We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
StayForLong
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
36
24
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
36
24
10
3
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 76 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let's get the weirdness out of the way first: an African Safari theme? Why? It looks so weird, like an amusement park. And what a shame since they spent a lot of money making it nice, but it just looks out of place. Awkward.
Other than that, we came here after receiving food posioning at Phuong Pai Art Resort. We felt our bodies were banged up from illness and we needed a little luxury. So we checked in and stayed in bed from 2 pm till 2pm the following day. 24 hours of our cushy safari lounge later and we felt like going back out in the world again.
The staff tended to our every need. The delivered lunch, dinner and breakfast the following day. They even brought us more medicine!
We were treated to numerous movies from the hotels extensive movie library. A real treat!
Food was fresh and well prepared. Staff was knowledgable, well trained and spoke perfect English.
This was a splurge for us and was worth every penny!
But African Safari?? That person should be fired. :)

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

if you are planning trip to a small town in Pai, if you are a nature lovers, you may drive to visit or spend some night at Montis resort, the resort is located not too far from Pai town and night market, the resort is provide FOC transfer btw hotel to night market or you can use FOC bicycle from hotel to visit nearby village or to the busy night market in Pai, i went to Pai many times and stayed in 2-3 different hotels , i can say that Montis resort is very nice hotel, all rooms decorated in modern style and friendly services, managed by Thai family, food is decicous and in resonable price, from the hotel, you can drive to visit Yunan village and Wat Nam Hoo or local village passing green rice field, you may spend a few nights before going ahead to Mae Hong son,

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PAIDOOSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Was in Pai to learn Tai Chi for a week and stayed at the Montis Resort Pai.

The hotel is stunning spread out over a lage area with villas and room blocks and a reception etc. The downside is that it was virtually empty maybe 2-3 rooms occupied each day excet the weekend weher for a day there was a group.

They seem to have taken an African resort design and implemented it in Pai so a bit alien. Rock paintings were so african and even the lobby had a zebra print wallpaper and a buffallo head, couldn't they have localized it a bit.

Rooms are good, large and very well appointed. The shower though has no water pressure.

The restaurant is nice and the food is good. Just don't order room service, it takes ages to arrive and the food is cold (considering the temp in the mid 30's centigrade). Laundry is to be avoided as they stained some of my clothes and the cable tv reception leaves a lot to be desired.

Loved the pool area and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are under development but the pathways that have been done are really nice love the flora.

Room tip: Choose one closer to the main reception and dining areas
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinMitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Montis resort will give you a safari-African style lodge experiences. We stayed there for 3 days on our Pai trip, the resort is great, got all the services and amenities that you need. The location is not that far from the walking street, however, walking is not recommended. You would better off with the motorcycle (200 baht/day). Overall we really enjoyed the stay at Montis, the only problem we had was the hot water system that was not very hot. The hotel staff is very kind, they offer us to change to the new room in the middle of the night and also offer us a free dinner set on the next day. We definitely would consider Montis as our destination should we decided to come back to Pai.

Pros:
- Resort have all the facilities inc. cafe, heated pool, golf simulator, karaoke, rock climbing
- Rooms are very very spacious!
- Very attentive staff
- Nice food (especially Northern Thai style food)

Cons:
- Not that close to walking street (motorcycle recommended)
- A little bit pricey

Room tip: Try the safari style dome house!
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sakon_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a very special place. I went with my friends this July and as it was the rainy season we got a special offer. We could not believe our eyes when they showed us our room. It was huge and so beautiful. The resort itself is stunning and a designer's dream. The Architect has done a wonderful job in creating something unique, tranquil and practical. We noticed that there is disabled access all over the resort (something you don't see in Thailand) so respect to the Architect. Although the gym was out of use (we didn't go for this!), the facilities in general were excellent. The pool was heavenly and the staff, wow, they exceeded our expectations on all levels. The girls on reception were so sweet, kind and welcoming - thank you. The breakfast was lovely. There wasn't a buffet as it was a quiet month so we ordered off the menu. The staff were incredibly attentive and couldn't do enough for us without making us feel crowded. They are extending the resort (phase 3 I think) but the renovations/building work did not have the slightest impact upon my stag. All in all, I would highly recommend this resort and I hope to go back one day myself. Thanks Montis and keep up the great work (respect to the designer/architect too - they have done a superb job).

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews