields, away from bars so pretty quiet.

Cons:
Walls are thin, so you can sometimes hear other people in their bungalows.
The water from the shower didn't seem to drain.
Mosquitos had a feast! But only outside the bungalow.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cluelessduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The bungalow is small but comfortable enough, good bedding and clean room, staffs are friendly and willing to help at any request, wall is quite thin so you can hear people talking when they pass by the small road behind, internet signal is good and strong, some ants in the room but doesn't really bother us since we stay in the nature it comes with no surprise, the fan is good and strong but it mounted on the wall so you can't move it elsewhere, hot water in bungalow 3 is a bit unstable and water pressure is quite weak, free coffee and tea all day long.

Room Tip: try bungalow 7-9 as it is further away from the road, should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Quiet and private huts located only a 3 minute walk from the centre of town across the bamboo bridge. We had friends stay inside huts in town and complained about noise from bars and restaurants late at night, but we couldn't hear anything but birds and silence. Huts were clean, comfortable with mozzie nets to keep the nasties out while you sleep and the shower was HOT unlike most huts in Pai. Each hut has it's own balcony with hammock for relaxing, a true paradise. Highly recommend checking this place out, you won't be disappointed - We will be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The simple huts here are good value for money and the staff are helpful and sweet, particularly the guy in charge who also speaks great English. We actually moved to their bigger, fancier bungalows slightly further down the track called 'Phu View'. These are much sturdier and really great value if you stay for a while and have great balconies. Would highly recommend staying here :)

Room Tip: Check out the Phu View bungalows too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tredael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Gorgeous space of land right on the river, beautifully maintained with flowers everywhere. Individual, good quality hammocks, good shower pressure and toilet, and small, but apt bungalow. Wifi works great, including the the bungalows, and the free coffee is a nice touch. For only 150 baht a night it can't be beat. The location is perfect too, just a minute's walk over the bridge to everything in town!

Room Tip: bungalows 101-104 are in the shade, which is a huge plus during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank agendaless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Bungalows were nicer than another resort I stayed at. They had own private bathroom, and a silk like sheet that covered the inside of the bungalow roof. This sheet prevented pieces of roof from falling on the bed and around the room. There was a storm the first night I stayed there, and the owners came the next day to see if the bungalow was ok and if anything needed to be fixed. The wifi was out from the storm, but they had it fixed in 1 day. The bathrooms are adorable! They are kind of outside, but not really. There are four walls and a roof, but the triangle peak of the roof over the bathroom is open. It gave a great feel!

This resort was a perfect distance from the center of the village. It was not even a minute walk from the bamboo bridge and allow peace and quiet.

I believe this place is a hidden gem in Pai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
2.3 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 30 in Pai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
0.1 mi away
Breeze of Pai
Breeze of Pai
#16 of 166 in Pai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baan Pai Riverside
Baan Pai Riverside
#6 of 166 in Pai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
0.3 mi away
Pairadise
Pairadise
#4 of 166 in Pai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pai Country Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pai Country Hut

Property: Pai Country Hut
Address: 240 Moo 1 Mae Hee, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Pai
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pai Country Hut 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pai Country Hut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing