We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but I expected more of it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sylvana Pai Hotel
Ranked #29 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice, but I expected more of it.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have choosen this place because of it's very high ranking with Trip Advisor. We stayed 3 nights. At arrival, we could not get a double room we asked for. If we wanted to have a double, we needed to upgrade for a "bungalow" and Pay 1900 THB/night, up 400 THB from a room. We kept the room which was big enough, but where I missed a fridge. The bathroom had a separate shower. The staff was fantastic, spoke English and was very helpfull. But the breakfast was too basic. Beside of toast, jam, hard boiled eggs and small sosages, one day we got boiled rice, the next day fried rice, and than boiled rice again. As a general remark: Pai is overpriced compared to other places in Thailand (maybe apart of some islands).

Room Tip: The rooms at the south side have less sunshine (not so hot).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The only thing we've known about Sylvana before staying there ,was one great review that we've found on the internet and very short directions regarding how to get there.
Despite this very little info we had a good feeling about this place:) , and it turned out that the reality was even better than our expectations.

Located in a very central area in Pai, Sylvana offers wonderful accommodation for a very reasonable price.
We've found in Sylvana spotless room , great service, very kind owner who helped us very much with little tips regarding places o eat, spa and so on.......
Our plan was to stay there for one night only, however the moment we saw our room and a lovely garden with cozy sitting places we immediately extended our stay.

Despite the fact that it's not hard to find a guesthouse in Pai with a cheaper rate we would definitely recommend to stay in Sylvana.
Just come to see the place and we sure you won't be able to leave:).

P.S
We've rented two bikes from the place ,had no problems with them and it was quite convenient since we didn't have to leave our passports like in other bike's rent agencies.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. It has only been going for about 8 months - brand new buildings (last time we were in Pai it was a different guest house with bamboo huts so it's been built from scratch) - good price (600 baht for the semi-detatched rooms and 700 for the detatched ones - very good if travelling with someone) - very clean - great spacious bathroom with a rain shower and normal shower - lots of towels - air con - tv - fridge in the 700 baht rooms - daily housekeeping if required - free water bottles daily - lovely garden setting with an excellent covered sitting area in the middle, with a pond around the outside and plenty of cushions to chill out on - balcony outside rooms - good free breakfast which gets replenished (eggs, toast, jams, sausages, ham slices, fruit, orange juice, water, tea and coffee) - plenty of parking space - very friendly owners - free tubes to borrow for the river. Had a great stay here and would recommend it - great quality at a backpackers price.

Room Tip: 600 baht rooms are perfect - no fridge but that's no problem and it doesn't matter that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jphillimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Perfectly spotless rooms with everything you need included. We chose the attached room which included aircon, tv, and balcony. The rooms were spacious with a homely feel, they had little extras like a dressing table, rain shower, wifi, plenty of plug sockets, hangers, and free bottled water.
The breakfast was simple but good, eggs, jams, juice, tea coffee, and fruit. Plenty of choice to fill yourself up.
The rooms are set around a huge decking area covered in cushions, it's a really nice spot to read or relax. Staff are real friendly and welcoming, it's really easy to find Sylvana, located 2 minutes from the river and 2 minutes from the town with plenty of restaurants and bars. I recommend Sylvana to anyone coming to Pai.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms here will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It feels like a real treat staying here as they are a bargain at 600thb a night. We stayed in one of the smaller huts with two beds, loads of space for two female travellers and all our stuff.
You get your own balcony and also lots of seats and thai cushions on the grassy middle where you can sit and chill. They offer free tubes for river tubing also.
Flatscreen tv, super fast wifi, a/c, great friendly hosts, breakfast included all in a perfect location just next to edible jazz bar.
My only little gripe was the shower they had rain style showers but ours didnt work so had a crappy white one with hardly any water pressure which was s tiny annoyance as id been looking forward to a power shower

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallulahPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Amazing rooms. Clean with all amenities. Flat screen tv although only 1 English news channel so not good. Fridge in the more expensive room. Was worth it for us to have cold drinks any time of the day. Not really worth getting up for the free breakfast, very basic, think there's eggs available but every time I went there was non left :(
And close your door quick at night when you come in as mosquitos will be waiting to get in!
Your right in the centre of Pai couldn't have been more central.
Staff really nice. Rooms are completely detached to the next so feels like your own little house. So worth the treat!
Local swimming pool "Fluid" a 10 minute stroll up the road ~ a must if the suns out! Lunch is delicious there too!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misskingable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

beautiful new, clean modern rooms, airconditioned, flat screen tv, hot showers, friendly staff, would highly recommend .....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niloufar l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
0.2 mi away
LiLu Hotel
LiLu Hotel
#6 of 31 in Pai
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
0.0 mi away
Family House @ Pai
Family House @ Pai
#5 of 179 in Pai
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pairadise
Pairadise
#4 of 167 in Pai
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rim Pai Cottage
Rim Pai Cottage
#8 of 179 in Pai
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family House Zen Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sylvana Pai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sylvana Pai Hotel

Property: The Sylvana Pai Hotel
Address: 96 Moo3 Chaisongkram Rd. T. Vieng Tai, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sylvana Pai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sylvana Pai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing