We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pai Talay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pai Talay
Ranked #64 of 165 Pai B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I think Pink L should have spent more time at the waterfalls and meditating or something, rather than focusing in on latches and such miniscule self imposed miseries.....Such a nice peaceful place to lay low for a while. We will miss our little bungalow at Pai Talay. Laid back atmosphere, awesome hosts. We used the kitchen every morning with the family and made our coffee and our fresh fruit and yoghurt with Muesli and local honey from the markets..... watched the sunset from our bed, enjoyed our funky bathroom. Enjoyed the quiet at night and the sound of the birds in the morning. Little Lily warmed up to us and would come and sit with us some mornings before school. Renu is as sweet as can be, Jaae is quiet and its a pleasure to see him enjoying his children. Nothing bad to say about Pay Talay. Beautiful place to enjoy some nice quiet time. Don't expect to be waited on hand and foot here. This is a place to just do your own thing and chilllllllll...... The little brook in the back with all the birds and frogs serenade us to sleep with the mountains as the backdrop with the rice paddies in between..... I have stayed in seven million dollar mansions in Curacao, five star hotels around the world..... and love this place just as much.....

Room Tip: The two (brown and white?) bungalows are sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickyrifraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renunakorn, Owner at Pai Talay, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much! We really enjoyed your company here and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Unfortunately we were in a hurry and booked this place without doing enough research. The photos on the internet web site looked good and the description was great - just what we were looking for. The reality was much different.

An earlier traveller had placed a review on the Agoda web site, but unfortunately we only read this after we had booked and arrived. The Agoda review advises that what you see on the Pai Talay web site does not represent the reality. The place is terrible!

The "bungalow" is best described as a very scruffy hut. The hut has bifold doors which can be locked from outside with a padlock - but from inside cannot be properly closed and cannot be locked.

The glass doors have curtains which cover about 60% of the glass. The window has shutters from which the handles have been broken and are replaced with a bolt. This window when opened looks out onto the dump next door - 2 metres away.

The instructions inside the hut advise that paper must not be put down the toilet, but must be put in the bin provided - but there is no bin provided at all.

The bed is a mattress on the floor, with no mosquito net and the ill fitting doors/windows have no mosquito screens on them.

The bed cover had a blood stain on it.

The "garden" is a concrete square surrounded by assorted junk and a case of empty beer bottles. The "stunning view" is in fact a dirty stream, a tumble down hedge and a field.

Photo evidence of all of the above has been uploaded.

All of the above would be bad enough if this was a backpacker room in town - but it is not. The location is 3km from town and there is no public ttransport. A local "taxi" will charge you whatever they can get away with - and you have no options. The rate charged for the hut is way above the cost of a backpacker room in the centre of town, where decent clean rooms can be found for less than half of the cost.

Because the windows/doors are ill fitting, and the walls are paper thin, you can hear every sound from outside. This includes all coughing and spitting from next door, all cars and motor bikes on the road, and all animals and livestock nearby - which makes sleep nearly impossible.

There are lesser annyances like the cobwebs draped from the ceiling and the shower that ran hot - for 1 minute and then ice cold, and the drinking water that had a broken seal, so was presumably tap water.

So - beware. Do NOT stop at this place - stay anywhere else!! We have just completed a month holiday in Thailand and all other accommodation was good or great. This place is a disgrace to the country.

Room Tip: Just don't come here - there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pink L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renunakorn, Owner at Pai Talay, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review our guesthouse.
we are very sorry that we – on agoda rated as a 1 ½ star accommodation- couldn’t meet your standards.

I, as the owner of the guesthouse, apologize for the stain on the bedcover.
we will consider some of your other suggestions and take it as a hint to make some improvements.

we appreciate when guests talk to us first if there’s a problem and we are dedicated to solve it.

we feel sad to be accused to be cheaters but looking at the other reviews obviously our place can’t be that bad;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Pai Talay B&B is 3 kilometres away from Pai-Center. It is owned by a very nice familiy (Thai-Swiss). The kids are adorable and the couple is very friendly and helpfull.The bungalows are all unique and full of little details, set in a very green environment. It is very quiet there and has a cosy atmosphere. Even tough there is plenty to do and see in Pai, we also enjoyed staying at the bungalow. We planned to stay for only two days but ended up staiyng there for a week. Pai and the Pai Talay B&B has been one of the most friendly and beautiful places we have been on our round the world trip so far.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Verasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renunakorn, Owner at Pai Talay, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
thank you for that amazing review! we were happy to have you here! have a good trip and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Jaae and Renu (and Lily and Jacob) took me in as family! This is about the most laid-back and peaceful place near Pai you could stay and is a great value. The location of Mae Hi village is only 5 minutes by bike from Pai yet feels like the countryside. The bungalows have lots of light and air and the open-air bathrooms are wonderful. The family were very happy to share their kitchen with me as well as lots of time drinking coffee by the creek. To be more objective....I could imagine Pai Talay not fitting for people who do not like children or who feel like they need staff on-hand at all times....neither of these were issues for me. I would be very glad to stay with the family again in this tranquil slice on the edge of Pai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levifredrikson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Phangan, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Was in Pai for a short short time and stayed at Pai Talay for 2 nights. You will need a bike since it's 3-4 minutes from Pai center. Follow the map given on their website or simply call the owners if you are lost. This is a family type of guesthouse. We had the white bungalow with a view of the main house and the lovely garden. What a calm atmosphere and the owners are relaxed and really nice. The rooms were really clean. Clean sheets, clean toilet, clean all. Coffee in the morning right by the river is a must. If it's the time of the year, there is the big tree with red little berries. So yummy and there is millions of them! Thanks. Wish you had stayed longer.

Room Tip: only 3 bungalow to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Guesthouse Pai-Talay with its 3 bungalows is like paradise for me. I rented the a bungalow for one month on advice of Boom Varisha, owner, journalist of the Pai Explorer. It became the white bungalow, where I enjoyed, sitting on my terrace, the nature and overlooked the Pai-valley. All so quiet and peacefull. The mainhouse and the 3 bungalows are beautifuly built, as a part of the nature around. I immediately felt home in my bungalow. I rented a motorbike at Aya and already the way from Pai to Mae Hee, about 5 min., is a joy to ride, so beautiful.
The owners, as said before, a creative couple with their lovable daughter Lily, are very helpfull. They informed me about where to go and what to do. They also took me to places, I otherwise never had been. It felt as I became friends wit them.
So I would recommend Pai-visitors to stay at this beautiful guesthouse in the nature and enjoy this peaceful, beautiful place!! Thnx Renu and T-ee and a big hug for Lily XXX

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccm k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Loved the stay in this slightly remote but very comfortable, surprisingly hip and friendly place. We stayed in Pai during the busiest period around new year, and being a tat out of town doesn't do any harm. Definitely value and relaxing holidays for your money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaikouraPoppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pai hotels
3.9 mi away
Pai Village Boutique Resort & Farm
0.2 mi away
Pai Hotspring Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Kuad Khon Thoe Pai Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Countryside Resort
0.9 mi away
Pai Treehouse
Pai Treehouse
#30 of 165 in Pai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pura Vida Resort
Pura Vida Resort
#2 of 30 in Pai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pai Talay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pai Talay

Property: Pai Talay
Address: 170 Moo 5 | Maehee, Pai 58130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Mae Hong Son Province > Pai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Pai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PAI TALAY is a cute little guesthouse & coffee bar in the north of Thailand. We're situated 3km outside of Pai town, in a quiet farmer village over looking rice fields. Our 3 bungalows are all different in architecture and style and we love the detail to make you feel home. We have a common kitchen which can be very useful for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pai Talay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing